FACTORY DIRECT Employee Reviews

Found 61 reviews matching the search See all 77 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some nice employees, but a horrible company
Cashier/Customer Service and Floor Service (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON23 February 2019
I was paid properly, and things with my fellow employees were great. However, as hard as I worked, I was still let go because "things weren't working out". The regional manager even loved me as a worker, yet I was still let go. The environment was always dirty and disorganized, the customers were always rude/trying to get away with things they know they're not allowed to do. All in all, it was a very sketchy place, and I would not recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you're looking for experience
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON30 December 2018
Depends at which Factory Direct location you work but management expects you to be an all-around employee (cashier/sales associate/customer service) which sucks because you're only getting minimum wage. Typical day includes helping out customers and cashing them out, keeping shelves neat and tidy, restocking products, picking out items for the online orders from Factory Direct website, putting up prices and changing the sale prices, and putting out products on the sales floor from shipment which comes twice a week. You get 25% commission for warranty sales but warranty only costs 10% of the price of a product so you basically get nothing. It's necessary for you to know about electronics since that's what most of the store's products are. Their electronics and appliances are refurbished so most don't last long/actually work. The hardest part of the job is that customers always keep coming back demanding a refund and yell or insult the employees because of the terrible products. Management does nothing about it either but most of the other sales associates will have your back. Hours are guaranteed if you're close with the manager. Workplace culture is very typical of retail where everyone snipes at each other. Salespeople only get 10% discount.
Pros
Learning about tech stuff
Cons
Bad pay, terrible customers, terrible refund policy for a retail store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Your Research Before Applying...
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 December 2018
Make sure that you take some time and really go through the kinds of products that this store sells. Selling to customers can be a bit on the harder side because a good portion of the products are refurbished and can have a rough outer shell.

The management doesn't have you back when it comes to terrible customers being extremely rude because they cannot have what they want. Nor do the managers really have any power themselves which is not something that makes a store productive in nature when the managers themselves constantly have to ask the head office what they can and can't do with a return.

When it comes to working here the customer isn't always right. Instead of just helping the customer to be happier with another product employees are expected to inspect the item and make sure that it truly doesn't work. This makes the employee and the customer embarrassed. The return policy is one that is unlike any other in the retail industry. A similar store called "treasure hunt" which is a store similar to this one in the respect of selling open boxed and refurbished items OFFERS REFUNDS within a select number of days. The only thing that you can do when a customer is angry is to direct them to a manager while they take their frustrations out on you because they are upset with a bad product and they CAN'T get their money back because the return policy doesn't allow for it.

The stress of the customers coupled with the stress of having to work multiple jobs at once while still being expected to serve the customers while at the same time. If you are only looking to work
  more... here part-time or to gain experience on the harsh realities and learning curves of the refurbished section of retail this is a great place to gain that level of punishment and learning experience.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excited and always changing workplace.
Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON5 December 2018
My time at Factory direct would always bring in new things to learn, new tasks to complete and was always exciting. You would never know what your day would bring until you came in.

The staff would always aim to bring the most up to date information and the most relevant information. The staff would work hard to bring the best service possible.
Pros
Fast paced, always stuff to do, Commission based pay.
Cons
Hours were inconsistant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on which store your work at
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 October 2018
This place pay really bad, but if you work at a fun location it makes it worth the while, the commission is good too only if your store is busy, otherwise its really nothing. Management is horrible, policy is bad so the customers are always mad.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No thank you
CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER & ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 October 2018
Just bad everything from training, coaching, management, scheduling, no perks, to min. wage for life. The list goes on and on. I do believe the company holds a neat idea and bu they need to grow with how they manage and run a company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 September 2018
● Worked in the technology department where I assisted customers in finding the right product
● Rang customers through the cashier
● Unloaded shipments and restocked shelves
Pros
Was fast paced
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head office sucks
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 August 2018
The overseeing management is terrible. In store managers are usually quite decent.

Working within this store was fun, and I loved all my coworkers.

Head office let me go for "No reason", when they believed I was a thief, but had no evidence whatsoever to demonstrate this.This was later confirmed by a former manager, with whom I remain friends, who was also let go by this company. For the record, I never stole a thing, and in fact our bags and coats were searched every time anyone left the store. I would not have been able to steal anything.

The head office of this company simply doesn't care about their employees. They see every one as expendable, and couldn't care less about morale of their workforce.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work here
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 July 2018
Very disorganized in all aspects of the company, not a great place to work or shop. Head office and management arent on the same page about decisions.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company to work for
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 June 2018
Very ad-hoc operations. no coordination between any employees in any area. managers hold grudges against employees and then don't give ours, to take revenge. and when asked about, managers hide behind the shell of limitations
Pros
N/a
Cons
many to be written down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard retail job with plenty of responsibility.
Salesman (Current Employee) –  London, ON28 April 2018
I've worked here for five years and for the amount of work they expect from the employees you'd figure you'd be paid more than minimum wage. The hours are pretty flexible, so long as you give enough advanced notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Assistant manager, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ON6 April 2018
I loved working here it was a great work experience I learned a lot from working there i learned lots of assistant manager duties. Learned about a lot of electronics
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone
Cashier (Current Employee) –  London, ON31 January 2018
Must have:
Basic knowledge working with money
Adequate understanding of electronics

Learned:
How to process returns and exchanges
How to properly organize merchandise

Great staff members
Flexible hours (afternoon)
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Short staffed on rare occasion
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON27 January 2018
Typical liquidation retail environment.
The regular customer can be rude but for the most part know waht to expect from a the store.
Return Policy can cause problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON31 October 2017
We sold refurbished items and computer items to people. There was not always the same item in stock. The products were always changing. That is what kept customers coming back into see what was new.
Pros
the new products
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Now its a good place to work
Cashier/Sales (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON14 September 2017
Before it was a bad place to work but under the new Managers its awesome Just keep your head down do you job and dont get drug in
to the gossip .... Rember the customer is always right
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Apply To This Place. Run
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON14 June 2017
This place is a joke. Management don't respect the employees that work for them. If you have any suggestions to add in regards to the store, management won't listen. There's no growth or advancement with this company. You don't get enough hours and when you try to request more hours, you automatically get shut down with a bunch of excuses about everyone is only allowed a certain amount of hours meanwhile new people are being hired.
Pros
You get paid
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain experience in sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON18 May 2017
When i worked at factory direct i was a sales associate and a stocker i have improved my skills in both of those skill sets and hope to improve more skills in more job opportunitys.
Pros
Good lunch breaks good employees
Cons
To much talkign amd not enough working from most employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON6 May 2017
Too much drama between the staff other than that it was an alright place to work, pay wasn't good, but two managers were very welcoming as well as other staff members
Pros
Sometimes a free lunch understanding to when time off was needed
Cons
1/2 lunch no one to cover breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON10 March 2017
Met a lot of new people, sold all different kinds of product. The hours were good pay could have been a little higher and the benefits could have been better
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FACTORY DIRECT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 77 reviews
510
411
329
216
111

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.0Salary/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.7Culture