First Student Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON19 March 2018
Loved my job, I learned many things and my coworkers are all very friendly & nice. I was responsible for ordering parts, returns, picking up parts. Shop manager assistant, I did what was needed to be done. Due to downsizing and restructuring my job was eliminated, so sad because I totally loved it, and it certainly wasn't for the pay. I learned many things about buses, parts, inventory processes
Pros
Full time, great people
Cons
Not best wages, head office had most control being in usa it was different in Canada they didn't understand that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kincardine
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Kincardine, ON8 March 2018
I worked at the Kincardine location (for three years). The manager has now changed. I liked the manager and the other people I worked with (there were some pretty great mechanics too :) )
Pros
Friendly People
Cons
Winter Weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First student
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 March 2018
I don't have a lot of things to talk about this company. working with the kids was wonderful, however, the company was not paying drivers the time they work on the bus. they were only paying when you pick the first child until the time you drop the last child from the bus. In short, you could work 6hours per day and paid only 2 to 3 hours per day.
Pros
no
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fellow workers great to interact with
Driver (Former Employee) –  Beamsville, ON9 February 2018
First student trained me for my B license which was thorough and comprehensive .The trainers were very good and all of the training especially the defensive driving serves me well every day.
Pros
free time
Cons
split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad equitment.
School-Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 January 2018
Not very good management they don't look after the equipment. Lots off breakdowns will transporting students to school and back home. They have old busses ....!
Pros
good hours
Cons
old broken Busses!
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid in Mileage not Hourly
SCHOOL BUS DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 January 2018
Work isn't paid hourly. The average run gets $52 a day for 5+ hours of time. Spilt shifts only left 3.5-5 hours in between. If a bus needed to go in for repairs you would often have to wait and that time wasn't paid. A bonus is they allow you to park at home or somewhere nearby (as long as it doesn't cost).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting job
School bus driver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 December 2017
Driving passengers from point A to B
Learnt dealing with customers
Management was very helpful and considerate
Culture of the workplace was laidback
Hardest part of the job was to be able to work in all weather conditions.
Pros
learning everyday
Cons
working in all weather conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job to interect with kids of all ages.
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Caledon, ON1 December 2017
wonderful management team, its really a fun to work with people of all ages n different cultures.I really learned a lot from this job.The hardest part of job is the snowey mornings!Its really hard to heat up the bus in chilling -20 to -30 degree celsius. Most enjoyable part is interecting with sweet n cute kids n wonderful n caring parents.Really wanna refer this job for retirees n moms with very young kids.
Pros
can take our own kids on work
Cons
part time only
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON24 November 2017
Great place to work
Close to home
Easily accessible
Helping to students
Get along well with management and peers
Excellent interpersonal and communication skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place enjoyed work , when the weather was good. The roads were poor long distances between rest areas, and towns , Speed by other vehicle .
Shuttle Bus to work and back Oil company. (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 November 2017
Lived in Fort Mcmurrary. The Wild West long way from family. The pressure of the job to go whether safe or not , not option.Oil industry schools Camps never closed 24-7 burn- out 2years average 140 hours bi- weekly
Pros
lots of work good wage.
Cons
Poor Manager, ex Driver in over her head tence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report

Want to know more about First Student?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant
Dispatcher/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Clarington, ON2 November 2017
Very Fast pace all the time. very busy environment. Cramped working area. Slow computers. Definitely Never boring. Have to say, I really Love the job.
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Computer systems need upgrades. Very slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun place to work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB21 September 2017
The management was not so great. They don't seem to realize you work with kids and the job is not easy. The easy part of the job is driving the bus. The hard part of the job is to deal with the children. You can have an awesome or the worse group of children. The company is not really helpful and blame you for not controlling the behavior of the children on your bus, They don't appreciate what you do to help the company either.
It is a good job if you really need a job and can't afford daycare.
Pros
can bring children with you
Cons
hard to deal with the children with no help from the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Location Manager (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB13 September 2017
great benefits, good management, supportive environment a lot of opportunity for advancement, wonderful safety culture always improving, ideas are always welcome, there was a lot of freedom to manage your location the best way you could, upper management was always there to guide you and give advice, between all the locations there was a scence of community, you never felt like you were alone. There was a lot of training which was nice, weekly confrence calls to keep in touch and share ideas among the other locations, travelling and new experiences and really feeling like part of a great team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Taber, Alberta.12 September 2017
Not enough pay. It is a good job for stay at home parents and Retired seniors. Having the responsibility and ability to safely transport our most precious cargo is greatly rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good source for part-time employment
School and Charter Bus Driver, Laidlaw (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON11 September 2017
I worked for First Student as a school bus and charter driver. They provided very thorough training in order to ensure the safe transportation of students. This training helped me to become a safety conscious driver, which has been a benefit in my other driving jobs. It also taught me lots of patience in dealing with children.
Pros
Good steady part-time employment.
Cons
It is a huge responsibility to safely transport children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part-time Job
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 August 2017
-Supervisors go to bat for you
-Training is good
-Communication isn't
-Can be stressful
-equipment tends to be old and have a history of breaking down
-gives you free time during the day
-can earn extra money
Pros
Friendly supportive staff
Cons
Recent changes have made it stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Safe
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Durham Region, ON28 August 2017
Driving a Bus is a great job, with
great hours, you have a lot of flexibility
your hours are (roughly) 7am-9am and
3pm-5pm. The team (office/Garage and other drivers)
are friendly and always helpfully, when you are
done your training you are confident behind the wheel!
But be ready to be outside snow/rain/wind
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice part time job
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON10 August 2017
It is a nice time job with high responsibility and limited flexibility.
Continuous communication with children is a good experience.
You need to follow defines rules and be curious about safety .
company's management is very supportive.
Pros
Being with children
Cons
Little benefit
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK6 August 2017
A good place to work if you have a second job or are retired or just doing to get out of the house Like working there and driving the kids to and from school just not suffiant amount of money and hours
Pros
Good hours if you don't worry about money
Cons
Only get paid for 4 hours a day and when there is holidays no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, sparce hours though
Part Time School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON20 July 2017
The management is very supportive and try to help in whatever way they can. The volume of available hours could be better though. Advancement opportunities come up occasionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Student. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,472 reviews
5417
4429
3392
2133
1101

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture