FGL Sports Ltd. Employee Reviews

Found 98 reviews matching the search See all 104 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with.
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 November 2018
I have been working with this company for the past 5 years. Definitely the best job I've had so far. The people are great to work with, the management is good and the overall work environment is by far the best I've worked in.
Pros
Well paid job.
Cons
Not enough hours at the moment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Description
Clothing Associate (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON12 November 2018
Maintaining Clothing standards and assisting all customers that come to the store with finding what they are looking for. Providing excellent customer service is exactly what I provided to each and every customer that walked in the door.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and friendly work environment with benefits
Reach Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  SE calgary Industrial17 October 2018
very good company to work with, with freindly environment and excellent benefits program incorporated with lots of team activities and cultural programs, social group activities and lots more..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ce que j'ai appris
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC18 September 2018
J'ai appris chez FGL les aspects du Retail de l'achat jusqu'à la vente du produit. J'ai aussi appris a travailler dans un réseau franchisé
Pros
Grande autonomie
Cons
Avancement très difficile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Change in ownership
Executive Assistant/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2018
Great place to work, great culture, great people. Change from the top down and a re-shift led to changes in employment. Overall a wonderful company and a fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great, now not so much.
Various Positions (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 September 2018
You'll hear the word 'culture' thrown around quite a bit but it's rare to see it in action. Everything that made the office unique has been disappearing, which is unfortunate as this was how they always justified the low starting salaries.

Expect 1-2% raises a year (if anything at all) even if your department or the company has a stellar year.

Almost everyone who made the company what it is today has been let go over the last few years and replaced with Canadian Tire transplants. Even though FGL is a CTC subsidiary expect drastically lower pay compared to what your peers at the CTC office make for the same role.
Pros
Good people, discount
Cons
low starting pay, small increases
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tottal lies and deceptions
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 September 2018
wow what a dishonest company no growth no potential to move up I was with the company for 5 years on a promise if I did coaching and team lead work down the road I would get it last day of employment went to the office and got a severance package with out cause they have a standard there and mission goals but none are true its not what u know or bring to the table but who u know and who u blow for advancement
Pros
no pros
Cons
the list goes on and on
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, great salary.
E-Comm Team Member (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 September 2018
Depending on which department you work at, your experience at FGL will differ. Warehouse jobs can be fun here or very repetitive. Administrative jobs are easy, labour jobs are tough.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Warehouse atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
team member (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 September 2018
A typical work day at FGL is very hands on and very straight forwards. Everyday we are given a task that is something new or something we haven't completed from the day before. Ive learnt to manage time and have really good communication skills with the time working at this company. The most enjoyable part of this job is the people who we work with and the help and honestness that comes with it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good sporting company with good culture
Retail Audit Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 July 2018
I have been with FGL sports which is the number one sporting company for 3 years, FGL is has its really casual working environment with really good company culture, and its still growing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work short term
Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 July 2018
Little room for advancement even with being part of Canadian Tire Corp. Rarely are employees promoted from within to a succession role. Compensation is not competitive for the local standard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Culture
eCommerce Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 June 2018
The corporate culture is non-existent and people are under paid for the work they do. Was excited to work there in the beginning but now after 3 years, it's time for something else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong experience in store really depends on team and management commitment
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Bolton, ON2 May 2018
Overall, a good experience that ended poorly due to lack of clear leadership and direction. It is retail so there are issues like payroll cuts and lack of staff, part timers that don't really care, tight deadlines for regroups and other directives.

Not much room for time off during the holiday season and summer time due to back to school traffic. Small volume stores are skeletal at best and customer service suffers. Always being pressured to push the rewards card and credit card of our parent company instead of making strong connections through sport and activity.

It used to be a great company you could go through the tough times with, now not so much. Many managers get where they are because of activites involving head office managers and alot of apple polishing and favouritism. Many people with experience and enthusiasm aren't developed the right way. Company doesn't do enough to recognize the workload and jobs we do and in turn compensate and treat us the right way.
Pros
Good employee discount, semi flexible schedule, chance to travel for pro camps, some free product and samples, get to be on your feet all day
Cons
Lack of summer time off due to back to school, takes a long time to advance to store management, old boys club culture and favouritism in alot of districts, poor overall pay for hours managers work, drastic change in company after corporate takeover
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Chek were great to work for
Electronic Commerce Advisor (Former Employee) –  Stratford, Ontario22 April 2018
Very good atmosphere throughout the store I worked in, staff and managers were all amazing and easy to talk to. Overall I had a fun experience working with the online orders and getting to know customers in the store. Great in store discounts as well!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun place
Sport Chek (Current Employee) –  Leduc County, AB30 March 2018
Really fun to work at, get paid and over minimum wage, friendly people and easy position at cash. You get a good discount as well and I never feel out of place
Pros
regular shifts, snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-Life Balance
Senior EDI Integration Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 March 2018
FGL is committed to being a well-balanced and high performing workplace. Work-life balance to me is very important . As a Sporting goods company, health plays a big factor. They offer Yoga classes, a Fitness class, great discounts on sports equipment, sportswear and sporting events. The Management and Staff are very supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 February 2018
Terrible culture, too much favouritism and no opportunity to move up if you desire to move up in the company it wont happen. You will only move up if you are best friends with management and if they ask you. Any initiative prior to them speaking with you, will be discouraged. Good place to work as a side job but not career wise. Also too much in-work dating and harassment that doesn't get "handled" properly. They just move people around instead of firing or disciplining them if another manager is friends with the manager involved in misconduct. When the labour laws changed they decided to give 4.75 hour shifts instead of scheduling for 5.5 hours to pay people for the full five hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Part-Time Detail Processor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 February 2018
Fun, safe, and excellent Supervisors and co-workers. Always flexible with my hours because they are aware that I am a College Student. Gives me enough of a heads up if work will be slow and I really respect that about them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and safe environment
Seasonal Team Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 January 2018
fun and safe environment, where you can learn. cooperative coworkers willing to help. Very flexible schedule for students. Good organizations and high opportunities to grow.
Pros
Flexible with students
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON, Richmond hill on , New-market ON8 January 2018
i have worked for this company for almost 8 years now, i have yet to find someone i disliked working with. everyone is great part- time , Full-time , Management and above are all wonderful.

they are always helping you grow as a person and in the company and are very flexible with hours and help balance your school life and personal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FGL Sports Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 104 reviews
533
438
318
28
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture