Econo Lodge Employee Reviews

Found 56 reviews matching the search See all 794 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job for a short time but INCREDIBLY unsafe job.
Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Ontario5 May 2019
Front desk is a great job for getting a career started in an office setting, most guests are great, coworkers are nice, no racism, etc. but only for a short period. Security does not exist at Econo Lodge. YOU are the only thing standing between the crazy person coming in off the street (and it's daily) and the guests you're expected to protect. Additionally, hours will be sucked out by people who get paid more and do much less and more work placed on the people who work harder and get paid less, only for those hard workers to be told they cannot exceed 6 hours in a day but are given 10 hours of work.
Pros
Discounts on hotels
Cons
No workplace safety
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Enviroment
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Hinton, AB3 March 2019
Other employees and management are polite and helpful when training. It is a fast paced environment and a physically demanding job. Good hours though if you have kids
Pros
good hours
Cons
fast-paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary work
VENDOR WAREHOUSE (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 November 2018
I couldn't see myself working here for a prolonged period of time. Managers did not value safety in the war place. Coworkers were great though and I had fun on the job with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great quality work culture
accommodation supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB22 October 2018
I was very happy and motivated there . The best part of the job was the job itself.The people here were friendly and ready to help you anytime you need there help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 September 2018
Only 1 Manager there who works in the Sports bar next door and the Bar Manager there are the only 2 people there that actually know stuff and they work hard.....
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 June 2018
Working for a choice motel was a great experience. The staff were great and learned lots. The problem for me was i was straight night shift and with a young family it just wasn't working.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I can grab anything in the fridge during break time :') hihi
Housekeeping and Front Disk (Current Employee) –  Fox Creek, AB19 April 2018
It's a good company. I just kinda hate the pillows when I'm assign as housekeeping because it's has different sizes. I kinda hate it because I can't make a well made pillow because of the different sizes.
Pros
friendly workmates and they share foods to me hihihi
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON14 March 2018
A typical day at the econolodge is making sure all dirty rooms are cleaned and stay over guests are taken care of.I have learned patience, to be more detailed oriented and guest satisfaction in the time I have been there . The most enjoyable part of working there is there is always something new to learn about the job .
Pros
fast working environment
Cons
not enough housekeeping staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON5 February 2018
Wonderful place to work. I really enjoy working for Sharan, he is smart and cares about his staff. I work 3-11 check in various guests, forcast how the day is going to go, sale wise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC12 January 2018
It was very stressful!!!!! the manger at the time had no kitchen knowlegde and did little to help any situation. Un knowaglable co-workers who did not take care of own equipment nor the companies.
Pros
i got my apprenticeship hours from it, and some of the waitresses were super nice to work with
Cons
almost everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place if you have the right manager
Front Desk Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC27 November 2017
It's an OK place to work, pay is terrible, no real chance for growth within the company. Management is what will make or break the place & this one has had a lot of terrible GMs with the exception of 1
Pros
8 hrs days
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and good people
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 September 2017
very busy job worked threw stampeed lots of people checking in and out cleaned rooms and had lots of interaction with people of all different cultures and backgrounds
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interesting
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC28 August 2017
I enjoyed working at the motel, since it was a new experience for me, but management was out of the question, altough I had the opportunity to meet new friends,which was a bonus, but the hardest part of my job is getting the manager to like me.
Pros
New friends
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun working
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 August 2017
Busy working day. Learned customer skill. Easy going management. Always busy in the summer time. Hard work in busy time. Enjoy working. Make lots of new friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and fun workplace.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON6 August 2017
The time I spent at Econo Lodge was an enjoyable work experience. Employees at Econo Lodge were very friendly with enough patience to train a new employee.
Pros
Fun, friendly environment.
Cons
Long irregular hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to work!
Resident Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 July 2017
The CEO/owner is kind and good-hearted. He takes really great care of his employees. He allows us to make significant decisions when necessary. Best of all, everybody is friends with everybody!
Pros
Free lodging
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience.
Kitchen Helper cleaner inventory (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 June 2017
Pleasant Wonderful co workers and Management.
Everybody would help each other get the job don
we all would work as a team, great communication between coworkers.
Pros
every one was so eager to get the job don and to work together and help eachother.
Cons
Not enough HRS in the Fall and winter months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experienced
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 May 2017
Great Experienced and learned so much and great management and enjoy working in Econo Lodge .......................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Réceptionniste (Current Employee) –  Saint-apollinaire, QC24 April 2017
J'adore travaillé à l'hôtel le seul hic est le salaire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail très intéressant
Réceptionniste (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 April 2017
Mon avis est que le travail fut merveilleuse car le service a la clientèle est mon atout. Les heures passent et filent.
Pros
snak gratuit
Cons
rien de négatif
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Econo Lodge. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 794 reviews
5211
4173
3214
294
1102

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture