Employment and Social Development Canada Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very toxic racist and xenophobic atmosphere
Payment Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC23 July 2019
I worked in the call center and it was the worst experience of my career. I and other colleagues were bullied because we were not "Quebecois enough" for them. English was widely discouraged, even though it is a federal office where both languages should be accepted.
Management was not at all bilingual although it is a requirement.
Very dysfunctional, extremely counterproductive, no one really had a clue what their mandate was.
Complete disaster.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor impression
IM Broker (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC16 July 2019
Worst department I have worked for.
Disorganised, management is very clique-ish and I witnessed and reported multiple bullying cases.
Pros
benefits
Cons
soul eating
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a lot of work, negative atmosphere
Programmer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 November 2018
There isn't a lot of work, sometimes there are days where you have absolutely nothing to do, however none of your co-workers/superiors have anything to offer either. People in my team were generally pessimistic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A demanding but interesting job that is well-rewarded.
Research Assistant/Program Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 August 2018
The job is stressful because there is constant change and the information is complex and detailed. The job is rewarding if you like working with people and doing public service. There is less job security than in the past but management makes an excellent effort to protect contract employees. Salary and benefits are decent.
Pros
Variety of work.
Cons
Production expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Acting Policy Analyst (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC25 July 2018
Competitive salary, great pension and benefits. Very supportive place to work with good work-life balance. Learned so much from colleagues and supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Great teams
CO-OP Student (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC22 June 2018
I worked as a COOP and casual employee while at school. The team and management were excellent to accommodate a changing schedule. I would recommend to anyone to work at ESDC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and healthy environment to work in
Onsite Technical support / BlackBerry Support (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC19 June 2018
I like the environment, from the people I work with to the people I assist.
- I learn something new everyday
- management is very helpful
- there's nothing I hate about this job
Pros
There's a gym in the building
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
PM01 Integrity Services Officer (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL14 June 2018
Busy workload, good work/life balance. Employees receive paid vacation, other paid leave such as medical, family and personal. Employer has a pension plan and medical/dental benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Consultant/Info management Support & Training (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON2 June 2018
Reconnaissant effort personnel
Travail cordial et stimulant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team members and work/life blance
Policy Analyst-NationalYouth Employment Strategy (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC23 May 2018
ESDC offers a lot of opportunities to grow, learn new skills and work on different files. The salary and benefits are excellent. Management is supportive of employees gaining new experience and I've worked with so many wonderful people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC30 April 2018
Productive and fun workplace with opportunity to learn so much.
Great place to put to use your learning; and great office building. Sports facility and gym membership available.
Pros
Great people. You've got to be up and going
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management, direction and recognition of value of my work
Senior English and French technical writer/editor (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC24 April 2018
Excellent management, direction and recognition of value of my work. I was given adequate physical and online tools to complete the tasks and was reminded often of the high value of my work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience in servicing the community
Program Officer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 April 2018
Working here is a great place to develop your skills, service the community and help to make a difference. Some of the pros would be: flexible hours, indepth training, reasonable income and many locations and departments to work from.
Pros
flex. hours
Cons
routine work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
respectable employer, great community service provided
Business Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC15 March 2018
Fair employer, government, confidentiality, great community service/public services provided, great life/work balance, fair equitable employer, in house training opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place
Project Management Consultant (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC13 March 2018
It is a pleasure to provide my service as a project management consultant here. Great in all aspects of leadership, people and working atmosphere. Professionalism and team work well exhibited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Payment Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2018
as a payment service officer you answer calls from the Canadian public and enforce legislation of the employment insurance program. work place is extremely diverse and there is lots of opportunity to grow.
Pros
autonomy
Cons
average pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An extremely varied range of technologies
Architect (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 October 2017
An extremely varied range of technologies enabled the participation and many learning opportunities. Decision making was quick and supported by management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Business Expertise Consultant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 October 2017
Great overall work environment, benefits, job security and flexibility; strong commitment to mental health, indigenous awareness and positive space initiatives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Project Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 September 2017
I participated as a FIN Intern. They treated me as any other worker and with interesting responsibilities. My manager was very considerate and respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun lunch and learn activities, Positive work environment
Business Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 July 2017
Well-balanced between work life and social life. Very friendly staff and management is very supportive. The hardest part of the job is to do innovative things with less resources.
Pros
Flexible timings
Cons
Old technology
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Employment and Social Development Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 31 reviews
516
47
35
20
13

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture

Employment and Social Development Canada Reviews by Location