Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews in Ottawa, ON

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 1,599 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun friendly place to work
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 January 2019
Fast pace and is a great place to meet people
very clean environment and safe place to work
alot of famous people stays there
if you like history this is a place for you to discover
lots place to visit surrounding the hotel area
Pros
buffet lunch
Cons
expensive parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Housekeeping Room Checker (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 November 2018
This place is open for all diversity to have a chance to work in a good professional manner in this field.
The complexity of your tasks that you deserve to the customer should be done with the most higher standard that luxury is in your mind and the hotel also.
If you like luxury, this is the best place for you. I enjoyed my job
Pros
Great staff as co-worker
Cons
work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Historic place, prestige, wrong management
Restaurant Server (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 October 2018
F&B managers and director (most are young, inexperienced) are simply not on par with what's needed to set the restaurants for success. Still a good place if you like to come in, do your work, and leave without wanting more satisfaction other than your pay. If you are creative, ambitious, and want to push yourself and your career...this place is a dream killer. Because there is no presence/support from managers, the culture is toxic.
Pros
Pay, Benefits
Cons
Stress, no support, boring, toxic
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Guest Services Agent (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 September 2018
very poorly managed without any appreciation to the employees. very high turn over rate. Excellent brand name on your cv but that's about it. not recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, But takes over your life
Royal Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 December 2017
fun place to work, but the schedules are only released weekly and one must sacrifice a lot to work there without getting fired. Otherwise great pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learned
Income and Revenue Auditor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 August 2017
a typical work day begins with the checking of emails and collecting all paper work from other departments before sitting down to begin the day.
as the revenue and income auditor i learnt the value of a team that can work together. my team was like a second family to me.
Pros
Staff Cafe with discounted lunched and wide variety
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well, but has a lot of problems and issues
Buss Person (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 July 2017
Very strong family feel amongst colleagues, working hard and likely long hours. Learned so much about customer service and ethics in fine dining restaurants. Management is where the problem stems: small, overrun and underappreciated team with a remarkable lack of support from the executives.
Pros
Pays very well
Cons
Huge lack in staffing and equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great emploters with excellent benefits, but a little messy in managing
In-Room Dining Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 June 2017
Food and Beverage department has a sink or swim management tactic and can be stressful at the start, but once you get the hang of your job, it can be enjoyable, but very robotic.
Pros
Great salary
Cons
Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing employee culture
Human Resource Intern (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON24 February 2017
I was extremely pleasantly surprised with the employee culture and how positive it was. I was very lucky to be part of the team behind the promotion of employee morale and development.
I really enjoyed my time as an intern at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier. The team was very small and though I was unable to be hired on due to the lack of positions available, I learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, fun coworkers
Banquet Server (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 May 2016
Great place to work. Gave me the opportunity to further increase my hospitality knowledge. The Château Laurier gives me the opportunity to work as a part of a team to deliver a high standard of service to our guests.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Don't get to connect with guests as much
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 January 2016
Long hours, random schedule, low level management is generally unhelpful in larger issues, HR is excellent, sometimes no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company
Kitchen Steward (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 March 2015
Fairmont is a great company to work for. I have washed dishes for them in Ottawa and worked as a bellboy in Banff. Nothing bad to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intership for Concierge
Fairmont Gold Concierge Intership (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 February 2013
Was exposed to all facits of the hotel, front and back house exposure part of shcool training to obtain Diploma. Was trained on Fairmont Gold in personalising guest check-in and check-out as a private concierge. Set-up lounge for Continental Beeakfast and Hors d'oueuvres in the evening. Respond to guest (s) request from restaurant reservations to limousine services or organising mini conference for employees for guest (s).
Pros
rewarding hands-on experience torwards concierge career
Cons
no employment afterward
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience!
Server and Bartender (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 September 2012
This experience has fine tuned an excellent work ethic. It can be challenging and very rewarding!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with excellent people
Building Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 August 2012
readings all equipment
check all request from rooms.
work in team work with others
most enjoy the food on lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport

See more Fairmont Hotels & Resorts reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,599 reviews
5831
4485
3177
249
157

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture