Erie Meats Employee Reviews

Showing all 49 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 October 2018
Erie Meat is the company that has given me the opportunity to belief in myself. I have learnt many new things fro here. I am very thankful to Erie Meat to give me opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A regular work place
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 July 2018
Challenging but could be better if the supervisors go slow on been silent about few issues. Also, the salary could be increased based on the work load.
Pros
Meeting diverse people
Cons
Cold temperatures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture
SHIPPER/ RECEIVER (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 June 2018
I'm able to make an executive discison if my boss is not around
Plan my daily routines. Get everyone on board
And communication through out the day and all activities
Pros
Extended lunch time.... if i work through my lunch
Cons
Lots of over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eire meats
Setup mechanic (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON29 April 2018
It is a alright place to work just real messy the pay in decent I think they have a problem keeping people there it isn't for everyone you might stop eating hotdogs once you see how they're made
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed environment
Retail Sales Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 April 2018
Very fast paced but you gain a lot of knowledge about the food industry, culture, marketing, etc. The culture working there is amazing many friendly people and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work.
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON16 February 2018
I loved it a lot, there were pros and cons but everywhere you go there is, but amazing place and very kind to be at in my eyes. Nice hours, easy going
Pros
Bus ride there and back is nice. Nice hours
Cons
Pay could be better I will say.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Erie meats...
Pacmac operator (Current Employee) –  BNB10 December 2017
I have worked at this location for a long while now, going on three years. When i first started it wasnt all that sanitary and very unorganized. As the years go on its been improving greatly. There are ups and downs, but what work place doesnt?

Pros about this work place...
The people are kind, and enjoyable to work with.
Boss is nice.
Pretty good hours.
Some months have lots of overtime (which, i love)
The pace of the work is always different, if running smooth, slow (which is good) but there is always something to do.
Owner of company is nice.

Cons about this work place...
Pay is not that great
No benefits
QA's are scared to correct higher up people.

Would I recommend this work place to you?
If you enjoy the cold, yes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and okay place to work for
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON25 September 2017
it was far and we had to take a bus every morning for two hours and it was unpaid plus at the end of every shift we had to take 2 hours back too.
long hours and 4 hours are not paid for
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only temp workers
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON16 September 2017
A very difficult and non cohesive place to work. They only hired temps and they don't move anyone up unless they have years of experience in production.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad experience
Maintenance Mechanic/Millwright (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 July 2017
People lack basic work ethics, environment resembles one of the third world countries. Lot of politics and no appreciation to people who actually work
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More cons than pros
QA (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON18 July 2017
Cold, damp, fast paced jobs. Depending on what department, getting hired on may not be easy if your not a friend of some of the management. Most of the workers are great to work with and if your looking for long hours this is the place.
Pros
Workers are friendly
Cons
Low pay, employed thru the Agency
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON10 July 2017
It was fun to work and experience the people of Erie meats. I can truly appreciate the people and co workers and I really thankful to be part of the team.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Long drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, hard work rewarded
RTE Employee (Current Employee) –  Listowel, ON4 July 2017
It's a typical meat plant, fast paced operations and requires you to be on your toes. The management has done well in the past few months in organizing and managing people and focus has been on good quality products. Like any place, some supervisors and co-workers are hard to deal with, rest all are very good. Place is always busy and you get your 44 hours every week plus overtime depending where you work. If you are ready to work hard, there is definite potential to advance. Overall I like the place, decent money, great food in the cafeteria and scope to grow.
Pros
Scope to grow in production
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Gives a Lift
Packaging Operator (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON12 June 2017
Erie Meats is an example of a company that lifts people by having comfortable ameraties such as an excellent cafeteria with big inexpensive delicious meals and a company policy of 'no harassment'.
It's up to the workers to make it enjoyable & they mostly do. It's a hard working environment. I was there only a short time for two reasons: arthritis and threats. I was threatened quick but bad threats a half dozen times, such as "I hate you, boom" and one guy elbowed me in the back as I stood up from a crouch working on a box. It seemed deliberate & uncalled for.
As for sanitary, I was in packaging & we had white coats, triple gloves & hair nets and that was just to handle the sealed plastic packages so forget the liars, it's very very strict and people keep to it.
It was very multicultural which I enjoyed but it would be way way way better to have a friend that works there for moral support.
Pros
Good caf, coffee, toast for 25 cents!
Cons
Sinister talk from workers for nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
QA Technician (Current Employee) –  Listowel, ON30 May 2017
It's a fun place to work and I really enjoy the people, for the job itself it has it's challenges and constantly keeps you on your toes. There is always something new.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Cold environment, long hours, pay could use some adjusting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work for production
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON30 May 2017
it was unique how they make their meat but not a good work environment, As well most of the workers are kind and some supervisors other then the rest are really cruel because they dont like there job.
Pros
Cafeteria
Cons
Forced Overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary job
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Listowel, Ontario9 April 2017
Worked odd hours, often asked to work overtime which i did.Close to home and people were pleasant to work with.
Unfortunately i was let go on the third month due to lack of work.
Pros
close to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast environment
Packer (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON4 April 2017
for hot dog area you have to be alert in watching the hot dogs to get the bad ones out

fpr packaging you have to be fast and know what you need to do
Pros
alot of work
Cons
bad hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an ok environment
LEAD HAND (Current Employee) –  Listowel, ON22 March 2017
would be better if pay was better and benefits. management is different, not the greatest people to be in charge. some management have communication skill that lack.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing good
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Listowel, ON14 February 2017
It was the worst place i ever worked i would've been happier licking a hobos foot than standing in that place. I pray to god the place closes down its unsanitary.
Pros
touching sausage all day
Cons
people watching me touch my sausage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Erie Meats. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 49 reviews
57
412
314
28
18

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Erie Meats Reviews by Location