Elephant and Castle Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance for management team...
Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 March 2018
As a manager, I worked 55-60 hours/week with no weekends. Only pseudo weekends on Tuesday and Wednesday which meant alienation from my friends and family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an good place to work
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 February 2018
No break and no free meal and also never get salary raised not an good place to work it’s kind of slave place don’t waste your time on here I worked the franchise in Alberta but this one is so hard to work and never get 40 hrs per week
Pros
No free food
Cons
Very short hours never get 40 per week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well run English Pub attached to cites' busiest shopping mall.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 November 2017
The food was excellent. Fresh and authentic. I started as a bartender and moved to supervisor and then assistant manager and manager.
Very busy , high paced restaurant and bar.We often had lineups out both doors.Catered to the downtown business market, the shopping mall market and the beer market.Many long term staff and promotions from within .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace with constant customer flow and decent management
Bartender/Server (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 February 2017
The typical day is like any serving job, set up, serve, tear down. The management is decent and can be flexible if you need. The people and workplace culture are great and the best part about working here.
Pros
Constant Customer Flow
Cons
Very Corporate Minded Business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 January 2017
Before it shut down this was the best job I ever had, we were a family and it was the besy tips i have ever made. I was really good at this job and I miss it very much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 October 2016
I would recommend anyone interested working in food and hospitality to work at Elephant & Castle. The management team is wonderful, coworkers are wonderful, the place is ran immaculately.
The only flaw that I can point out are that on some shifts there was inadequate staffing. Aside from this, they are a wonderful company.
Pros
Discounted food, excellent work/life balance
Cons
Fast-paced environment bad for non-multitaskers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay, good people
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2016
Pay is not really great but work environment and people are positive and respectful. Staff meal and breaks good and staff pretty happy.
Overall its a good place to work for younger, more inexperienced cooks.
Pros
Staff meal and respectful management
Cons
Poor pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people not the company
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 February 2016
I have worked here on and off for 4 years.
Management is amazing. The work isn't to intense.
The company that owns it isn't the best.
The pay is terrible and they don't care about the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to start out in the service industry
Bartender/Server/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 March 2014
Amazing atmosphere, amazing staff and strong team oriented involvement.
Pros
Training under my sister (She spared me little room for error)
Cons
Mismanagmenet/Ownership constantly changing hands
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 February 2014
Great atmosphere. People were fantastic. Always a good time. Felt like we were a family.
Pros
Met alot of diffrent people
Cons
head opffice never in tune
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for the 2 yrs i worked there i had fun i enjoyed my job and the people i worked with
Dishwasher / Food prep / Bus person (Former Employee) –  London, ON5 April 2013
from 9am to5pm clean dinning room vac all the carpets 10am help with food prep 11am costumers started showing up for lunch made sure all pots and pans dishes siverware and cups glasses were put away properly ran dishwasher from 11am to 530pm helped chef prepare dishes made sure cups were out glass were out at the stations and all the dishes were full after dinner was done started cleanning the kitchen when i was finished that helped preparing for the supper rush the last things i had to do was emptied all the garbage cans in the kitchen and the main garbage was taken out to the dumpsters. i got along with managment i enjoyed working with my coworkers the most enjoyable part of the job was knowing i had a job and i did a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

See more Elephant and Castle reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Elephant and Castle. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 42 reviews
510
413
314
24
11

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Elephant and Castle Reviews by Location