FGL Sports Ltd. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work short term
Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 July 2018
Little room for advancement even with being part of Canadian Tire Corp. Rarely are employees promoted from within to a succession role. Compensation is not competitive for the local standard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Culture
eCommerce Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 June 2018
The corporate culture is non-existent and people are under paid for the work they do. Was excited to work there in the beginning but now after 3 years, it's time for something else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong experience in store really depends on team and management commitment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Bolton, ON2 May 2018
Overall, a good experience that ended poorly due to lack of clear leadership and direction. It is retail so there are issues like payroll cuts and lack of staff, part timers that don't really care, tight deadlines for regroups and other directives.

Not much room for time off during the holiday season and summer time due to back to school traffic. Small volume stores are skeletal at best and customer service suffers. Always being pressured to push the rewards card and credit card of our parent company instead of making strong connections through sport and activity.

It used to be a great company you could go through the tough times with, now not so much. Many managers get where they are because of activites involving head office managers and alot of apple polishing and favouritism. Many people with experience and enthusiasm aren't developed the right way. Company doesn't do enough to recognize the workload and jobs we do and in turn compensate and treat us the right way.
Pros
Good employee discount, semi flexible schedule, chance to travel for pro camps, some free product and samples, get to be on your feet all day
Cons
Lack of summer time off due to back to school, takes a long time to advance to store management, old boys club culture and favouritism in alot of districts, poor overall pay for hours managers work, drastic change in company after corporate takeover
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Chek were great to work for
Electronic Commerce Advisor (Former Employee) –  Stratford, Ontario22 April 2018
Very good atmosphere throughout the store I worked in, staff and managers were all amazing and easy to talk to. Overall I had a fun experience working with the online orders and getting to know customers in the store. Great in store discounts as well!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun place
Sport Chek (Current Employee) –  Leduc County, AB30 March 2018
Really fun to work at, get paid and over minimum wage, friendly people and easy position at cash. You get a good discount as well and I never feel out of place
Pros
regular shifts, snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-Life Balance
Senior EDI Integration Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 March 2018
FGL is committed to being a well-balanced and high performing workplace. Work-life balance to me is very important . As a Sporting goods company, health plays a big factor. They offer Yoga classes, a Fitness class, great discounts on sports equipment, sportswear and sporting events. The Management and Staff are very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 February 2018
Terrible culture, too much favouritism and no opportunity to move up if you desire to move up in the company it wont happen. You will only move up if you are best friends with management and if they ask you. Any initiative prior to them speaking with you, will be discouraged. Good place to work as a side job but not career wise. Also too much in-work dating and harassment that doesn't get "handled" properly. They just move people around instead of firing or disciplining them if another manager is friends with the manager involved in misconduct. When the labour laws changed they decided to give 4.75 hour shifts instead of scheduling for 5.5 hours to pay people for the full five hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Part-Time Detail Processor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 February 2018
Fun, safe, and excellent Supervisors and co-workers. Always flexible with my hours because they are aware that I am a College Student. Gives me enough of a heads up if work will be slow and I really respect that about them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and safe environment
Seasonal Team Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 January 2018
fun and safe environment, where you can learn. cooperative coworkers willing to help. Very flexible schedule for students. Good organizations and high opportunities to grow.
Pros
Flexible with students
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON, Richmond hill on , New-market ON8 January 2018
i have worked for this company for almost 8 years now, i have yet to find someone i disliked working with. everyone is great part- time , Full-time , Management and above are all wonderful.

they are always helping you grow as a person and in the company and are very flexible with hours and help balance your school life and personal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers corporation doesn't have a clue
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON2 January 2018
The people who work really hard are rewarded with more work and get paid the same amount as the people who slack. There is no incentive to work hard seeing as how most people aren't looking to move up because once again the incentive to move up is not appealing whatsoever.
Pros
Good employee discount program and great co-workers
Cons
Lack of incentive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Times have Changed
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 November 2017
FGL used to be a great place to work, times have changed and so has the company.

Great place to work as a stepping stone to learn many things that will help you progress in the future.
Pros
great discount, very laid back enviroment
Cons
poor management, short breaks, no room for progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Returns and Warranty (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 October 2017
Typical day is steady and productive- results oriented
Organization is key
Great team of managers
Pretty much a loner but the culture is varied
Hardest part of the job is timing!
Best part is having a great manager and getting quick results for tasks
Pros
Great job, great manager
Cons
workplace politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Retail
Sport Chek, Clothing Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON20 September 2017
At the end of the day, FGL sports and SportChek are no different than any other retail experience. The managers are okay, however its retail and so the pay is poor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON9 September 2017
Great work environment, fast-paced, overall positive culture. Management is supportive. Learning various processes in logistics and supply chain. Team dynamic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work place
End User Services Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 August 2017
management seems to like to keep staff on edge.
Company is owned by Canadian Tire and there is no concern for the culture or working environment there,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace enviroment!
Costumer Service (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC2 August 2017
There is always something to be done at work. One is always kept busy with costumers, clothing, and tasks. Management is key to having a great workplace environment and that is what FGL has.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to start your career
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2017
FGL Sports is a great company. They offer equal opportunity and there is room for advancement.

It is a good company for young people who are starting a career. It is a faced paced environment but management is very easy going, cooperative and understanding.

Enjoyable working environment and the people are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies I've ever worked for in my life
Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 June 2017
I am still employed at this company and I have a second job. The work atmosphere at FGL is heaven compared to any other place I've worked at here in Canada, including my current second job. I love going to work everyday. Managers, Supervisors and Team members are respectful and friendly. The work is not too hard and the compensation is good.
Pros
A very diverse and respectful workforce. A great place to work permanently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Ecommerce Team Member (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 June 2017
FGL Sports is an amazing workplace with opportunities to grow within the company. I enjoy working there and find the people I work with to be extremely kind.
Pros
Great teamwork
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FGL Sports Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 94 reviews
529
436
315
28
16

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture