Five Guys Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute bs
Crew member/line cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 May 2018
The whole company is under managment of drug users or growers. There is absoluetly zero organization and management. Its run by two assistant general managers who have a combined IQ of perhaps 12.3. 100% do not recommend, manager KXXX is a huge snitch and a non pleseant person.
Pros
free burgers ( if they arent burnt )
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Restaurant grill cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2018
Friendly, supportive environment, where you will create long lasting friends and contacts. Time flies by while working because work environment is fast and enjoyable. Management is understanding and flexible for the most part.
Pros
Fun work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
uplifting environment
Restocking service room and housekeeping cart (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON14 March 2018
A typical day at Five Guys is talking to customers , up-selling product, preparing food and running the line. I have learned to be more energetic, to lead and be part of a team and to be fast and efficient. The workplace culture was uplifting and full of energy. The most enjoyable part of working there was talking to customers everyday.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
music to loud to hear customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good vibes
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  St. Catharine, QC11 March 2018
The staff is a lot of fun. Training is well organised and understandable. The management sucked at scheduling and were rude. Overall, it is a fast-paced but fun place to work.
Pros
free meal
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC24 February 2018
No room for growth. Small salary.
Bad managment, disorganized.
No tip option at register - just cash.
No online schedule - have to come into work and check physically.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, poor management
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  London, ON16 February 2018
the market has transitioned through countless up management positions over the years and it is not improving at all. Moving up beyond a shift leader is incredibly difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the energy
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 February 2018
Always loved waking up to come here. this place had me in a good space with myself and friends. I felt alive working here even after long hours, I still felt good to be there.
Pros
everything
Cons
gets stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible staff, enough said
On - CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON23 January 2018
If you want to be the only one showing up to work sober for your shift then five guys is for you! Deal with your fellow employees mood swings, possible addictions? & fatigue or intense high states.For me Five Guys (East Gwillimbury Location) seemed alittle too unprofessional and lethargic for my liking plus the public washrooms and employee washroom would always be stunk up my staff smoking. Not the best environment for myself especially working there under age (16)
Pros
free food
Cons
the use of recreational drugs in the workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company to work for
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC22 January 2018
This company says things but never follow through they say they will take care of there staff but they dont. they treat people like slaves and treat them like they our not important and don't belong. The requirements they ask for are why over board and add an amount of stress that makes working there a none enjoyable experience.
Pros
No pros
Cons
Lots of Cons but to many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with coworkers but very bad management
Crew member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 January 2018
I really liked working at five guys until managements switched hands, From then on it was just bad. This manager did not have any experience with businesses or had any kind of lead role like the one given to her at five guys before. So she was really bias and was hard to communicate with
Pros
free lunch
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front End cashier
Front-End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON31 December 2017
Process customer payments and responsible handling cash and store closing.
Provide initial training to new team members.
Took necessary steps to meet customer needs and effectively resolve technical or service issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrible
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON23 December 2017
Worst job ever management is a mess and don’t know how to treat anyone. There constant drama in the work place. And the management likes to go in and get free food whenever they want even tho there not allowed. Management boyfriends will threaten ppl just a horrible work place don’t recommend this location
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Area Manger
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan20 December 2017
Company was sold to Five Star Burgers and they were less desirable to work for. I was laid off 3 months after the new company took over but do not think I would have remained on anyway.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier, General worker
Cashier and all food services (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 December 2017
Hardest part of the job was long hours on your feet and doing the clean up after the late shift.
Working hard to make sure the orders were correct.
Learned how to correctly use the cash register and take orders and then how to clean up and wash floors.
Pros
Free burger with your shift
Cons
The late shift had to wash floors and clean.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer-oriented restaurant with diner-like atmosphere
Supervisor/Store Trainer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 December 2017
As a supervisor and trainer, I have gained experience in food preparation, administrative skills, quality customer service, and quality maintenance of the work place. The atmosphere is intended to feel like a diner, especially given the specialization in burgers and fries and the interior design being of red and white tiles. This establishment is great in providing several opportunities to climb up the career chain, given after three months of employment and a highly noticeable work ethic and dedication to the work culture and service will allow you to apply for a supervisor position. Increases in pay based on position is possible, but slightly low increments depending on the advancement. I would recommend this restaurant as a first job for those seeking employment within the high school/university age range, as it will teach you team work, leadership, and it gives you hands-on learning experience most restaurants do not have.
Pros
Free meals, hands-on learning, capability to move up within company
Cons
Varying stress level situations, standing for long periods of time, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freindly zone
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC9 November 2017
Everyone was pretty good towarda each other there were number of good things but the main thing that was a moot cause for leaving this job was long working hours.. we had to work untill midnight.. that was too difficult .
Pros
Free breakes
Cons
Behaviour of the mangers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at five guys
Cleaner/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON26 October 2017
I typical day at five guys was starting with food prep and opening the store, taking customer orders and preparing the food, always serving with a smile and a friendly goodbye.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Red shirt, Manager in training (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 September 2017
good place to work great everything.never had a problem, good boss, good food, good people, good fun, Nothing bad i can really say about this place. Student job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON23 September 2017
A lot of work to be done to ensure team requirements as well as individual skills were nurtured properly.

Spent a lot of time coaching and creating a friendly and productive environment for everyone in the workplace.

In return my team and I were able to ensure top quality brand standard audits and secret shopper for everyone to get bonuses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't recommend working here anytime soon!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 September 2017
Working at Five guys was a nightmare. I had just moved into a new town and this had been my first real job, and while I was supposed to be the new trainee all the employees were so rude to me including the managers. The only bearable time of the day was when I just had to do the cash register. Most days I would leave the end of my shift to get in my car drive home crying in hopes for a phone call for another job interview elsewhere.
Pros
A free burger after you work 4 hours
Cons
Pretty much everything else about this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Guys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,778 reviews
5867
4857
3691
2202
1161

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture