Five Guys Employee Reviews

Found 215 reviews matching the search See all 3,722 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great development in delivering customer service
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC20 May 2019
great place to archive in Customer service and handheld food prep quality but not a place where you can rely on higher management. No day off or break if short on staff. No bonus promising.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good job back then
Chef (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 May 2019
The General Manager was really nice. He entitled me to different and better responsibilities, especially when he was not around. What also made my experience at Five Guys wonderful were the employees. The staff provided a very team-oriented environment, and that to me is very essential towards the development of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be fun
employee (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB12 April 2019
It use to be a great place to be, but has gone down hill. There is so much workplace drama and no accountability for things that go wrong on a shift. The blame throwing is amazing, no one assumes responsibility for their actions. Reliable people are taken for granted and not acknowledged. Advancement opportunities are non existent as are raises. The Manager at the store I worked at was awesome and very accommodating when she could be she treated her staff very well, and was enjoyable to work with. The customers were amazing as were SOME of the staff.
Pros
Free Meals on Shift, Great Manager, Great Customers
Cons
Too many shifts in a row sometimes, Drama, Back Biting, Blame Throwing, Work Place Harassment not being dealt with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfection
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB27 March 2019
Awesome culture, great place to work. Super friendly management easy to get work done, great music. Super easy to raise money for charities while you work.
Pros
Great food, Charity work, Great fun.
Cons
tell me if you think you found one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, energetic, and fasted paced workplace.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  324 West Hunt Club, Ottawa, ON25 March 2019
Five Guy's Burgers and Fires is a great place to work because of the flexible schedule and fun work environment. The only disadvantage working there is the long commute. Roughly three hours busing or depending on traffic 45 minutes to an hour and a half driving.
Pros
Free meals, fun work enviroment.
Cons
Long commute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work environment was comforting
Cook/Cleaner/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON13 March 2019
The work environment was very comforting and welcoming, I met a lot of new people and made new friends. The average work day was pretty chill, things would get hectic around dinner and lunch, but throughout the day you can sit back and relax
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work with Fun
Crew member (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 March 2019
Working at Five Guys and Burger and Fries is best because all work as a team and we always satisfy the customer. In free time we make sure our store looks really good due which our area manager always appreciated us, it also make customer feels good.
Pros
Free food for employers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Supervisor / Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  London, ON14 February 2019
everything is good especially when you are making burgers in front of a costumer. teamwork is the main target in order to sell the burgers as fast as you can
Pros
free meal
Cons
free meal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at five guys
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 January 2019
I would say working at five was a great experience.
It was my first time working at burger restaurant and i absolutely left with more experience to help me with my next job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Summary of Five Guys
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 January 2019
The work place is very good and the crew are very welcoming.
The management of the location is very good.
The managers are really good with there crew.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Service and Good Relationship to Costumers
Supervisor / Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  London, ON11 January 2019
We are very happy of what we are doing every day. And we have this kind of rule in five guys that you must sell the costumer's order within 6 mins or less.
Pros
Free meal
Cons
bad hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON Yonge and dundas2 January 2019
Very fast paced environment, Really fun and great salary benefits.
Would love to work here again if I could get a chance, I also love the people that still work there, very hard working people.
Cons
Closing time, Cleaning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Introductory to the company
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 December 2018
Enjoyed interacting with the customers and the approach the company used. I enhanced my customer service skills and learned the proper food preparation procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but hard
Cashier/ Cook/ Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 December 2018
Requires huge energy to work with team.
Not only need to manage good quality of food and finish in time but it needs to be done among team.
As large franchise fast food restaurants, not so much income without tips. However you are going to need a lot of efforts throughout colleagues just for an order. That is fun part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 December 2018
good, and healthy work environment, that needs more connection between employees and management. with a new thing to learn every day. over all five guys is a good work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 November 2018
not the best but not the worst either not really worth minimum wage, cleaning is tedious and greasy environment. closing is until 12 o'clock in the morning
Pros
free food
Cons
tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer job
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 November 2018
if youre looking for a job in high school, this is pretty much as good as it gets if youre in a restaurant. the pay is good and you get a free meal on your shifts
Pros
Free staff meals
Cons
late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Crew (Current Employee) –  Brossard, QC8 November 2018
Energetic workplace. You're definitely going to have fun working with your colleagues. Managers always have your back. English speaking environment. Free Food!
Pros
Free food
Cons
Late closes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
CASHIER CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 November 2018
Excellent training and fun place to work, free lunches. flexible shifts. Great team leader. Worked out well while I was in school working part time. Would work there again
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with, but poorly managed.
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB4 November 2018
I worked here in 2015-2016. During this time I watched multiple people quit because of the management. The workplace itself is a fun, always busy environment.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Poor Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Guys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,722 reviews
51.1K
41.1K
3903
2300
1247

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture