Fitness Depot

Fitness Depot Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers are slaves
Manager & Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 August 2019
No work life balance, but great pay. There is very little job security, so if you have a couple of bad sales months you can count on being either demoted from management, or let go of all together.

Worked with some great people, but no one stays long term due to ridiculous expectations from upper management. Very cult-like culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace with amazing colleagues
Shipping/Receiving/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 May 2019
Fitness Depot is great place to work for those seeking to be active and interactive. The employees and management are great. The deals are great, and working there has taught a lot of life experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly equipped.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC9 May 2019
Warehouse facilities are packed too tight to use efficiently. This causes great difficulties in preforming basic duties. Too cheep to get a landline so we had to use our cellphones in all communications without reimbursement. Used propane forklift indoors for years before we got an electric one. No one was certified to use the forklifts... Lots of physical labor for minimum wage. Glad I went back to school.
Pros
None
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard get rewarded
Manager (Current Employee) –  Ontario7 February 2019
Canadian owned and operated, top of the class in the industry. Growth opportunities available with stores across Canada. Started in sales now in management, well compensated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 February 2019
- good work atmosphere
- sales training was provided and taught me various sales techniques
- can be required to do heavy lifting, especially on shipment days
-management is flexible with scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good opportunity
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC16 November 2018
Only store manager makes money from commissions,low pay, if you work as a sale associate you don't make any money from commission, and you don't work enough hours, that business could be very busy for couple hours and dead for days, they are doing well though, just you will not be doing well.
Pros
nothing
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 October 2018
Boring job shared commission. low pay low grade products. i would reccomend as an entry level to sales, nothing more. just a good student job. that is fun sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Boss
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS27 August 2018
Fitness depot helped me to developed skills and knowledge in product presentation and sales tactics. I was taught how to manage customer relationships and work dynamically in groups and productively alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed work environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mississauga ON27 June 2018
Typical day includes building fitness equipment and stocking merchandise.

Learned about how to deliver effective customer service and build fitness equipment.
Very friendly and supportive workplace culture.
Pros
flexible hours, free lunches, friendly environment
Cons
Heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness Depot
Fitness Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 January 2018
- Can be very busy or not busy at all
- Learned sales skills
- Store managers are great.
- Laid back
- Job isn't that difficult
- Most enjoyable part is getting a big sale
Pros
Get to workout when you aren't busy
Cons
Only managers make a livable wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment and friendly people.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 December 2017
I worked here as a sales associate for about 2 months. I wish I remained as an employee for longer, but I could not put up with my manager anymore. It is not entirely her fault I quit, but her attitude towards staff and some customers was intolerable and unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100% commission is a difficult job
Retail Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 December 2014
Through the first several years working for 100% commission was financially rewarding and my working hours provided a flexible schedule. Incentives were amazing. All of these positive aspects of working for my previous employer changed over the past few years and declined due to the economy. I have since moved on to work at a more financially stable workplace but I'm open to new possibilities that will become a perfect fit for me.
Pros
Incentives from various suppliers
Cons
working for 100% commission
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness Depot
Fitness Consultant, Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  GTA3 November 2014
great company to work for, good training, great managers. good culture and business ethics. I worked there for 7 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 13Report

See more Fitness Depot reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fitness Depot. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 16 reviews
56
42
33
21
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture