Essential Energy Services Employee Reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training ground.
Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB3 December 2018
Had some great supervision with Cardinal Well Servicing division of Essential Energy. Learned a great deal which enabled me to achieve my NCSO certification. Good benefits with the company including personal use of company truck. Discovered a lot of Alberta traveling to our numerous district offices from Medicine Hat to Slave Lake.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Essential Energy Services
Nitrogen Bulker Level 2 (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB17 February 2018
Treated with dignity and respect by Management
& Office Personnel. Good Pay and Good Benefits. Would recommend to anyone looking for work in the Oilfield that is prepared to be away from home 2 weeks per hitch. Lots of opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Great Employees to work with.
Cons
Lots of time in Motel/Hotels
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult to make money at this company in today's economy.
Rig Manager Level 3 (Former Employee) –  Redcliff, AB15 February 2018
The company pays well for field work but pays minimal for shop and even less for traveling. With the lack of a guarantee and forced work rotation and patchy work, makes it difficult to get ahead.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, Buddy club
Pumping supervisor (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB18 May 2016
I worked there as a pump supervisor for 2 years, this company is a joke and the management hires their friends regardless of experience, 20 year olds running rigs, this company is rotten from the very top down
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Poor inept management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money was good
Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB6 December 2015
Really have to watch your back. They hire friends and look after them. If you know more than the rig manager dont voice it or youll be let go. Alot of back stabbing
Pros
Money
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Coil Tubing Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB18 November 2015
Money was OK if you were working but you need a guaranteed salary. Company has an excellent benefit package.
Coworkers were generally pretty decent guys.
With the exception of a few, management was fine.
Didn't like being on the road all the time.
Pros
Decent guys
Cons
On the road all the time. Kids don't recognize me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reception / Document Management
Receptionist / Document Management (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 September 2015
Manage switchboard (9 lines)
Received, Send and sort all mail and couriers
Maintain Stationary supply for Company
Receive and Direct Clients
Clean Kitchens and Boardrooms
Respond to Office Maintenance issues
Pros
Great Company to work work, people are friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 19Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 June 2015
Excellent and innovative company to work. People are really friendly and cooperative. My mentor helped me a lot in my project and really provided with real field examples and experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for.
Heavy Duty Mechanic, Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK27 March 2015
A typical day would start 7am unless called earlier as I was on call 24/7 when not on days off. I had no problems with co-workers and upper management. A nice benefit was a company vehicle to use at any time. I would say the hardest part was dealing with extreme cold and wind in southern Sask. winters.
Pros
Company functions, Christmas party, spring break golfing
Cons
Very long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical oil field work...
Coil Tubing Operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB15 January 2015
Not to impressed with the company I first started with in the oil field. Management went downhill as the company acquired Technicoil. Salaries were cut, field supervisors were moved to other positions and teams fell apart.

The biggest drawback was when they decided they were no longer paying for Hotel rooms, instead you were expected to pay yourself only to be reimbursed, which would be ok if they didnt tax you on top of the tax you paid when checking out. Same goes for daily allowance...
Pros
None
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically Demanding Job
Floor Hand and Derrick Hand (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB and ARea31 March 2014
We would head out to work at about 5 am most mornings. Some days we would not return back until very late depending on what needed to be done.
As a derrick hand, I was up and down the stick all day pulling rods and managing those duties. The hardest part of the job was the constant physical aspect and being expected to work just as hard in minus 40 to plus 40.
I enjoyed the crew that I worked with on the Rig, working with them made the day worth it and the biggest reason for me hanging on.
Pros
the pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 7Report

See more Essential Energy Services reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Essential Energy Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 14 reviews
52
44
35
20
13

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.8Culture

Essential Energy Services Reviews by Location