Fabricville Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Showing all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job for Creative, Designers, student and Crafters
Drapery sales associate (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC10 October 2018
Fabricville is a complex company with many areas of interest. It is a good place for students, designers, crafters, seamstresses, to share their experiences, learn from others and be the first to learn about new products. Fabricville works hard to keep their staff up-to-date with the latest trends and products.
The work involves keeping the store stocked, in order, helping Managers with their time sensitive request, researching products in other stores when needed. One requirement is a comfortable pair of shoes.
Pros
employee discount on fabric
Cons
standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB7 August 2018
Cutting fabric, giving tips to customers projects, providing proper discounts to products are some of the things that are included day to day. Staff is incredibly friendly and incouraging
Pros
Staff coupons
Cons
store hours can be too short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail
Conseiller aux ventes (Current Employee) –  Laval, QC7 February 2018
Ce n'est pas toujours simple de travailler dans un environnement ou le stress est constamment présent autant pour le manque de personnel que pour les clients parfois exigeants.

Selon moi y travailler pour plusieurs de mes collègues est juste un pont pour ensuite trouver mieux.

Aucun avantage , pas vraiment de reconnaissance employé ...
Pros
Pour les amoureux du tissu bon choix !
Cons
- Salaire et - heure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and clean work place
Inventory & Warehouse staff (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 January 2018
Clean, tidy and calm workplace. Great environment, managment and colleagues very helpful and polite. Good salary and working hours too. Perfectly accessible by public transport.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a good time working at Fabricville
Customer service associate (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB6 October 2017
Good management and team.
I helped customers to find fabrics, etc.
free sewing patterns, made display store sewing projects.
Part time hours varied,
Pros
Good to meet other people who shared passion for creativity.
Cons
Part time hours varied, depending on the time of year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head office takes care of all employees
Office manager (Current Employee) –  Head office Montreal15 May 2017
Numerous benefits. Fabricville is really heartfelt to the employees. they have great summer hours and staff are all amazing big family.
Great place to be and wonderful work atmosphere.
Positive energy and creativity is at max.
Very recommended.
Pros
leave at 1 on Fridays during the summer
Cons
traffic area
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contradictive work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lasalle, QC1 May 2017
Having worked there for a year as a cashier, I was constantly asked to put away fabrics by my manager on the back shelves, and then scolded moments later for being our of sight from my cash. Occasionally my schedule would change mid-week without my knowledge, thus making me miss my shifts.
At one point I had been forced to take time off for reasons out of my control, and once I had called Head office about it, I was met with a "That's too bad."

However, my coworkers were extremely kind and understood my frustrations. I still keep in contact with some.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work
Cashier (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL13 April 2017
I loved working there, great employees they are so nice and outgoing. So friendly when I needed help with something I was always assisted. I love the employees, made work so much better and couldn't as for a better place to work
Pros
I enjoyed everything
Cons
I was pregnant so it sucked i had to leave at that but stayed as long as I could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the people in and out of the job
Part-time Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Saint John, NB7 February 2017
I find Fabricville is a great job to work at, the customers are amazing and with the service we give they keep coming back for more and are satisfied with the customer service we give.
Pros
Our discount is better then the elite card sometimes
Cons
Sometimes we don't get a break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE12 January 2017
The store was going to close when I was hired and despite the stress, all of my co-workers remained positive and focused at the task and hand. I actually enjoyed working with everyone and we all laughed as we tell jokes as we worked on closing the store. The job itself was relatively simple and the hours were good, but it got more difficult when company higher ups mixed up information such as shipping orders, causing more stress than necessary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
apprend beaucoup sur le travail, agréable a travailler
Service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 February 2016
Le gérant sont très gentil, toujours prêt a vous apprendre de nouvelle chose.
Pros
Rabais sur le tissu
Cons
pause du midi courte
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail productif et agréable
Décoratrice (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC22 December 2015
-Prendre les commendes et servir les clients
-calculer les cm ou pouce et les convertir en mètres
-Marchandise placer le magasin et conception des vitrines
Pros
argent fabricville quand tu vend des cartes de membres
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company with a good work environment and welcoming coworkers
Marketing Coordinator / Website Manager (Current Employee) –  Montreal, QC8 November 2015
Working in the marketing department offered many interesting opportunities and challenges which allowed us to exercise our creativity in a variety of ways. Although a little behind the times in terms of technology, the joy of working with dedicated and professional colleagues balanced out any technical frustrations. Co-workers were always able and willing to find ways to improve when technical hurdles got in our way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 October 2015
Hard work
Too much hours
Not enough Salary
Good maangement and friendly co-workers.
The hardest part of the work invenotry time once a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Times and details of my work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS14 September 2015
The day at Fabricville started at 9:30 we had to tidy up the various departments, after that I would help customers choose their fabric notions thread etc, and sometimes the pattern .
When new merchandise arrived it had to be priced and put out on the floor,.
There was a great deal of co-operation and help from management as well .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
sales associate (Current Employee) –  dorval, montreal2 September 2015
the manager is very friendly, fun place to work at. everyone working there are very helpful. the managers are always trying to resolve any issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très agréable, toutefois très dur physiquement à cause des ballots
Gérante de magasin (Former Employee) –  Valdor, QC25 November 2014
S'il y avait eu plus d'espace pour transporter les marchandises avec des chariots, celà aurait été plus facile physiquement.
Pros
Les rabais sur achats
Cons
L'espace pour se déplacer avec de groses marchandises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Décoratrice et vente au service
Décoratrice d'intérieure (Former Employee) –  Alma, QC11 November 2013
conseiller le client
calculer le tissus pour confection
couper du tissu
faire la facture pour la caissiere
faire inventaire
proposer le matériel requis pour la confection
conseiller le client
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
commis a la clientèle
service a clientele (Former Employee) –  chateauguay,qc29 April 2013
La gérante était agréable et très bonne gestionnaire. Ce qui rendait le travail agréable et les copines aussi.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
someday was harder than other
Clerk at drapery department (Former Employee) –  gatineay,qc31 December 2012
some of my former co-worker was very friendly. they taught me many things i did not know before. I always had to clean every mess that others did,it was difficult to really enjoy cause the salary did match what we did in that company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fabricville. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 23 reviews
54
48
36
21
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture