Fields Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 64 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gossipy and rumour-driven clique of self important private club
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lillooet, BC1 March 2019
My tenure at this discount store was thankfully brief. The management runs it like an insiders club. Whoever is not within earshot is who is being gossiped about. There is no team cohesion, but rather a nasty, dark and dishonest approach to being 'in the circle' or out. They would prefer mindless automatons to do their bidding rather than thinking and contributing employees who would not threaten their position atop the steaming pile of dung that is the culture there. They even go so far as to lie - baldfaced- to you about your performance, with plastic saccharine praise and then destroy your credibility wen it comes to performance reviews, so the whole time, you are being told how wonderful you are and perfect for the role, then they fail you on every front when it matters: the reports that go to head office. It's such a weird and manipulative environment that it actually began to make me physically ill to go to work. Kind of like curse or some hex is there. The pay is terrible -as low as they can legally make it, and with no chance for raises because they drive you away before you would be eligible. Just look at the stats. they have had about 20 people fill the same role in just over a few years. If you could work anywhere else, do it. It's not worth the cost on your soul or your self-worth to be treated so poorly. There is a group of former workers that have gotten together to share these stories, to be sure it wasnt just imagined and yes, there is evil at that location.
Pros
Cant think of a single thing.
Cons
almost everything, nothing good comes to mind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good communication
Early Childhood Educator Assistant (EDP) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 February 2019
Do slime
Do danse
Good wage
Respecting the people
Cleaning well for patients
Pros
Good wage
Cons
Short lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employees, terribly company to work for
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Barrhead, AB10 July 2018
i loved the women i worked with we were like family but the company itself is hard to work for. they don't treat there hard working employees with much respect and loyalty
Cons
working rediculous amounts of hours short staffed and not being aloud to hire anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Westlock, AB3 June 2018
7 hour shifts seemed more like 7 years. One coworker in particular liked to take credit for my work while she went for as many smoke breaks as she pleased within the 3 hours before closing. Manager was a nice lady and a hard worker.
Pros
Good manager
Cons
Lazy co worker when manager wasn’t there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Meadow Lake, SK7 March 2018
It is a fun place to work but you get very little hours for minimum wage. A very large store with only 2-3 workers at a time with no security except cameras.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Elk Point, AB30 January 2018
Employers, and coworkers were friendly. Work was always fun! Always something to do during the day even if customer service is slow. I miss the atmosphere!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive work environment
Cashier customer service (Former Employee) –  Falher, AB30 June 2017
I learnt many skills being cashier then key holder. my responsibilities were to keep the store operating. Freight, stocked shelves, cashier, organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun place to work
3rd Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Davidson, SK26 June 2017
I enjoy working with people always show up early for my shifts. I am a very hard worker. I work 2 jobs at the moment. I put stock away I talk to customers and serve them. I help customers look for what they need. I do the banking and send the daily lists of what we do to the management in b.c. I also have learned the people that live in my community
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work with friendly staff
INVENTORY CLERK (Former Employee) –  Sooke, BC31 May 2017
A typical day during inventory is quiet and fast paced work. It teaches patience and attention to detail as you log inventory in the store. The management is very nice and willing to help others when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good smaller business
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Drumheller, AB9 May 2017
It is too bad that HBC decided to close this portion of their company, as Fields had some good prices and a variety of product in their stores. Quite a few people shopped in these stores in order to save money.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment. Amazing staff. Helpful management.
Senior Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Prince Rupert, BC26 April 2017
I started as an associate. Went to Senior Sales Associate. As o had previous management experience was asked to step in with a store for 3 months to train new hires and new manager for the store.
Pros
Take the time to train you properly.
Cons
Salary could have been better for the amount of hours in a day you put in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK18 April 2017
I have learned alot about how to be respectful and hardworking to never give up and learned to not be shy. Which makes me independent with knowledge on front desk positions as well as good in in office environments
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lac La Biche, AB17 March 2017
the boss was a wonder woman always helping out and wanting to help you improve in what you were doing didnt work here to long but i would go back if i was able to
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Melfort, SK13 March 2017
Working for this company was a great experience. I had the opportunity to be a key holder, and also was never written up my time being there. Above all, I enjoyed working with this company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BC7 March 2017
It's okay...but I can't see my future in this job.but good for someone to past sometime in their lives. They don't pay the right wage and except new people and old to work at a very low wage.
Pros
Awesome people
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Westlock, AB19 January 2017
this job was a lot of fun and full of great staff to work with but when it came time for promises to the staff they were broken all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive working environment
Key Holder/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  High Prairie, AB29 September 2016
The employees and customers where amazing and made my days at work fun and exciting I learned how to do manager duties when I became a key holder for the store
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and a fun work place to work at
Cashier, Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB Millbournd mall27 May 2016
Doing fright, setting up for the day, bank deposit, How to be a supervisor, Management was awesome to work with, my co-workers was also great to work with, Was when the store closed, Helping customers and going in to work every day
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it sucked
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Kamsack, SK7 December 2015
I never got payed what I was suppost to and I didn't get treated like a assent manager. they never listen to my ideas and I was accused of things I never did. and now I don't know cause its under new owners and management. I would like to go back
Pros
new managment
Cons
the pay wasnt good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB6 November 2015
It was a great environment to work. Got along with the staff . Had no problems with dates or time of work schedule. I like to work at the cashier position so i can interact with the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fields. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 64 reviews
519
418
314
25
18

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture