Fabricland Employee Reviews

Found 78 reviews matching the search See all 91 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun but stressful
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 April 2019
A great place to work at although sometimes it is so stressful, not all customers are friendly but I enjoyed working and gained a lot of skills and knowledge. It was a good experience.
Pros
great savings of products.
Cons
prolonged standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here very much. Great staff and customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC9 April 2019
Everyday was different and workplace culture was very friendly and fun. Manager was kind and very accommodating for scheduling. Loved helping customers, other employees were always on hand to help with info or suggestions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and Sluggish, but steady
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 March 2019
Offers steady pay and hours which allows one to make good money.

The workplace itself is boring and musty, and the job can easily become mind-numbing.

This is a great place, however, if you want to learn more about costuming, fabrics, clothing construction, etc. There are many informational books that you are encouraged to read, and you get discounts.
Pros
Learning about Fabric
Cons
Boring, Unsociable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for people who like to sew
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 February 2019
More for the older age group. Not very friendly for people with arthritis or dust allergies. Also not a very friendly environment. Lots of repetitive work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 February 2019
Nice place to work, friendly team, time flyes fast as we are always busy. Sometimes have to lift very heavy stuff. No uniform, aprons and gloves, have to buy ouselves
Pros
Company pays for the time, spent on lunch
Cons
The store opens at 10 which is rather late, I like to start working early
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely bad upper management.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 January 2019
Fabricland doesn't care about it's employees at all.
Worked there for over 2 years, never got even a 5 cent raise that wasn't government mandated.
No health benefits.
Some stores have amazing managers, but most don't. It's a very unhealthy place to work. The management doesn't stand up for their employees because they know that head office won't stand up for them when a customer complains.
It's a shame, because in spite of all of this, I actually enjoyed working there, but no one can live on minimum wage forever.
Pros
Fabric Discounts
Cons
Underpaid, Poor management, Customers were always rude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick turnaround
HEAD CASHIER (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB12 January 2019
Typical retail job. Fun place to work and staff were friendly. Customers were pleasant. Location was close to my home. Hours were manageable for work like balance.
Pros
Work environment, customers and discounts
Cons
Management were sometimes hard to please
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yorkton, SK2 January 2019
I enjoyed working here and gained lots of experience on the till processing transactions, closing till, stocking merchandise, as well as dealing with customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work part-time
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON3 December 2018
Great co-workers and management. Not much room for advancement. Hardest part of the job is the heavy lifting of the fashion bolts.

I learned a lot of fabric content and the different types of fibres.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Experience
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON7 November 2018
The day to day tasks was easy and manageable, you get to know the local group and often get regulars coming in that you can assist and learn their projects. The management was unreliable and often took shortcuts or long breaks to avoid having to work. As long as the manager liked you, you were safe in the workplace and didn't fear to lose your job or to get warnings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, but somewhat unstable
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 October 2018
I was with Fabricland for about 2 years. In that time, there were three major layoffs, in which an average of six employees would be let go each time.
Pros
Friendly Coworkers, Good Hours, Nice Surroundings
Cons
Uncertain Job Stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working there
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 September 2018
Nice and friendly team, well organized environment although very dusty, always very busy, had to lift rather heavy stuff, very low payment without any increase in future.
Pros
Lunch time is paid
Cons
Low income
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 August 2018
Enjoyed working here. Work /life balance was great. Management cared about you. easy job. The only downfall is the pay. Its minimum wage. Other than that I would work their again
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Cutter (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB1 August 2018
Was not trained and they reviewed my file to earlier and let me go for management faults. The managers were rude to customers as well as employees. Had to work inventory with no training what so ever and manager will not say of i am getting a roe. Also no customers ever so you'd wonder most of the time. Managers were talking about how they wanted to quit all the time to customers and staff. Very hostile work enviroment and alot of other stuff wrong with working there
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, short breaks, terrible managers, no training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB8 July 2018
It was easy to take time off and the job was easy to get done but you will never be given raises but overall this was a good first job to learn about work enviornments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabric store
Manger (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK7 May 2018
Running the store, management position, scheduling daily bookkeeping routine. Learned a lot about how to care for a store and employees. Hardest part of job was knowing how to run a store with no support from head office. Most enjoyable part was seeing how everyone worked together and the staff outings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my Job at Fabricland.
Retail Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON20 April 2018
What can I say? I loved my job at Fabricland...sewing is my passion. I enjoyed every part of my time there. I love the bright fabrics, the new patterns, working with others who are as passionate about my hobby as I am, I liked the customers and was able to help them with their projects as much as they were able to help me. The only drawback to my time at Fabricland was that there was no possibility for full time work. (Oh and it was easy to spend a little too much of my pay on the fabric!)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was really fun, loved the challenge
Inventory (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC12 April 2018
it was really fun for a first time. i learned how to count properly into groupings and put pink slips up and then weight them and lifting. fabricland was very enjoyable i would love to work their again
Pros
good pay, good communication
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my opinion
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB13 March 2018
Fabricland was a good place to work. I learned something new everyday. My favourite thing to do was building displays and organizing merchandise.I enjoyed helping customers in choosing colors for their projects
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I've ever worked.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Ringwood, Hampshire20 February 2018
The management here are horrible people to work for.
They are ungrateful and do not treat the staff with any respect at all.
The whole atmosphere is Terrible.
The workplace is full of loads of threatening messages which if you ask me are completely unnecessary.
DO NOT WORK HERE!
I was desperate for a job but regret ever working for this dreadful company. MOST UNFRIENDLY PEOPLE I HAVE EVER MEET!!!
Before you work here they will send you pages and pages of paperwork which state that you are not allowed to say anything bad about the company so clearly they know the reputation they have got.
Pros
Absolutely none
Cons
Everything about this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fabricland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 91 reviews
529
429
322
24
17

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture