First Student Careers CA Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people Poor managment
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB30 April 2018
Managment are not affraid to stab you in the back you dnt fit into the little groups. Mist drivers are okay just be carful what you say and do and people well switch it around.
Pros
Good friends
Cons
managers, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than a lot of jobs
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC29 April 2018
I love being a bus driver with First Student. I've been with them for almost one school season. There is some unpaid time - moving buses out of the way to get out of the parking lot, for example, but I don't mind. I like this job because I haven't had any negative experiences (so far). Everyone's been kind to me (so far). I have a lot of fun with the kids and my coworkers, even management! This is a great part time job/supplement to other work if you need to make more money. It's not enough money to live on, as it's only part time, but it's great as a supplement ... and I think of it as a hobby, honestly. For me, I don't have any kids, so it's great to get to know some and be outside roaming around on my route. The one concern I have is the potential to get hurt in an accident while driving ... but that hasn't happened (it's the same risk with driving any kind of vehicle).

I learned a new skill this year, and I have had a lot of funny experiences with the kids and some great coworkers.
Pros
Great if you enjoy driving, and enjoy kids.
Cons
Not enough pay to live on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Worth the Time
Driver (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 March 2018
If your not one of the "favorites" you will get the worst routes and charters. Not worth the time for the pay. They tell you it is $17/hour, not true, you will be cleaning snow and doing your circle check for longer and to get out of the crowded lot, you will need to move buses out of your way. The time they calculate for your route is grossly underestimated. If your in traffic its your problem they set the pay based on what the route time will be in no traffic. The benefits is equal to none. Management is a joke. The parking lot is crowded and their expectations for the pay is ridiculous. Come on your own time to clean snow for an hour and move buses blocking your bus to go on your route. Go to Swiss, better working conditions, better buses, and great culture!
Pros
None
Cons
Management, setup, culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is very fair
Driver (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound17 November 2017
Excellent for stay at home parents. May take your children with you. You are trained on site.
It has been a very positive place to work.
Transporting children is a huge responsibility but also very rewarding.
Pros
Home most of the day
Cons
Early mornings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
another company better
driver (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON3 October 2017
Still working in this company
but every new school year my paycheck always lower than before

not really happy with this company
this is my last year

bye !
Pros
nothing
Cons
they need a communication course
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing funny about driving a School Bus
Driver (Former Employee) –  North Battleford, SK30 June 2017
Worst place to work in town.
Runaway from this place.
A typical day at work... wake up 6:00 o'clock in the morning.
Warm up the Bus for 1/2 hour
Cold, cold, cold.
Everyday Question... What the H... I'm doing driving School Bus.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
You gotta work with kids in the Bus and out of it
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough skin needed
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK25 April 2017
well its not a bad place to work if you don't mind favoritism and the mechanic biting your head off for things out of your control and extra charters only given to certain drivers not everyone is treated fair
Pros
good pay for the amount of hours you work
Was this review helpful?Yes 76No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for stay at home moms
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON8 April 2017
Being a bus driver is great for stay at home moms you can bring your kids on the bus with you and you also have all the same holidays as your kids school
Pros
You can take your kids to work with you
Cons
Not very good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 20Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Student Careers CA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.4
Based on 9 reviews
52
40
32
21
14

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.0Salary/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
1.9Management
2.1Culture

First Student Careers CA Reviews by Job Title

First Student Careers CA Reviews by Location