Elections Canada Employee Reviews

Found 349 reviews matching the search See all 353 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, short period of work
Special Ballot Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Camrose, AB23 April 2019
Working during the election for Elections Canada is certainly and interesting position. The only concern is that unless you are an Electoral Officer the period of employment is quite short as it only runs the length of the election (so typically a month, at most).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience beginning through the end
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC23 April 2019
Badly organized and will not pay you properly. They are now asking me for money they paid after wrongfully firing me. The management is useless and not helpful if you want to start career

Stay away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Electoral Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 April 2019
Please don't do this job, it's not fun at all but it's well paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only worked on elections day
Teller (Former Employee) –  L'ange Gardien, QC22 March 2019
I cannot say much, only that the location was not ideal. I was only hired for the day of the elections to count ballets. Over all: they gave us no food or water.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Pole Clerk (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC20 March 2019
The management takes in account your work ethic and what you would like to advance to and makes a plan to build you into that role. There is job shadowing available if you would like to consider a role in the company you may not be sure.

Management was very involved and supportive. They give you maximum training and also communicating within emails for any questions.

The company has very high expectations for reaching your sales goals and making recommendation but it has absolutely no commission at all which is a terrible part.

Overall, it is a very good company to work for and amazing people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avis
Secrétaire de bureau de vote (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 March 2019
Emploi d'un jour qui s'est déroulé lors des élection Fédéral
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and multicultural work enviornment
Greeter (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON27 February 2019
This was a temporary volunteer position so I cannot speak to full time employment (hence the low salary rating). But my brief experience there was wonderful. It was a very multicultural and understanding work environment
Pros
Wonderful management and enviornment
Cons
Volunteer position, not job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Electoral Geospatial Data Technician (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QC19 February 2019
Full of people who are very knowledgeable and hard workers. Enjoyable to be a part of the workplace. Areas for advancement can be challenging when not an election year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position
Electoral Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 February 2019
My role here was very short lived but it was enjoyable. I had an amazing experience working with different levels of experts and learned a whole lot, especially since i was working with the public sector
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 February 2019
i learned how to do elections work and have done it numerous times. the workplace is regular people like me which is nice you dont need any specific skills to do the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but temporary
Revising Agent (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NL5 February 2019
Loved it.

Loved the people, loved the atmosphere but I knew it was all going to end sooner rather than later.

There was also this stress around the election that came from party vs party that fell on us but it wasn’t so bad as it was different for myself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job with good environment
Office of the Chief Electoral Officer (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC31 January 2019
This job was stable, and I had a good manager that was always eager to help me and make sure i'm doing my work properly. Unfortunately, the work itself wasn't for me.
Pros
Stable, Management
Cons
The work itself
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting to be involved with the federal election
Deputy Returning Officer (Former Employee) –  Brighton, ON28 January 2019
A demanding job as there were protocols that of course had to be followed. Satisfying to be part of the democratic process in Canada and interesting to meet different people.
Pros
Satisfaction of being part of the election process
Cons
Long day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice time meeting new people
Information Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 January 2019
I met a lot of good people working at the elections. Fun times that I look forward to yearly. Easy going job but busy enough that you won't fall asleep
Pros
Laid back environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Petit travail
Greffier (Former Employee) –  Terrebonne, QC22 January 2019
Bon quand les evenements arrivent pour de jeunes ados qui souhaite tenter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Poll Clerk/DRO (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS26 December 2018
I was a poll clerk, these jobs are only around when there is an election, every 4 years.
great to meet and chat with people
can be stressful when you do the count at poll closing
Pros
fun job
Cons
long day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed interacting with people from a wide range of background
Information Officer (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 November 2018
excellent work environment, god learning opportunity, working with the public and get to interact with people from a wide range of background, proud to be part of the voting proces and fulfill your citizen responsabilitu
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting
Registration Officer (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB2 November 2018
I love politics so the job experience was very interesting. We had quite a few trainings before the elections and everything was very well explained. Election day went Great!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an excellent place to work.
TECHNICAL DEPUTY RETURNING OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 November 2018
It was an excellent place to work. short well paying hours, lots of benefits, respectable helpful coworkers excellent teamwork despite the fact that not all the government teams work well together.
Pros
high pay
Cons
long training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Elections Registration Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 October 2018
very good experience would do it again and again if i could. the manger that day was very nice and welcoming and overall made us feel important, valued
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Elections Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 353 reviews
5185
4111
343
28
16

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture