First Truck Centre Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Warehouse Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 September 2018
First Truck is a nice place to work. They are involved in programs that encourage the continual improvement of the workplace. One can suggest an improvement/change and it will be seriously considered. Management is great throughout the company. The culture and atmosphere is very relaxed. You're encouraged to have fun and enjoy your time spent at work, as long as your required work is being completed. They have a great benefit package and competitive wages/salary. They are patient with training new employees, encourage self-improvement, and are dedicated to your growth within the company. Many of the employees I met or worked with started in entry-level positions and worked their way up the ladder within the company. As mentioned by another reviewer, some nepotism, which lead to a few employees who are problematic (rude, lazy, etc.). Overall, I really enjoyed my time working at First Truck Centre.
Pros
Competitive wages, benefits, pleasant work culture, ability to move up the ranks of the company.
Cons
Since they're part of a union, problematic or family/friends of staff can be challenging/bothersome
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture, Great people
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB15 August 2018
My contract was short but enjoyable - good expectations and excellent management. I received feedback on many of my accomplishments. Overall an excellent organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are much better places to work!
Anomynous (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB27 October 2017
If you enjoy playing games, this is what the place is like. Male dominated, poor management and communication. If you like two faced co-workers/managers and knives coming from every direction, then this is the place for you. Have to beg for pay increase, and never appreciated for a great job done. Wages are not great at this location for the workload. High staff turnover.
Pros
None to mention
Cons
High workload, low pay. No appreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 21 Years
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 October 2017
First Truck Centre gave me my start in Canada and was a good company to work for. I was recognized for my work ethic, technical knowledge and leadership skills with swift promotions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Sucks!
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC4 August 2017
Management sucks as the working enviroment of the Vancouver branch is simple to figure out. If you're not brown good luck as you're just a number and easily replaceable.
Pros
There are none.
Cons
To many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucks
Service Writer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton South, ab18 April 2017
You always have bosses breathing down your neck and complaining even when your doing your job right. They treat you terribly. Coworkers are great but management is not worth the job to be there. Bad place to work or go to.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to fit in
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 August 2016
Great customers although if your reception they can be very rude and interrupt you. Coworkers are not great to work with. Lots of family members work together. Outsiders don't fit in. Many coworkers name call and pick on you as "fun". Must have thick skin to work here. Complaining about the coworkers is pointless.
Pros
Nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Coach Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB23 May 2016
Good clean shop. Lots of training and support available.People a good to work with. Decent management group. Benefits are quite good.
Very good work/life balance,very supportive of family and community.
Shifts take time to get used to.
Pros
Lots of freebies
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly watching over your shoulder
Heavy Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 April 2016
Very fast paced and difficult environment to learn in. Salary was fair and work/life balance was good. Coworkers were great made lasting friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice people to work with
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 February 2016
Pretty much everyone there is friendly and enjoyable to work with. The job was pretty easy, a little hectic at times and the warehouse was clean.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
Nepotism
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees,Overworked/Underpaid
HEAVY DUTY PARTS TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2014
I have had a great time working for this company however when you come to a certain skill level its really hard to get paid what you worth.
Growth potential is limited.
my co-workers have become great friends and everyone pulls there own weight.
The hardest part of the job is knowing that other employers out there are paying more and with less responsibility
The most enjoyable part of the job is coming to work and feeling like you have put in 100% and get to see the customer overjoyed they were in/out and within reasonable prices.
Pros
4 on 4 off schedual
Cons
Tons of responsibilities for not enough pay/no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting and fun
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 June 2014
i love working at first truck center
i Answering over 100 calls a day and a lot of filing
i love everyone i work with
i enjoy being at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic daily work
Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton23 February 2014
Great day to day tasks, customer service, and employee interaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant customers
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 January 2014
answer phones, filing, forward phone calls to proper depts. This place of work is a very hard place to fit into. Night time co-workers are great to work with. Management and day shift are very hard to get along with and like to belittle you infront of people.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Truck Centre. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 15 reviews
53
43
33
22
14

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.6Culture

First Truck Centre Reviews by Location