Esso Gas Station Employee Reviews

Found 229 reviews matching the search See all 242 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going job. Simple as that.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC3 June 2019
Enjoyed working here, staff was awesome and felt like family... usually willing to trade shifts and accommodate hours to fit my personal life. Regulars were always awesome and brightened my day.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun place to work and the staff are nice
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  High Prairie, AB3 June 2019
I would like to get a job at Esso where it's close to home and I could be a cashier and do stock as well so I can keep busy at work and they would appreciate my work and I can get paid
Pros
Free lunches, coffee, and slushies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place to work
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Dundalk, ON25 May 2019
Management is great very understanding
Employees are good to get along with and nice
If you like cashier jobs this is a good place to work
Shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Hanmer, ON23 May 2019
I worked at Esso Gas station recently. It was great experience, learnt many new things. Working here made me confident, independant and gave me good customer service experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive as well as lessons learning work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON8 May 2019
Its my honor to be a part of Esso gas station. I love working there and I look forward to work in this kind of firms. I learned a lot while working in this Gas station with good employees. I worked in weekdays as well as weekends so I learnt how to handle the store in busy hours and what other things to do when its get slow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generic low wage job
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 May 2019
Expected tasks and duties. Very repetitive and boring. Management typically is not there during the normal operational hours of the station so you are alone most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace filled with hardworking people.
Volunteered as a Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON26 April 2019
This place requires a lot of courage to work at due to the fact that you would have to deal with a lot of mean and angry customer all the time and even manage to keep your cool.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gas Station
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON20 April 2019
A typical day at work includes selling gas, tobacco products, convince store food, and more. It is a safe environment, but also in a busy location, making this job a little more demanding. Although, with the proper training working at Esso Gas Stations is a great job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
multicultural environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON16 April 2019
It is a busy environment workplace where you have to deal with numerous types of people. But i learned lots of things like problem solving, customer services, communication skills, networking etc.
Pros
independent
Cons
no breaks and busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Environment
Cashier and Store Handler (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 April 2019
I like to work at this place. It has good positive working vibes. The work and the shifts were very well managed. I learned a lot about Cash handling, store management, inventories and the most important customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It`s not hard to work in a gas station.
CERTIFIED SALES ASSOCITE (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 April 2019
1. It was pretty easy going.

2. You just have to stack new stock up and find the stock that is expired.

3. Basic cleaning not much of a headache because the stores are pretty small.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  East Gwillimbury, ON2 April 2019
very good place to work.meeting all kinds of people and helping people out with all things they need help with.staff is very good to work with.hours are very good and working for a esso gas station is a wonderful job and the are very undrestanding with all your needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meet people
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 March 2019
Provided training to new employees on all facets of job operations. Very well organized and able to meet deadlines.i never had any hard time at my work, most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Full serve & cashier (Former Employee) –  Pitt Meadows, BC15 March 2019
It’s was fun working there very good other work I miss working there I had long sifting I do lots of cleaning everyday putting gas in cars talking to other people was nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and most productive i learned a lot of things from there in the customer service field
Customer Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  London, ON6 February 2019
I like that job very much meeting new people every day is fun and come to know a lot of things from there. that job helps me a lot in improving my communications things etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  LaSalle, ON2 February 2019
I didn't find anything hard in my job. However, I learned a lot from this job how to communicate to customers, how to organize everything on work place, how to work on there.
Pros
Experience i get from there
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Summerside, PE30 January 2019
-My Typical day includes two co-workers being the boss
-I learned that I can't trust everyone
-Management is great
-hardest part o my job is keeping everyone happy coworker wise
-the most enjoyable part is when it's a good calm day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON24 January 2019
Esso is a well-ran business. There may be no advancement but they are guaranteed hours and the job can keep you busy if you clean enough on the midnight shift. They use clean fuel, and care about their customers.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Midnights, have to keep busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good as begin the experience of customer service.
Guest Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON23 January 2019
Besides everything, this job makes you aware selling techniques in up selling of products. Got some knowledge about Pumps and car wash machines . Last but not least, provide with different experience in life in order to serve customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding work enviroment
SHELBURNE - CASHIER/MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Shelburne, ON21 January 2019
excellent management staff that allows you to work from home if needed. Will offer pay advance and will help subsidize rent for relocation purposes. Overall a rare find of an employer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Esso Gas Station. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 242 reviews
5102
469
346
218
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.8Culture