EMCO Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 50 reviews matching the search See all 112 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Helpdesk Support Technician (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 November 2018
1. Great place to work if you love to wear multiple hats.
2. Every day there is a new challenge which plays an important role in your professional growth.
3. Better management is one of the things that still needs to be improved
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great career choice, lot's of room for growth.
Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 August 2018
I've spent over a decade with Emco and I do not regret it. Plenty of training and opportunities plus some really great people. Each location is different but if the manager is a good leader the results are a great and lucrative place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hiring policy creates needless shortages...
Inside Sales Account Manager (Former Employee) –  British Columbia11 July 2018
A very ordinary work experience. Expected to wear all sorts of hats, but mostly about the sales aspect. A very non-sexy industry and you have to deal with the same customers/contractors on a daily basis, which can be difficult if you dislike some of those people. Hours are good. No late nights or weird weekend hours. Extremely limited opportunities for advancement. Under no circumstances should anyone consider the Management Trainee program. Its an excuse to work the snot out of some young people with very little chance of success.
Pros
Excellent opportunity to make some serious mony.
Cons
The company only hires those who hit a certain threshold on the Wonderlic test. It's ridiculous., No HR department. If your manager is a problem there is no one to address it to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer and team environment
Management Trainee (Current Employee) –  London, ON26 June 2018
EMCO promotes being an owner in the business, no matter what job you have - treat what you are doing with care and importance just like you would if it were your own business.

If you have ideas, they will listen to see if it is something that is feasible - change is possible here, there aren't 100 layers of red tape.

You need to be able to work within a team environment. You need to show initiative. Customers need to be top priority for you. You must have a very strong work ethic as you will be working hard.

Base pay I would say is in line with market, maybe a bit below, however with profit sharing you can earn much more.

This is not the right company for everyone - if you don't like change, aren't willing to work hard, don't value customers, can't handle multi-tasking, aren't willing to go above and beyond, then this is not the right place for you.
Pros
People, Profit Sharing, Opportunities to develop
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Potential for Success
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 April 2018
Difficult program to be hired into, but the EMCO family is incredibly devoted to those who show an aptitude for success, and are willing to work for it.
Pros
amazing benefits, great pay
Cons
really long hours, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Driver/Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON23 March 2018
I've been a Emco employee for 8 months now and i have to honestly say its been an amazing experience. I am a driver with Emco i must say it's challenging sometimes but i have a great support team back at the shop and office and also great management to guide me to the right direction. If you have an opportunity to work for a Emco i suggest to go for it you will not be disappointed at all.
Pros
Consistent, Good pay, great teams
Cons
Theres a lot to learn but that depends on how you look at it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Path to Success
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON19 March 2018
There is not one day at EMCO where I have felt as if my input and work was not needed or appreciated. Now, can I speak for every single person within the company and say that EMCO is the very best place to be in the world? No, I cannot with confidence make such a bold statement.

BUT! I can tell you that the best education I have ever received has been throughout my journey with the company. I have had my ups and downs like everyone else, learned a lot from my mistakes, and have risen above expectations to not only financially better myself, but the team that I work closely with each and every day. Working for EMCO is about "living into your dream;" and that dream can change as you grow into the individual you see yourself to be. What I can truly say is that with a great profit centre manager, a dependable team with a strong work ethic, the sky is truly the limit.

Success is not limited to a pay check deposited every two weeks, it is knowing that your goals can be stretched and achieved day after day.
Pros
Team Work
Cons
High Stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a career not just a job
Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2018
Emco is a great place to start your career or boost your existing one. You get to work with hand-picked co-workers since the company is only recruiting high-performing individuals by using a very thorough selection process. The company's culture is top notch, putting a lot of emphasis on people development, empowering its employees and offering substantial freedom to achieve your business goals. The company culture is based on very strong core values that are practiced by almost everyone starting with the President and down to the last employee. It is very entrepreneurial and frugal at its core. Profit sharing is key in Emco's bussiness model and it can boost your income substantially. Very good benefits package.
Pros
Focused on people development, strong leadership, great compensation package
Cons
Base salary is pretty average therefore profit sharing is needed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Showroom Consultant (Current Employee) –  Ontario27 February 2018
I have been at EMCO for just over a year now. The management and upper management in this company has been great in helping train me and prepare me for my job. EMCO gives each employee the control to be their "own boss", which helps you really enjoy your job because you get out of it what you put in.
The job is challenging at times but the networking system is fantastic when you need help or advice from other PC's.
This job definitely requires a positive attitude and a want to succeed.
Pros
Job Creativity
Cons
Lots of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork = Dreamwork
Sales Development Professional (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON27 February 2018
Working as a team alongside fantastic teammates is one of the main reasons EMCO is such a great place to work. Any direction you want your career path to go is a possibility. New ideas are always supported and encouraged which allows every teammate countless opportunities for innovation and growth. The workplace culture is always upbeat and happy, making every visitor feel like a welcomed part of the team.
Pros
Free Breakfast Fridays!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limitless Potential for Development!
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Stratford, ON27 February 2018
At EMCO you absolutely get what you put into it! If you are motivated and driven to succeed, your potential for business growth and monetary bonuses has no limit.
From the top down teammate development is the #1 priority in this organization, and the goal for every new hire is an eventual manager.
Expectations are high, but the rewards can be even higher.
BEST JOB I'VE EVER HAD!
Pros
Massive bonus potential
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for developing talent
Profit Centre Manager (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON26 February 2018
EMCO is a great place for recent grads looking to start a career. The Sales Development Program teaches the business from the ground up. You'll learn a variety of skills, from shipping/receiving, to inside sales, purchasing, inventory management and outside sales. At the end of the 3 year program you'll be well set to one day run your own EMCO if that's your goal. Management is engaged and supportive, and the culture based on EMCO's core values.
Pros
Great training, very competitive compensation
Cons
Long hours, fast pace, older computer systems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Review
Outside Account Manager Development (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 February 2018
The company is well run. Great starting position for students straight from school. Well structured program for professional development and advancement options.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place
NSC (Current Employee) –  Ontario3 February 2018
Not a good place if you are looking for advancement.
Felt somewhat betrayed from what was promised when interviewed as compared to reality
Given a second chance I will pass .
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
false promises
NSC Staff (Former Employee) –  London, ON31 January 2018
They lead you on and tell you things are going great and will go places and then BAM lay you off because work is slow. Unfortunately, it was disappointing and heartbreaking when the company, corporation and management were disorganized. Talking to variety of different roles within the country, the consensus was the same, everyone is walking on eggshells and scared of being let go and not being honest and true.
Pros
travel
Cons
false promises
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Customer Service/ Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Alberta19 January 2018
Good co workers. Management treated you well if they liked you. Decent pay, not bad benefits. Profit sharing. Management could using improving, and be managers, not let the staff deal with issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofitable for 5 years before i joined
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON3 January 2018
Brought new buisness but at low margins
But getting mfg rebates

Low margins due to lost buisness over last years and 9 different wholesale companies
In east end of town within 12 km



Employees made bonus in 2016 and will increase in 2017
Pros
Run as your own business
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities
Management Trainee (Current Employee) –  Southern Alberta1 December 2017
Lot of support for self development. Opportunities to grow and move through the company. Training is provided and self development is encouraged. Salaries are competitive and the EMCO profit sharing can be very large based on performance. Can work long hours but it is with great people. Fun customer focused culture.
Pros
Great team and great customers
Cons
Lots to do, always
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work overall.
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 October 2017
Great, friendly co-workers. Had alot of fun working at Emco but also had alot of work. Perfect balance to keep the body and mind at one, especially in a warehouse.
Pros
Annual raises, Weekends off, great staff and co-workers
Cons
Lots of the forklifts werent maintained properly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably the worst place I've ever worked
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC16 September 2017
This was by far the worst place I ever worked at!! in order to make it anywhere within the company one would have to be within the inner circle of the management and if you fell out of that inner circle your time there was very short.
Pros
Slow most days
Cons
Long hours, management is horrible, pay is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at EMCO Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 112 reviews
541
433
321
26
111

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture