First Choice Haircutters Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 July 2018
a typical day of work here is somewhat busy and full of things to do. i learned how to help customers and stock shelves, i also took phone calls and scheduled appointments. management was very kind and open. work place culture was very accepting and it was lots if fun getting to know everyone.
Pros
decent break times and close by stores.
Cons
somewhat a small space
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast place, fun place to work
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB15 June 2018
Was a busy little salon, i enjoyed working there, how ever the manager did not seem to like me very much. Easy to make commission with all the walk in.
Pros
Lots of walk ins
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning opportunities
Licensed Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 June 2018
I always enjoyed my time working with this company. I was given a chance to learn and grow. This company is a great starting point for someone who has just finished beauty school and wants to gain experience on the floor. Learn and keep up with the latest trends and gain confidence in your stylist abilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast pace job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON6 June 2018
First choice haircutters is a great company to work for. they truly love all their employees and want nothing more than their success at work and at life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not that great
Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON9 April 2018
they only care about quality over quantity when it should be the other way around. and the people are not that great and are not helpful when they should be
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Corner Brook, NL19 March 2018
Shift need to be more equal, everyone has a life and needs to do thing.. always the same people working 9 to 5 and only one night a week while other work then all..
Pros
Always guaranteed a cheaque
Cons
Lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fch
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON4 March 2018
Excellent experience
Very busy locations allow you to gain more experience with technical abilities and customer service

Company is does not educate staff of the employment standards act. Frowns on time off and lates. Zero benefits , some training, minimum wage, unpaid breaks
Pros
Lots of experience
Cons
Long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at First Choice
Hairdresser (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, ON23 January 2018
First Choice was a fast pace environment. Our day involved cutting hair, colouring hair, just serving the client as best as we could possibly do and fulfil all their needs when they come into the salon .It was all about the customer to make sure they would keep coming back. Fist Choice was a team environment. My co-workers and I always worked as a team, whether its to get a second opinion, or just working together with all of our knowledge put together as one to execute the job as best that it can be.
Pros
benefits, always have work, bubbly co-workers
Cons
long hours, work every weekend, short lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work.
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Collingwood, ON18 January 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed my time at First Choice Haircutters. Colleagues and clients were great and very friendly. Benefits were nice and pay was fairly decent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON4 December 2017
Very busy time goes by fast. It offered benefits which a lot of hairstyling jobs do not. You get breaks on time and sent home if not busy. Equipment supplied.
Pros
Benefits and wage plus commission
Cons
Working every weekend and Sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Hairstylist Apprentice (Former Employee) –  OrlĂ©ans ontario30 November 2017
A great place for those fresh out of school and looking to hone their skills, benefits are absolutely amazing
Management is ok depending on your region and store
Pros
Very busy, great for building clients
Cons
No pre booking, rely only on foot traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was boring.
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Ladner, BC7 November 2017
I loved being a hairstylist but it took all the joy out of being a stylist. Was more of a hair cut and go place. Not much for customer service. Definitely not a place of pride.
Pros
Flexiable hours
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Major corporation
Stylist (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON24 October 2017
Huge walk in traffic.. Opportunity for advancement if you want it.
Like any other major corporation, company more focused on making dollars than helping the people that break their backs for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Hairstylist/Manager (Former Employee) –  Strathroy, ON12 October 2017
Benefits and good working enviroment. Very busy locations so there is alot of work. Area managers can be brutal at times. Was a minumum amount of money you had to bring in to keep you job. Pretty much the only downfall of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding workplace
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON6 October 2017
They overwork you. Don't really care about breaks or lunch time. High turn over rate and difficult managers to work with or they strive to work you to the ground. Expect you to work long hours with no incentive and only pay minimum wage.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Work you hard and only care about the customers not employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good place to Work
Owner/Manager and hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON3 September 2017
First Choice Haircutters is a national franchise company with over 500 locations throughout Canada and US. It is a good place to start Your career or if you need flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador18 August 2017
Great place to start off. Not much room for growth but great training options and very good start to get in to the industry. Taught me a lot of what I needed to know for the industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great steeping stone
Manager (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON14 August 2017
very busy place at times...great stepping stone in life...paid training provided and benefits after awhile...best part of the job was keeping your own tips for the day and staff made it go by quick
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job!
Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON26 July 2017
I worked in the office doing payroll and accounting, Monday to Friday. Excellent wages and staff. Continuous training provided. Benefits and mileage paid.
Pros
Continuous training provided
Cons
that there was no office in SSM
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprentice
HAIRSTYLIST (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON26 July 2017
I was an apprentice. I didn't enjoy the responsibility if the client didn't like their hair. I felt bad so this was too stressful for me. The owner was nice and gave me a good opportunity. they taught when needed and allowed you to make some of your own decisions.
Pros
An income
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Choice Haircutters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 105 reviews
531
430
323
213
18

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture