Esso Gas Station Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and enjoyable working environment
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 April 2018
The hardest part about the job was doing night shift, as I have 2 young children.
I enjoyed the tasks and understood everything that I was asked to do.
Pros
Pay was always on time
Cons
No breaks because worked alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for a first job
Gas Jockey (Current Employee) –  Nanton, AB2 April 2018
The Full Service Esso gas station in Nanton, AB is a great place to work at and it is nice to give people the treat of full service, as is it rare to see full service anymore and most people love the idea.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 March 2018
It was great. I did manage all the task very smoothly which includes multi-tasks, this was only possible when i was well trained by the support and hard work of my manager. I really enjoyed working at Esso.
Pros
Easy tasks
Cons
Lots of work to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult boss
Attendant (Former Employee) –  Lumsden, SK20 January 2018
So i enjoyed my time at esso but while the pay was good and all management was frustrating at times but i eventually left due to time scheduling with school and lack of flexibility.
Pros
Some of the guys are sick.
Cons
Most things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It probably could have been better...
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Campbellford, ON10 January 2018
My supervisor/manager was constantly yelling at all the employees over nothing we did. And if we asked for a day off for something, we would lose work for an entire week. Also we ran out of gas often and I had customers coming in and yelling at me about it then my boss would freak out of his employees saying it's our fault we never have business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Cashier (Part-Time) (Current Employee) –  Labrador City, NL10 January 2018
Esso is a really nice place, environment to work in. Ive been there going on 5 years. Daily duties include; serve customers with a smile, sweep and mop floors, stock shelves and put away any freight.
Pros
Meeting new people everyday
Cons
Not enough hours / time for change
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, bad job.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON9 January 2018
I loved the people I got the chance to work with, but the job itself was horrible. I met some great co workers and also some great customers, both of which I still speak to.
Pros
Good people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Gas Station Attendant, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Beausejour, MB20 December 2017
was my first job, I loved it, It was a small town, I knew everyone around, was very fun to make money during my middle school days, the bosses were also very ncie
Pros
good pay
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self serve gas bar
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 December 2017
A self serve gas bar that also offers car washes and has a convenience store. Some also include full serve customer service. A 24 hour location on Merivale rd
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chatted with people around town.
Waitress and Cook (Former Employee) –  Stoughton, Saskatchewan5 December 2017
The days I would waitress, I would work around 8 hours a day. I learned patience, and basic small talk skills. The hardest part is when it would get really busy and I would be the only waitress.
Pros
Working with food
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive and Fun place to work
Gas Station Attendant/Assistant of Manager (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON3 December 2017
A lot of practice in costumer service field, developed multitasking and stress coping practices .
Assisted management with Orders, Delivery and Receiving.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
sometimes 7 days a week 12/h a day for three months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun experience worked with good people and great management
Attendant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Deer Lake, NL27 November 2017
Like I said it was a fun experience with good co-workers and management,hours were good with acceptable time off really good environment and very professional and productive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and friendly place to work
Cashier/Gas Attendant (Former Employee) –  Témiscamingue, QC25 November 2017
I loved working here, he environment was enjoyable and pleasant and my coworkers were always pleasant people and always made the shift go by quickly. I enjoyed my time there and if I could go back I would but I unfortunately I moved and changed location and had to quit my job at esso.
.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great manager
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Nobel, ON16 November 2017
Esso was a fantastic job which introduced me to the prospect of assertively asking guests for ID. I enjoyed my time working for this company and would return.
Pros
great manager, friendly customers, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and relaxing
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON13 November 2017
Recently upgraded the system which is much faster which makes work even faster. Have to deal with customer service every weekend. Making sure products are good and safe to sell for customers.
Pros
Relaxing during the night
Cons
Deal with angry and yelling customers, mostly about car wash
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly great staff and really awesome management
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Port Rowan, ON3 November 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed my time working at Port Rowan Esso, management was very nice, accommodating, and never unnecessarily angry when things don't go according to plan.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON23 October 2017
it was a good place to work. All employs were very helpful and they were also like a stressbusters for me. The manager was quite helpful and easy going. All they want from an employ is dedication towards work.
Pros
15 min breaks
Cons
night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work
Guest Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON13 October 2017
It was good start for gaining experience in customer service and management skills. Moreover, always trying to learn something to be better than yesterday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just filling in the blanks
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON10 October 2017
why is it making write reviews for all the places i worked it seems kinda unfair, these should all be optional not mandatory unless I'm missing something
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  2189, Lakeshore Blvd W, Etobicoke, ON, M8V1A19 October 2017
- It was a very enjoyable cashier work where you have to manage both the gas station and the store in it.
- Over the course of time it helped me improve my communication skills, how to co-operate with your fellow employee and multi tasking.
- I was very grateful that I had so nice co-workers. It was a great experience to work with people of different age groups and backgrounds.
- Sometimes the customers used to be very rude and impatient.
- Most of the customers were very nice and they used to appraise my work and I got to communicate with them and l gathered so much information.
Pros
Fun workplace.
Cons
No breaks during working hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Esso Gas Station. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 180 reviews
565
458
338
213
16

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.7Culture