Edmonton John Howard Society

Edmonton John Howard Society Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Caseworker/Satellite and Donnelly House (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 June 2019
JHS is a good place for students wanting to explore a profession in community engagement, addictions, and working with vulnerable members in society to include those who may have had contact with the justice system.
Pros
Learning environment
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Victims Support
Victims' Assistance Program Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 March 2019
This was my first practicum and incredibly challenging. The supervisor and a volunteer seemed to have it in for me and may not have made it if it wasn't for my college placement supervisor.
Pros
Office hours
Cons
Very very clicky
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting work dynamic
Caseworker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 January 2019
Working at the halfway house was fun. I met some good casual co-workers there and that I enjoyed them. The permanent staff were quite crabby most of the time and very unprofessional with each other often.
My immediate supervisor was fantastic and couldn't ask for better support. The manager of the house was good however I had very little interaction with them due to my shift work but I would still rate her highly.
Not much was done in the way of discipline when needed, but overall I enjoyed myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse work environment
Support and mentor youth, ages 15 to 18 (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2017
Working with the young men who were coming out of jail and dealing with their addiction issues was interesting. The staff and the young men worked well together in the joint goal of teaching independence.
Pros
work hours
Cons
not sure what to do sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
social servie worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 July 2017
Great place to work.
A lot of in house opportunities to improve skills through training offered.
Well managed
supportive, positive work place culture with staff and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe working environment
part time case worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 November 2016
John Howard is good to its employees. They are understanding of life and do what they can to be flexible with their schedule to help suit your needs. Their salary is decent too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 May 2016
This was a great place to work. I opened mail and distributed it, ordered office supplies, secured catering for events and booked flights and lodging for clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun, Rewarding
Laborer / Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 January 2014
Great place to work, they value their employees and reward them accordingly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Edmonton John Howard Society. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 9 reviews
55
42
31
21
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Edmonton John Howard Society Reviews by Location