FGL Sports Ltd. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Chek were great to work for
Electronic Commerce Advisor (Former Employee) –  Stratford, Ontario22 April 2018
Very good atmosphere throughout the store I worked in, staff and managers were all amazing and easy to talk to. Overall I had a fun experience working with the online orders and getting to know customers in the store. Great in store discounts as well!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun place
Sport Chek (Current Employee) –  Leduc County, AB30 March 2018
Really fun to work at, get paid and over minimum wage, friendly people and easy position at cash. You get a good discount as well and I never feel out of place
Pros
regular shifts, snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 February 2018
Terrible culture, too much favouritism and no opportunity to move up if you desire to move up in the company it wont happen. You will only move up if you are best friends with management and if they ask you. Any initiative prior to them speaking with you, will be discouraged. Good place to work as a side job but not career wise. Also too much in-work dating and harassment that doesn't get "handled" properly. They just move people around instead of firing or disciplining them if another manager is friends with the manager involved in misconduct. When the labour laws changed they decided to give 4.75 hour shifts instead of scheduling for 5.5 hours to pay people for the full five hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Part-Time Detail Processor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 February 2018
Fun, safe, and excellent Supervisors and co-workers. Always flexible with my hours because they are aware that I am a College Student. Gives me enough of a heads up if work will be slow and I really respect that about them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and safe environment
Seasonal Team Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 January 2018
fun and safe environment, where you can learn. cooperative coworkers willing to help. Very flexible schedule for students. Good organizations and high opportunities to grow.
Pros
Flexible with students
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON, Richmond hill on , New-market ON8 January 2018
i have worked for this company for almost 8 years now, i have yet to find someone i disliked working with. everyone is great part- time , Full-time , Management and above are all wonderful.

they are always helping you grow as a person and in the company and are very flexible with hours and help balance your school life and personal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers corporation doesn't have a clue
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON2 January 2018
The people who work really hard are rewarded with more work and get paid the same amount as the people who slack. There is no incentive to work hard seeing as how most people aren't looking to move up because once again the incentive to move up is not appealing whatsoever.
Pros
Good employee discount program and great co-workers
Cons
Lack of incentive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Times have Changed
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 November 2017
FGL used to be a great place to work, times have changed and so has the company.

Great place to work as a stepping stone to learn many things that will help you progress in the future.
Pros
great discount, very laid back enviroment
Cons
poor management, short breaks, no room for progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Returns and Warranty (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 October 2017
Typical day is steady and productive- results oriented
Organization is key
Great team of managers
Pretty much a loner but the culture is varied
Hardest part of the job is timing!
Best part is having a great manager and getting quick results for tasks
Pros
Great job, great manager
Cons
workplace politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Retail
Sport Chek, Clothing Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON20 September 2017
At the end of the day, FGL sports and SportChek are no different than any other retail experience. The managers are okay, however its retail and so the pay is poor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON9 September 2017
Great work environment, fast-paced, overall positive culture. Management is supportive. Learning various processes in logistics and supply chain. Team dynamic.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work place
End User Services Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 August 2017
management seems to like to keep staff on edge.
Company is owned by Canadian Tire and there is no concern for the culture or working environment there,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace enviroment!
Costumer Service (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 August 2017
There is always something to be done at work. One is always kept busy with costumers, clothing, and tasks. Management is key to having a great workplace environment and that is what FGL has.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to start your career
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2017
FGL Sports is a great company. They offer equal opportunity and there is room for advancement.

It is a good company for young people who are starting a career. It is a faced paced environment but management is very easy going, cooperative and understanding.

Enjoyable working environment and the people are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies I've ever worked for in my life
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 June 2017
I am still employed at this company and I have a second job. The work atmosphere at FGL is heaven compared to any other place I've worked at here in Canada, including my current second job. I love going to work everyday. Managers, Supervisors and Team members are respectful and friendly. The work is not too hard and the compensation is good.
Pros
A very diverse and respectful workforce. A great place to work permanently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Ecommerce Team Member (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 June 2017
FGL Sports is an amazing workplace with opportunities to grow within the company. I enjoy working there and find the people I work with to be extremely kind.
Pros
Great teamwork
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No breaks when you work 5 hrs and management is rude
Footwear Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 May 2017
The new managers only schedule the people they know and ignore the ones they don't know, resulting in a large drop in hours for many existing employees. This is very hard as many people who work for FGL are students.
Pros
Discount Card
Cons
No break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, high place, high stress
Change Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 May 2017
Good company to work for, amazing benefits and good work culture. High paced and constantly changed work environment require you to always be on your toes and ready to react at a moments notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with others.
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 May 2017
Always the same thing day in and day out. Managed very well also an enjoyable place to work hard and see nice people everyday. Best part about working at FGL meeting some amazing people and the hardest part was keeping up with the work sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement, poor wages, IT is treated like a money hole.
IT (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 April 2017
This job at the very least tided me over through the worst of the recession but that's about where the good part of my review ends.

IT leadership is terrible/non-existant on a good day. Its so bad that if the business asks for something IT just does it, regardless of the cost or already having solutions to fill those needs. they say jump, IT says how high, all cause some VP somewhere wants some report done in some specific application instead of using the existing crystal reports or BI.

The entire system is so fragmented. There's like 9 or 10 different monitoring frameworks in use... again, because IT is incapable of telling the business to use the already existing tools.

There is NO redundancy, period. One HVAC failure will bring down the datacenter (and did, multiple times) But the business is unwilling to pay to have things done right, and unwilling to give IT any power to tell them how things should be done.

If you're in any kind of support role you will be called out, literally every night cause everything is a P2, cause the business said so.

Job advancement is next to non-existent.

Wages are super low unless you're a manager.

I haven't been able to take a vacation in 2 years.

Don't do it.
Pros
Cafeteria, if you're not relegated to the other building (like IT)
Cons
Everything else. It's every IT horror story rolled into one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FGL Sports Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 89 reviews
529
435
314
26
15

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture