Farrow Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away!
Rater (Current Employee) –  Ayr, ON5 October 2018
This company and especially the KW office is a nightmare. The office is filled with emotional vampires, favouritism, bulling and lack of management. There have been several complaints of harassment and bulling. Nothing has been done by management or HR. If you are a hard worker you will be punished and over worked while others are free to do nothing. Management is terrible. They are disorganised, lack leadership skills and simply don't care.

The company itself if crumbling. The owners only care about how much money they are making. They are constantly showing off there expensive cars and boats. One of the owners actually built an expensive garage on company property.

This company and any jobs they post should be avoided.
Pros
Benefits (Are not that great thou)
Cons
Low pay, harassment, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 stars
Team Leader Customs Brokerage (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON5 July 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing place to work.
Customs Across Release Agent I (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON31 July 2018
LOW SALARY. No opportunity to be hired for daily shift unless you are close to some of directories.
Favoritism and nepotism every where.
If you are not convenient for them, they will throw you out as a garbage.
Most of new employees just wait to get some basic experience and walk out the door. Majority of people are 50+
Cons
LOW SALARY; Favoritism and nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ex employee
Customs Broker (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON22 March 2018
Lowest paying customs broker. NO Job security. Not a friendly working environment. Management is very wishy washy. Not a lot of young people. Only old seasoned employees who are stuck in the dark ages. Not a fun comfortable place to work.....oh and the benefits are garbage. Vision care is not included go figure and you are on a computer 8hours a day.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security, useless drama & terrible pay
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON12 February 2018
The place is great if you need job security, however the pay is terrible, and you get worked like a horse. Drama is constant, you could be quiet and mind your business and people will still try to get you involved in drama.
Pros
Job Security, Benefits
Cons
Drama, terrible pay, loads of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy environment but low pay
Customs Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON8 December 2018
Its a great place to work at but the pay is very low, which is why the turnover rate is high. They respect employees family life and if a day is requested in advance. They will most likely give you the day off.
Pros
easy going environment
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was there briefly
Release Clerk (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON12 July 2018
It was a good experience. Friendly staff whom are all willing to help and show you the ropes. Drivers are usually very patient but they have there bad days too.
Pros
Allows and promotes employees to get brokerage license
Cons
Pushes to hard for employees to get their brokerage license.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Lead Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC22 January 2018
i was the first one to get haired because of the hard work i put in workin 8-13 hours a day 7 days a week for 6 months, and then i start leading the team for night shift it was very good experience to better worker and leader ship .
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customs rater
Customs rater (Former Employee) –  toronto and Edmonton23 February 2016
a lof of fun for this company, also, You can learn a lot of stuff from this company.

I was working Edmonton and Toronto branch, both of them are nice place to work.

generally speaking, salary is low but when I was working I was allowed to work in over time, the pay is 1.5 times.

not many companies offer over time.
Pros
everyhting except salary
Cons
salary is low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst run place since new management came in
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 December 2016
I wouldn't work for them again they are all business they fire good working employees for no reason, very poorly run the old management was good the new one is gonna destroy the Mississauga warehouse
Cons
Management job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 59No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard job to maintain
Customs Broker for Sobeys Produce (Former Employee) –  Windsor ON14 November 2012
Very demanding job. Had to work midnight shifts alone in the building while truck drivers would constantly come to the door needing paperwork and certificates. The shifts were two back to back 12 hour midnight shifts on Saturday and Sunday which is not the best for a teenager who often parties. I was able to work there for a year before I was laid off.
Pros
working alone
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place of employment.
Import Clerk (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 September 2012
I learned a lot about the business of brokerage. There were tight deadlines and everything had to be processed within certain time frames. The management and my co-workers were all excellent to work with and were and were very good with teaching me the business. I really did enjoy the working under pressure as I work best that way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place is production with a gym for exercise
EDI Specialist (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON14 July 2017
Responsible for implementation of EDI documents between Clients, vendors, and Farrow. Programming languages include RPGIV, Java, and CL. Projects are conducted in teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to begin your career but no further opportunities
Junior Rater/ Quality Control (Current Employee) –  Kitchener / waterloo18 October 2015
This was a great place for me to set my feet in the customs brokerage field, I progressed so fast that they could not provide me any further advancements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place to work
Data Entry Clerk, Release Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ayr, ON27 February 2016
-No Diversity
-Pay starts at 12.50 to 14.25 depending on how much they like you.
-Over worked and under paid
-Even supervisor has no clue what she is doing
-The Manager there has no customer service skills
- The current GM has no customs or logistics background
-The company just lost 3 % in business
-The data entry position will soon removed now that optical scanning system have been implemented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 107No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Junior Rater Broker (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON15 March 2017
Great place to work.
Great opportunities
Great work culture
Great co-workers and managers
Work out room available to the people that want to keep in shape.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get foot in the door if this is your career path
Across Release Agent / Junior Rater (Current Employee) –  Ayr, ON4 November 2013
Wonderful place for advancement and ongoing learning. Great atmosphere. Onsite Gym.
Cons
Pay is very low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 80Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Billing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 November 2012
I had never worked retail before but I found out what it was all about and found that I did not mind it too much. My Supervisor was the best boss I have ever had. My co-workers were the best bunch of people I have ever met. Nothing hard about the job - it was a very busy position and I enjoyed it tremendously.
Pros
very enjoyable atmosphere
Cons
did not enjoy working evenings and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I already did this one
DMS Specialist (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON8 March 2016
It is a couple pages before. Nice place to work! People are very friendly there! I like typing and I wanted this to be my career
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for this firm before they were bought out by Russell A Farrow.
Controller (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta30 December 2012
I was with the original owner for almost 20 years. I was given wonderful opportunities to grow. Once Russell A Farrow bought out the company the accounting operations were moved to Ontario.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Farrow. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 35 reviews
59
47
35
24
110

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture