Extendicare Health Services, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
PSW (Former Employee) –  Port Hope, ON23 March 2018
I worked there for over 10 years as a psw. It was great when i first started but it is now ran with new management who are the worst people in the world. They treat the psw's like they are nobodys and are the dirt on there shoes. Would not recommend for anyone to work at the port hope extendicare. They suck the life out of you!!!
Pros
Weekends when management isnt there
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place where everyone cares
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 March 2018
I am fortunate I was hired in this place as my first LPN job because everyone cares for everybody. There are 6 units and all my orientation in each unit were very helpful and informative. Nurses worked together. There is collaboration in each department for the ultimate resident's care.
Pros
Salary is above other facility
Cons
lots of residents to handle
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON12 March 2018
this place is a good place to work the staff is very kind and the management could be better but it is still a very nice place to work at. one thing I would recommend is that they could be more supportive of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive busy and fun
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB28 February 2018
I like working with extendicare, nice co-workers, wprking weekdays at the office and worminv every other weekend as hca. Looking for a full time hours job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place
Management Consultant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON16 February 2018
- good salary
- great benefits
- nice and respectful working environment
- politics is involved
- many people not working as hard
- lots of changes in management
-
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON12 February 2018
I learned a lot from this job and it gave me a great experience. Working there was a great time and I would recommend it to anyone interested. The boss was great and so were the people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are nice
Payroll & Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON11 February 2018
Great cooperate working environment; learning lots of office job experience; Co-workers are friendly;
Do not like the management style of the company, there is no recognition for the effort put it in
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy work enviroment
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON10 February 2018
was an on call position in a very busy facility for those who could no longer care for themselves, served breakfast lunch and dinner stocked supplies and did dishes help keep the workplace safe
Pros
wage was great
Cons
on call, needed a schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom line is the only thing that matters
Office Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 January 2018
Beware!!! Extendicare does not care for their employees and will throw you to the wolves for no particular reason. I was let go out of the blue with no valid explanation. I worked hard and put in lots of OT with no pay because of lack of staff. I did it because I didn't want to see the seniors go without. Extendicare's only concern is the bottom line. They will change your duties at any time with no warning or training.They will expect you to lie to back up the company. Worst company I ever worked for. Back stabbing is a daily routine. Hard work and honesty means nothing to this company. I know the seniors were upset when I was let go. I adored them and I know they were very fond of me and my continuous efforts to ensure their quality of life at the residence.
Pros
Working with the seniors
Cons
Company does not care for anything but bottom line
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Port Hope, ON9 January 2018
I love working at extendicare it is and was an amazing facility to begin my health care career.
A typical day at work is providing care, following by serving meals and working collaboratively with team members to support those who depend on aids every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Occupational Therapy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 December 2017
Typical day stars wit fun and exercise program with resident. I have learned how to deal with aggressive, demented residents, and the management is friendly. We have a great work culture.
Pros
staff appreciation
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall terrible work environment and staff!
RPN (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, ON22 November 2017
this entire place is a joke, worst place I've ever worked! staff are rude managers don't know how to manage their staff specially the ones that have been working t here for a long time. PSW don't listen and fight, managers don't do anything about their inappropriate behavior
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is over worked and under paid. No appreciation or respect from management/staff.
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON8 November 2017
There is not enough staff properly scheduled to be able to attend to and properly care for our residents needs. Extremely frustrating when you need help but there is not enough staff to get help from. Therefore you end up doing way too much work yourself and your body pays for it dearly. In my opinion, it is very frustrating to see that your residents deserve so much more then you're physically capable of providing, but the issue is never resolved due to not having more staff scheduled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there
PSW (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON7 November 2017
Fun place with a bunch of nice knowledgeable psw and nursing staff. A very multicultural experience that benefits both residents and staff....a hugely caring enviroment
Pros
Great experience
Cons
Management not open for discussion for change
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management doesn't care about anyone but themselves
Health Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Fort Macleod, AB3 November 2017
Atrocious management. Always belittling nursing staff. Very cheap when it comes to new equipment. Non-approachable what so ever. Basically big bullies, not worth working here!
Pros
Staff and residents are lovely
Cons
Atrocious management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chelsey Park London
PSW (Former Employee) –  London, ON1 November 2017
Management does not listen to their staff, and are not willing to remedy the situation once they are aware of a problem. Most coworkers are great to work with but the full time PSWs will gang up on new or part time employees, and report a first time minor issues to upper management that could have been discussed and fixed on the floor with supervisor such as the need to speak slower and louder to hard of hearing residents. I would recommend to check any long term facilities online record with the ministry of health for any warnings, violations, incidents. That will give you an idea of how the LTC facility operates before deciding to accept a position there. All LTC facilities have their MOH records online for the public to view. I'm not saying this facility has any bad reports but it's best to check and decide for yourself.
I worked there part time for two years, and that was more then enough for me.
Pros
Wonderful residents
Cons
Short staffed and overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good solid and caring organization
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 October 2017
Friendly environment, good training and support staff.
Enjoyed working with staff interacting with residents and providing safe and compassionate care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Lindsay, ON4 October 2017
the hardest part of this job would be making sure to get all Kleenex out of residents pants pockets. The most enjoyable part of this job would be when you deliver some clean blankets to a resident and they are very grateful
Pros
early mornings
Cons
doesn't work with my school schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Elderly Caregiver (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, AB22 September 2017
I liked to work with the seniors and the workers also the seniors were very kind and friendly and they let me help and take care of them too. I suggest working there is a great idea
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy days
Health Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 September 2017
Everyday was always busy. Timing and time management are key roles. There are always new challenges everyday and ways to get around them. Most of the staff were good but not all were ideal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Extendicare Health Services, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 314 reviews
573
487
364
230
160

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture