First Student Employee Reviews

Found 219 reviews matching the search See all 1,913 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Execelle place for people with kids
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON2 February 2019
First Student will allow you to take your children on the bus so you don't have to pay for daycare to work. First Student is the only Unionized bus company in Sarnia.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Trainer/Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 January 2019
Should've never left they treated there employee good only thing that sucked was they had union there so union dues not good other then that a great place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardest part of the job.
Bus operator (Former Employee) –  Celdon27 January 2019
The hardest part of the job depends on road conditions, traffic, weather, and constructions...Working with people is easy as long as you treat people how you would want to be treated, with patience and respect.
Pros
working independently
Cons
With driving, time management's a daily challenge, almost impossible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Bus Operator / Driver Trainer (S endorsement) (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK24 January 2019
If I could give no stars I would! Who ever hires these managers should be terminated for gross incompetence! In 9 years this branch has had 8 managers! Favouritism runs rampant, buses are constantly breaking down and there is no recourse for drivers.
Pros
None
Cons
Bad buses, low pay, low hours and poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress poor management team
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON23 January 2019
Not a lot of manager support. No room for advancement and no budget for salary increases. Too much put on one person. Not a lot of team players. Best part of working in office was working with some of the best drivers out there.
Pros
Some free lunches
Cons
Not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Caledon, ON23 January 2019
Great place to work.
The environment is positive and the people are very helpful and energetic. Working with the students is rewarding and knowing that you are helping the families is wonderful.
Pros
The work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
SCHOOL BUS DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON18 January 2019
Great for stay-at-home parents who are looking for something to do while your kids are in school. You can bring your children with you on the bus for PA Days, if you work for a different region than your children's school.
Pros
Great work hours, comparable salary, ease of transition for new drivers
Cons
Driving in inopportune driving conditions (rain, snow, etc.)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK16 January 2019
Perfect job for someone who is semi-retired. Love that I work alone after years on the front end. Must love kids. They make my work so rewarding. Knowing the parents personally also makes my job so easy.
Pros
Short shifts. Well paid. Great managers.
Cons
Cold weather. LOL
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job was great! The Company......
Driver, Trainer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 January 2019
I enjoyed the Driving, and my passengers were Fabulous!
First Group PLC/ First Student in Calgary is a Big Fleet of different sizes, and types of Buses! They own Many Transportation companies (Greyhound for example). The work environment is stressful! Bus Break-downs are frequent (Oddly most of the problems are with the over-engineered newer Buses). Routes are scheduled to the minute. A driver is wading through: Government Red Tape, Zonar pre & post-trip, sketchy Zonar Sign-out signal communication to base, Log-books, Mandatory Courses, Lack of Equipment (Various issues), Drug Testing, Inspections, Meetings, Lots of Time off, causing large gaps in your pay! It was a ongoing Enigma..
Pros
When you could get out on the Job, it was Fun! Daily Pay was good.
Cons
Big Gaps in Pay, 100's of Busses booked off with issues, Stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I’ve worked there for many years
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON3 January 2019
Employed there many years, so it has been a good place to work. Have learned a lot. Lots of interaction with inside and outside customers. Little overtime required . Important skills learned like multitasking, customer service with drivers, schools, school boards,and Transportation Departments. Scheduled buses for service
Pros
Lots of interaction with drivers, schools, transportation makes for an interesting job/employment
Cons
None really. Have enjoyed many years there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult
School Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 December 2018
dealing with personnel who are not schooled on union business was difficult. There was far too much favoritism involved which effected the overall ambiance and work ethics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and productive place to work.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 December 2018
A typical day at work was easy because it was part time and was a lot of fun because of the diverse culture. The management was good, they did their best to help anyone in need.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON27 November 2018
Driving school bus takes a special kind of person. The people that work at the Windsor location are great examples of that type. They are fun, kind and are willing to help the kids and coworkers out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Decent Work
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB and Surrounding Areas24 November 2018
Children you are providing transportation for, can be noisy and disruptive,

Hardest part of the job, is the handling of mis beheaving students, depending on the School Division, each have their way of dealing with the problems.


the local management, is fairly good to deal with. For the Corporate level of management, they are based in the USA.
Pros
Easy work hours
Cons
No Benefits for the drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
dispatcher/payroll (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON15 November 2018
Great and helpful staff. Enjoyed each day I worked there good days and not so good days. Will always have respect for my supervisor and management staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 November 2018
It was a perfect part time job. The people in the company were easy to work with. Loved the kids. Reason for leaving was because of the difficulty of parking availability of the bus between shifts. The bus yard was too far away for it to be feasible to always go back and forth between pickups.
Pros
Part time made it possible to pursue personal business.
Cons
Lack of off site parking. ie neighbors didn't like bus parked during the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Markham1 November 2018
It is really a bad company. People there like to cheat, are rude and disrespectful. Never want to go into this xxxxhole company again. It is the biggest mistake ever for me to deal with this company.
Pros
No
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good Place to Work
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Taber, AB1 November 2018
I stayed for seven years and left mainly due to me moving. I was going to take on a different bus route, unfortunately my nerves were pretty shot after being a bus driver for that amount of time it just wasn't for me any more. The management didnt seem to want to see me leave and expressed that, however, they supported my decision and I remain on good terms with them to this day. Overall, I liked the pay I got for my long bus route that I did for the majority of my time with first student but driving kids to and from school every day did take a toll on me mentally (I know it sounds funny, it does to me too, but its true).
Pros
Great pay if you get a decently long route.
Cons
ALOT of vehicle inspections. (understandable though, you'll get really fast at them!)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 September 2018
Good pay for the qualifications needed. Friendly coworkers, safety oriented, good training & start-up support, paid training. Didn't like how the upper management handled some of their internal conflicts, but if you stay out of the politics, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
School Bus Driver and Driver Trainer (Former Employee) –  Barrie14 September 2018
Good place to work. Always friendly staff and people willing to help out.

Great job for Mothers and retired people. All students holidays are yours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Student. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,914 reviews
5537
4547
3508
2176
1146

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture