Esso Gas Station Employee Reviews

Found 230 reviews matching the search See all 243 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 September 2018
yes it was very fun place . i get to meet different type of people. and some of them have their own story to tell you. I never had any bad experience with this work place
Pros
no
Cons
8 hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun with work and itz productive tooo
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC18 September 2018
i feel more good over there because there are different kind of consumer coming over there and intract so it build my confidense and provide me inner relaxation while i great and treat well to the visiter as well as they apriciate me for my work toooo.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
some time long hour work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
Site Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto10 September 2018
Great company to work with; great environment, and lots of opportunities; flexible worktime with full skillset training; Training was fantastic! Had fun!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun work place
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB31 August 2018
enjoy the work as i meet lots of new people and interact with them.
help me to get experience. even it helps me to make some money so i can use them for my expenses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement
Cassier (Current Employee) –  Vercheres, QC28 August 2018
J'adore travailler avec les gens. Nous avons toujours le sourire au visage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Princeton, BC13 August 2018
very good
fun loving
nice people
nice weather
nice place
neat and clean store
very good manager
helpful
more things to learn
improve english and way of talking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work is very important since there is a lot of responsibilities
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London, ON18 July 2018
It is a fast paced workplace. Customers are usually in rush and they expect the cashier to complete the transactions as fast as possible. Sometimes it becomes very stressful when there is long line up and one customer is buying a lot of Lotties. Of course, checking and selling lottery requires attention making a small mistake can create a lot of problems. On other hand checking ID for smokes and lottery are important and mandatory by law. Customers must be asked for ID whenever they purchase these products. Any employees who forget or ignore to check ID can create a big issue especially when a customer is a minor. Working with diligent and being responsible can make a big difference in any workplace.
Pros
Free tea and coffee
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 July 2018
This place is a joke. I called in sick a few times because I was having seizures and because I had pneumonia.. They fired me with cause, saying that I was unreliable... I was fired from here once before before too because I wouldn't cover shift on a day that I had an exam.. I got rehired the same day. The gm was having a hissy fit because no one would cover. If you need a job and don't mind working for crazy people, it's a fine place to work.
Pros
Nice managers
Cons
Not enough hours, owner and gm don't care about employees or the store equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff
Gas Station Attendant/assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 July 2018
The management strived to make working there great. They helped out with bonuses for those who showed pride in there work, and made sure to give leeway in the need for time off for family emergencies.
Pros
Knowing when gas was going up.
Cons
Not very busy. Lots of downtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day in the life
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Stratford, PE4 July 2018
good place to work at i like meeting new people everyday but staff was an issue hard to get along with some people but that's a job depends who owns the esso not all are bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Cashier/ Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 June 2018
-A topical day includes cleaning the store and outside the store, taking car wash, full service and gas costumers costumers
- I learned how to communicate with costumers, clean and manage spills effectively.
-Hardest part of the job is to watch for drive offs meaning people who pump gas and leave without paying.
-The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting people I know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workspace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON18 June 2018
Customer interactions which is the most loving one in my life. I got satisfaction from this job. Flexible hours and occational ability to work from home. Ability to make more money if needed bt picking up extra hours. Immidate cash incentives for meeting quotas. My manager he is very much supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Delisle, SK12 June 2018
Friendly staff, overall a great place to work. Very flexible and understanding. Kind regular costumers. Very helpful when training. Never a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC4 June 2018
The manager is known as a helpful and friendly man. He always takes time to make new employers to familiar with new work environment.
Pros
Friendly manager, supportive co-workers
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Site Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 May 2018
Sales experience, management skills;
developed the following:
· Interacted with fuel supplier to maintain fuel inventory at optimal level
· Excellent time management by arranging employees’ shifts every week
· Exceptional inventory management ensuring store items always in stock
· Cash handling and balancing duties to ensure no inaccuracies on a daily basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace if you follow rules
Cashier clerk and cleaner (Former Employee) –  Nanton, AB11 May 2018
Very fast paced customer oriented environment with very clean bathrooms and good management who strive for a comfortable environment for staff and customers
Pros
Free cofffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy counter handling thousands of customers a day
Cashier (Currently working) (Former Employee) –  Markham at Highway 730 April 2018
Providing customer service as well as handling the till. Solving the problems of customer based on transactions, store products, gas availability and car wash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and enjoyable working environment
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 April 2018
The hardest part about the job was doing night shift, as I have 2 young children.
I enjoyed the tasks and understood everything that I was asked to do.
Pros
Pay was always on time
Cons
No breaks because worked alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for a first job
Gas Jockey (Current Employee) –  Nanton, AB2 April 2018
The Full Service Esso gas station in Nanton, AB is a great place to work at and it is nice to give people the treat of full service, as is it rare to see full service anymore and most people love the idea.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 March 2018
It was great. I did manage all the task very smoothly which includes multi-tasks, this was only possible when i was well trained by the support and hard work of my manager. I really enjoyed working at Esso.
Pros
Easy tasks
Cons
Lots of work to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Esso Gas Station. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 243 reviews
5102
470
346
218
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.8Culture