Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues are like family, management are the out of town family you never want around
In Room Dining Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jasper, AB31 March 2018
The people you work with are your family, day in and day out, have to rely on them 100%
Management (upper, lower, food and non-food) isn't great here, not reliable or trustworthy
Not enough staffing or product to make it through a busy weekend, without stealing from the other departments, and your managers will encourage it instead of asking upper levels to come up with a full time solution
You learn to rely on yourself, and those who prove themselves, and not the ones who don't call in sick and never get penalized for it
Long time staff keep leaving, no one really wants to work here, but it's cheap rent and easy money - if that's what you want
Pros
Cheap Rent, Easy Money
Cons
Bad Management, Low Quality
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beautiful location
Boathouse Attendant (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB28 March 2018
beautiful location with millions of visitors in the summer. fast paced everyday but the community of workers is close knit which is a plus. potential for advancement is high
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customers great people outstanding hospitality experiences
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2018
Fairmont gives you the opportunity to provide above industry average service and offers guests some hotel experiences that are unmatched in hospitality. Management are dedicated to staying ahead of industry trends and allow staff access to training in these trends.
Pros
Complimentary staff cafeterias and greatly reduced hotel stays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beautiful place to work
Lead Server (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB23 March 2018
great opportunity to work in the mountains. good work life balance. great skiing, good money, some benefits, good management, great for students in-between study.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome
Chateau Deli Attendant (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB19 March 2018
It was a community and was amazing to work here. Customers were happy to be here for the most part because of how beautiful the location was. Management was amazing as well.
Pros
Amazing People
Cons
Icsolated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treat Staff Amazingly Well
Spa Therapist (Former Employee) –  Fairmont Hot Springs, BC5 March 2018
Great work environment & co-workers, beautiful building and amenities!!

I really learned alot and developed great spa therapist skills!!

Team work counts and the resort management did alot to build a strong team spirit!! Their training opportunities for employees is really too!!

Hardest part, needing an onsite manager. The most enjoyable part was enhancing & enjoying my skills!!
Pros
great food, staff pass to resort amenities
Cons
conflict in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have been working with Fairmont Hotels and resort for 10 years
Food and Beverage Server (Current Employee) –  Jasper, AB4 March 2018
I enjoy working with Fairmont Hotels and resort. Got the change to network and met many people across the world, and had some great co- workers and staff. It was more like a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location & Company
Sous Chef (Current Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB3 March 2018
Great place to work if you like to work long hours and would like to work to gain advancement within the company. Chateau Lake Louise is a unique property that will help you learn lots about yourself as a person and as a hospitality professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Building Engineer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 February 2018
Management and co worker are real friendly. Fairmont will become your second family. Your lunch is prepared for you by the chefs upstairs from the restaurant. Thats always a bonus.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Director, Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2018
Leadership and colleagues are wonderful to work with! Very friendly and genuine service that speaks directly to the guest on an individual and personal basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Outlet Server - Lakeview Lounge (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB5 February 2018
On site accommodations with easy access to work within short distance. A lot of room for growth and knowledge among products. High stress work environment and the living accommodations can be stressful as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Fairmount experience
House person and have some front desk experience (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 February 2018
I was working in the housekeeping department as a house person.Then also did some cross training for the front desk on my spare time. I worked in housekeeping for a year and 2 months and wanted to grow but not very many spots were open for me to move around so i figured it wouldn't be a bad idea to venture out and try something different. I love working in hospitality helping guests turning moments into memories and being a leader in the department i work in and apply 100 percent to the job i work in.
Pros
Great work experience and strong team building skills
Cons
Not able to grow as fast as i wanted
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and professional workplace
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Jasper, AB2 February 2018
- enjoyed the management and made workers constantly feel like they were working in a team
- most of the day i was alone when cleaning rooms and i did not enjoy a full 8 hours alone in different rooms
Pros
felt like i could really depend on my team when i needed help
Cons
a lot of strenuous physical demands
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good over all
someone (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 February 2018
Its a great company to work. the benefits and culture are leading in industry with a lot of programs in place that work and are environmentally friendly and align with corporate and Canadian guidelines.
Pros
good salaries
Cons
F&B overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Guest Service Agent/Assistant Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 January 2018
The best team ever. A supportive and fun group of hard-working individuals, creatively and diligently making each day better for both guests and coworkers. I loved working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment to work in and amazing staff and mentors.
Sales and customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB30 January 2018
I would recommend anyone to work for this wonderful company.
The work environment is peaceful and everyone is always smiling!
I really enjoyed all of the fun events and enthusiastic co workers and always felt that I was appreciated and I felt we were fully prepared to take on this job from the very accomplished training!
I have taken a lot of positive and professional manners and gained a lot of knowledge from working with Fairmont !!
Pros
Fantastic co Workers & Mentors
Cons
Difficult phone calls
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and compensation
Guest Attendant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 January 2018
A prestigious company that gives good compensation and good benefits. But management should make some adjustments with regards with their company rules and regulations most particularly in the housekeeping department.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Too much workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on Location
Stewarding (Former Employee) –  Alberta23 January 2018
Overall, very good.

You will likely be in a spectacular location and should take advantage of that if you can. If you are somebody who can adopt a company ethos and perform consistently then you will do very well.

Good employers to me. Though I can can only comment on one branch.
Pros
Travel opportunity, Great brand
Cons
Shift work, seasonal/feast or famine
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Hostess/Food Runner (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB19 January 2018
Working for the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise was a wonderful experience if anyone is interested in the hospitality services (FOH and/or BOH.) However, with its remote location it should be noted that work and play go hand and hand here and winters can be rough for staff that do not partake in winter activities. Although a gorgeous scenery, Lake Louise can be quite difficult to adjust to especially with on-site housings lack of privacy if you are starting at a colleague position. Also do remember how small the community is. But all in all, this hotel is a great place to meet wonderful people who have the adventure-bug in them whether staff or guests, and venture Banff while you can!
Pros
Free lunches, great benefits, beautiful location
Cons
Long hours, poor management, remote location, on-site housing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job
Cook assistant (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC17 January 2018
It is a great job during cruise ships season but you need seniority to be able to get hours, if you are at the bottom of the seniority you won't have hours during January to April and they expect you to apply for EI.
Pros
good money
Cons
no hours during slow season
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 517 reviews
5270
4152
368
211
116

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture