Esso Employee Reviews

Found 121 reviews matching the search See all 283 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very productive. not a good place to work
CASHIER/ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Sydney Mines, NS9 April 2019
i was assistant manager there for a year i worked there for 2.
i did everything i was asked plus more.
management was not very good. they miss treated their employees and caused alot of people to leave their job.
Pros
close to were i lived
Cons
management, not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walk In The Ball Park
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Havelock, ON2 April 2019
Its a fun environment to be in. Lots of people you have unique interactions. Its not the best during peak hours but you can make do with it. It can be rough especially when working in rural areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Shilo, MB23 March 2019
As I am new immigrant (permanent resident) in Brandon, this firm provide me first job. It help me a lot to understand culture of new place. It help me to improve my interaction skills at new place.
Pros
Advance cash
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2019
It was a great environment, my coworkers were amazing. A typical day would start off with opening the station and making sure we have enough gas and store supplies. Serving the customer and helping them with any of their automotive issues, as well as handling the car wash and making sure everything continues to work properly and efficiently.
Pros
Easy going coworkers
Cons
Very busy winter days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like any other dead end job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON6 February 2019
Typical day at work?: Sitting on a stool for 8 hours while occasionally getting up to be screamed in your face by customers who want gas. What did I learn?: Not to use their car washes. Management?: I liked them as individuals but I would never work for them again. Culture: Very cultured! Hardest part of the job?: Honestly between cleaning the Men's bathroom on nights or getting chocolate bars thrown at me while being screamed at because the price of gas is higher than it was the night before... I don't know which ones worse haha. The most enjoyable part of my job was probably just the relationships I made with my coworkers. I made two really good friends there and I was only there for a year.
Pros
expired chocolate is always free.....
Cons
Getting screamed in your face by multiple customers a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fergus Esso Gas Station
Cashier and credit sales (Former Employee) –  Fergus, ON30 January 2019
The Fergus Esso gas station is a family run gas station under the franchise of Esso. There is a propane refill center, convenience store and as well as drive-through Tim Hortons
Pros
Long lunch breaks
Cons
Long Hours, Attentive during long might shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multitasking
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON28 January 2019
This company was good to work at , friendly staff and customers . Had to leave due to I moved to a new town . Good job and got to expand upon my skills and experience !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
CUSTOMER SERVICE (IN PERSON) (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON10 January 2019
Helping customer with refueling

Cash control

Keeping place clean

Prevending theft

Fun place to work. No pressure. No employee discount.

Expect much for basic salary
Pros
Fun to work
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job opportunity
Fuel Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Kindersley, SK14 December 2018
Positive experience with employers and employees. Weekly safety meetings to ensure all employees went home safe.
On long hour shifts employees were required to phone the manager to report job being done and going home.
Pros
Safety first
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, management was bad
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Britt, ON4 December 2018
I enjoyed working at Esso on Magnetewan Reserve but the band manager was also the store manager and she's was just horrible at her job. Had no idea how to manage a store nor talk to her employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 November 2018
nice people great work environment nice work ethecs nice colleges and supervisors it is very great company I enjoyed my work there it is very healthy work enveronment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Retail Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 October 2018
esso was one of the most organized franchise i have worked with. good place to work, easy job and can enhance your customer service skills that can lead to bright future
Pros
good place to work
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a Fun workplace
QC H2X 2T9 (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 October 2018
a little bit intense location. needs security guards from thursday till monday. (drunk customers are always entering shop and looking for a fight with anyone)
The last Manager or actually owner knew how to handle everything there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at three locations in St. John's
GAS STATION ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 September 2018
Work environment heavily depends on management, their level of trust in employees can be dismal when undeserved. Many times there are scheduling issues be it conflicts of agreements or lateness of posting.
Pros
Not working alone, christmas bonus from Head Office
Cons
on feet long hours, no scheduled breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed the customers and the people I worked with were very friendly
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON5 September 2018
Provided customer service worked in a fast paced environment and provided assistance customers with there purchases . Balanced cash drawers at the beginning and end of shift to ensure accurate cash counts .Keep the place organized and stocked with products .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
VOLUNTEER CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 August 2018
it was a great place to work at. had lots of fun there. learned lots of things daily. worked with fun people. great managers. great time overall and would go back any day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Young Individuals
Cashier/Pump Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS15 August 2018
Management was great. Not a great place to work if you are in your 30's and looking to advance in a company.
Place is better for high school kids who are looking for their first job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun environment
Shelf Stocker (Former Employee) –  Regina Beach, SK17 July 2018
overall the people are friendly and their easy to get along with them , you get to meet some new people sometime it can get busy but not all the time , its a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall positive work environment
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON21 June 2018
Had good relation with fellow workers and manager. Learnt new things which include managing gas invoices and other products invoices, handling cash and updating lottery tickets, checking ID proofs for cigarettes and lottery tickets etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON20 May 2018
I learned how to handle customers during the peak and hectic time. Worked very hard with enthusiasm. I learned some management skills as I worked mostly with manager.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Long night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Esso. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 283 reviews
588
493
371
217
114

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture