Extra Foods Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produce
Household/produce (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 April 2018
Loved it produce was excellent it was my first favourite job. Work was great.kept me busy. Always professional. Produce was filled customers were commenting on my job well done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient management with good training.
Cashier/Customer Service Desk (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC7 March 2018
Enjoyed working here. Co-workers all worked respectfully and professionally together. Advancement in this industry was always encouraged and promotions regularly occured.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 March 2018
this was my ideal workplace
management for the most part were fair and good to work with
enjoyed the work experience and would have stayed if not for the necessary move out of province.
Pros
good work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent student job
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 March 2018
Was an alright job for a part time student / first job. Aside from that it wasn't really my thing. Pay did get decent as far as grocery work goes because of the union.
Pros
Flexible hours, union
Cons
Unrewarding work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly but fast paced workplace
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB22 February 2018
Working at extra foods deli was a wonderful 3 months. I mostly worked night shifts which was great as it was more independent work, I learned how to clean cook and quickly prep meals as well as slice meat. My coworkers were very kind to me and overall I enjoyed my employment there and miss it. I left due to relocating to Red Deer.
Pros
Snacks at break time
Cons
Smelled like chicken grease afterwards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/baker
Cashier\Bakery (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB8 February 2018
Fast pace, stocked bakery inventory, made baked goods, ordered proper inventory, did what was asked of by customers. Was enjoyable because I met new and exiting people every single day. As a cashier I handled people and money every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  High Level, AB29 January 2018
Being a cashier was an easy summer job for me. I was attending school and needed a summer job. It was quite easy, I ran groceries through the till for customers and after each shift I counted the money and gave it to the head cashier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Odd and hard to work there
was cashier (Former Employee) –  Cardston, AB21 January 2018
I was no happy with the atmosphere of the other workers, do to there overall lack of ambition in all there in employees and the way all managers treat there employees like there personal tug matts there for use only when they need it when it comes to there days off. The dictation of other people whatever there ethnicity in the treatment and the bringing of there personal feelings towards someone and spreading it like truth to others and lack of respect.PS-Only in the extrafoods in the town of cardston.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to begin for entry-level jobs
Grocery supervisor/Key holder (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 January 2018
Extra Foods is a corporate retail food store. The union (UFCW Local 832) that has been in place for many years has relished some of the greatest benefits and salaries imaginable to a grocery outlet. Long-term employment has its upsides.
Pros
Union (Benefits and Pay)
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job.
Front End Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB20 December 2017
Started as a cashier and quickly rose to cash office then was transferred to train as Front-end Manager. Was very long hours but I loved working in the public sector. Customer service has been and will always be my greatest enjoyment of any employment.
Pros
.......great customers, awesome staff.
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disorganized and lack of communication
Asst. Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Ponoka, AB13 December 2017
Coming into work and completing tasks the previous shift did not complete.

I learned that good communication was important in the work place due to the lack of it, and i also learned a lot about agriculture that i did not previously know and about proper nutrition for cattle.

The upper management was easy to work with one on one but my direct management was pour at communication.

the work place was a competitive and discouraged proper team work but also had its pros with the constant learning.

the hardest part was always looking what needed to be done because it might have or needed to be done to lack of communication.

The most enjoyable was the constant learning.
Pros
constant learning and working on nutrition.
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Tisdale, SK9 December 2017
Busy always something to do heavy lifting lots of stocking and organizing fast pace great staff room for growth
That’s all I have to say about working for extra foods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job.
Time-management (Former Employee) –  Grand Forks, BC5 December 2017
A typical day was refilling produce and cleaning. I enjoyed the busy-ness and people I worked for. I learned a lot about time-management and working under pressure. I learned how to prioritize my daily tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and enjoyable
Cashier (Current Employee) –  The Pas, MB22 November 2017
steady workplace and customers enjoy shopping in our store
It is hard to work with teen age kids as they have a mind of their own
flexible hours and supervisor is great
it is very difficult to keep track of shop lifters and there is need of a door security
love to work because the customers are happy with my service!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 November 2017
A fast-paced environment that required attention to detail. Building rapport with all customers was my delight of the day.

The management staff was supporting and very understanding.

The hardest part of the job was having to go home.
Pros
four hour shifts
Cons
unfortunately wasn't full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, always on the go!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dauphin, MB16 November 2017
Working as a cahier you meet a lot of people. some test you and some are very understanding. Management on the most part was great to approach with any concerns you may have. Most cashiers are eager to help.
Pros
Hours are flexible if give enough notice
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
G.M (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK13 November 2017
I enjoyed working there, great staff and team members. I got full ti,e hrs but the pay could have been better. It just became to much to work full time when I had 2 babies at home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment but a good team
Front End Manager (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB2 November 2017
Customers were about average. The hours were far too long. Training was very good. My team under me worked well. Not so much from co-workers or higher management though.
Pros
Good team under myself
Cons
Terrible higher management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the job for me
grocery clerk (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC2 November 2017
i dont want to put this job down. there where many of my coworkers that seemed to enjoy this job, but it just wasn't the job for me. i worked there for 2 and a half years and i found it a little tedious.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suitable for short term employment.
Food prep, cleaning, and customer service (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 October 2017
-cutting, cleaning, serving customers.
-learned basic food preparation skills.
-management had trouble on ordering supplies.
-nice coworkers.
-lack of supplies made even the easiest of tasks troublesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Extra Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 156 reviews
538
461
336
215
16

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture