First Student Employee Reviews

Found 208 reviews matching the search See all 1,861 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
SCHOOL BUS DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON18 January 2019
Great for stay-at-home parents who are looking for something to do while your kids are in school. You can bring your children with you on the bus for PA Days, if you work for a different region than your children's school.
Pros
Great work hours, comparable salary, ease of transition for new drivers
Cons
Driving in inopportune driving conditions (rain, snow, etc.)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK16 January 2019
Perfect job for someone who is semi-retired. Love that I work alone after years on the front end. Must love kids. They make my work so rewarding. Knowing the parents personally also makes my job so easy.
Pros
Short shifts. Well paid. Great managers.
Cons
Cold weather. LOL
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job was great! The Company......
Driver, Trainer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 January 2019
I enjoyed the Driving, and my passengers were Fabulous!
First Group PLC/ First Student in Calgary is a Big Fleet of different sizes, and types of Buses! They own Many Transportation companies (Greyhound for example). The work environment is stressful! Bus Break-downs are frequent (Oddly most of the problems are with the over-engineered newer Buses). Routes are scheduled to the minute. A driver is wading through: Government Red Tape, Zonar pre & post-trip, sketchy Zonar Sign-out signal communication to base, Log-books, Mandatory Courses, Lack of Equipment (Various issues), Drug Testing, Inspections, Meetings, Lots of Time off, causing large gaps in your pay! It was a ongoing Enigma..
Pros
When you could get out on the Job, it was Fun! Daily Pay was good.
Cons
Big Gaps in Pay, 100's of Busses booked off with issues, Stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult
School Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 December 2018
dealing with personnel who are not schooled on union business was difficult. There was far too much favoritism involved which effected the overall ambiance and work ethics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Bus driver (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON21 December 2018
Great company to work.
The office staff stands up for us when issues arise.
They provide great training and continuous training.
I can’t think of anything negative to say about “First Student”.
I love my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and productive place to work.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 December 2018
A typical day at work was easy because it was part time and was a lot of fun because of the diverse culture. The management was good, they did their best to help anyone in need.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON27 November 2018
Driving school bus takes a special kind of person. The people that work at the Windsor location are great examples of that type. They are fun, kind and are willing to help the kids and coworkers out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Decent Work
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB and Surrounding Areas24 November 2018
Children you are providing transportation for, can be noisy and disruptive,

Hardest part of the job, is the handling of mis beheaving students, depending on the School Division, each have their way of dealing with the problems.


the local management, is fairly good to deal with. For the Corporate level of management, they are based in the USA.
Pros
Easy work hours
Cons
No Benefits for the drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
dispatcher/payroll (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON15 November 2018
Great and helpful staff. Enjoyed each day I worked there good days and not so good days. Will always have respect for my supervisor and management staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 November 2018
It was a perfect part time job. The people in the company were easy to work with. Loved the kids. Reason for leaving was because of the difficulty of parking availability of the bus between shifts. The bus yard was too far away for it to be feasible to always go back and forth between pickups.
Pros
Part time made it possible to pursue personal business.
Cons
Lack of off site parking. ie neighbors didn't like bus parked during the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Markham1 November 2018
It is really a bad company. People there like to cheat, are rude and disrespectful. Never want to go into this xxxxhole company again. It is the biggest mistake ever for me to deal with this company.
Pros
No
Cons
People
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good Place to Work
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Taber, AB1 November 2018
I stayed for seven years and left mainly due to me moving. I was going to take on a different bus route, unfortunately my nerves were pretty shot after being a bus driver for that amount of time it just wasn't for me any more. The management didnt seem to want to see me leave and expressed that, however, they supported my decision and I remain on good terms with them to this day. Overall, I liked the pay I got for my long bus route that I did for the majority of my time with first student but driving kids to and from school every day did take a toll on me mentally (I know it sounds funny, it does to me too, but its true).
Pros
Great pay if you get a decently long route.
Cons
ALOT of vehicle inspections. (understandable though, you'll get really fast at them!)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment.
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 September 2018
Good pay for the qualifications needed. Friendly coworkers, safety oriented, good training & start-up support, paid training. Didn't like how the upper management handled some of their internal conflicts, but if you stay out of the politics, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
School Bus Driver and Driver Trainer (Former Employee) –  Barrie14 September 2018
Good place to work. Always friendly staff and people willing to help out.

Great job for Mothers and retired people. All students holidays are yours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very little support from management, busses suck mechanically
Driver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 September 2018
Job was convenient because I was able to bring my kids. Overall management were often on power trips and very clicky. If you didn’t do extra work you were at the bottom of the food chain. Very little support during student issues, school was better to deal with than my supers. They lie about injury at work claims and refuse to pay you if you don’t know your contract well enough and call them out on it. They don’t maintain their busses or fix issues properly. Everything is a Mickey Mouse mix or doesn’t get fixed at all, even when reported daily and taken to the shop daily. I’ve had to refuse a bus that was unsafe because they kept telling me to take it even though legally it was unfit to drive. They didn’t care. They just said they didn’t have any replacement units so I had to take it. No support regarding violent, volatile, and aggressive students
Pros
Bring your kids, seasonal, pay is ok, somewhat decide your schedule
Cons
Busses suck, management isn’t great, supervisors are miserable, very little support
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress and high expectations
Operations Controller and Route Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 September 2018
Remuneration does not equal job expectations.
You will manage your contract, dispatch, drive a route to cover driver shortages and "other tasks as assigned".
Love the people I work with but stress levels are high with all.
Management at the local level does what they can, but are not empowered to make decisions that would increase job satisfaction.
All about hitting targets and not about people.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Low pay, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb Safety training and fun place to work.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Athabasca, AB22 August 2018
My time with First Canada was fun informative and a superb learning experience. Best job I ever had, I would still be working for them if I had not moved to a different location. First Student is High End 100% superior student transportation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part-time career
School bus driver (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK20 August 2018
This job is demanding, and also rewarding. You need to have a good sense of humor and be willing to put in extra hours. The children are what makes the job worthwhile.
Pros
great wages
Cons
Long hours, high expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not ideal place to work since the union came in
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 August 2018
They don’t pay overtime (if you cover other people’s runs). They still owe me money from extra work I did and refuse to pay. The only benefit of working here is you are on the same schedule as your kids but having them with you on a 90 minute bus ride morning and afternoon is a bit much, especially with no air conditioning in plus 30 weather!
Cons
No air conditioning on buses. Buses break down all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not BAD, not good.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 July 2018
This was the second time for me working for a school bus company. This type of work is good for people who are parents of young children because you can bring them with you. I believe your children can be up to 6 yrs of age to travel with you? This was an amazing opportunity for myself when my kids were younger. BUT.. the one big BUT. The pay is LOW. And if your school has days off, so do you. There is a small way around that and that is to work with the Charters department. Now keep in mind most Charters your not able to bring your children with you.
This type of work is also good for people who are retired or are a student. You work a split shift, meaning you do your AM pickups and then your PM pickup from school and then home drop offs.
This particular company was alright to work for, the staff was great when you needed help. But the units themselves are tired and understandably so. My unit was always in the shop having something fixed or overhauled. There are only so many mechanics and so much to do. So, please be kind to the mechanics! They can only do so much!!
The other drivers seemed nice. No complaints there.
I loved the kids I drove. Like all children, they had their good days and bad days. The bad days were yelling and screaming, not sitting down, walking on the seats while the bus was moving, hitting each other, throwing things or tossing their garbage all over the unit.

Only words of advice I can give is, just breath. Remeber these kids come from all walks of life and are all having a different life experience. Every one of them are individuals. Talk
  more... to them kindly even when they are having a bad day. It DOES make a difference.
And if the kids are acting really rambunctious while you are driving, pull over in a safe area. The kids will stop and ask why you have pulled over LOL. Also, try not to yell at them. Not going to lie, it can be hard to do when you have 52 kids on the bus all yelling at each other to talk and laugh.

Best of luck to you all!
  less
Pros
Monday to Friday work, good kids, staff were helpful.
Cons
LOW pay, units are tired and brake down often, traffic can be crazy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Student. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,862 reviews
5522
4533
3500
2171
1136

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture