Durham College Employee Reviews

Found 86 reviews matching the search See all 87 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interactive job environment
TEST CENTRE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Oshawa9 March 2019
I learned and gained a lot of experience and customer service skills while working in the test centre. According to Canadian working experience I see myself as a worthy candidate in working such an amazing environment where we had to deal with printing, managing, consulting and helping students and teachers with their queries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to hone skills
Game Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON6 March 2019
I worked here while studying sport management, during which time I was able to hone the skills I learnt in the classroom and apply them to the real world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Durham College is a good place, but everyday I needed to pay parking fee, and that's not cheap.
Administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  2000 Simcoe Street North17 January 2019
I am missing that year when I worked in Durham College, but the distance is far from my home.

I didn't have enough extra money to pay my parking , so I took bus everyday to work, but I needed to ride a bike to get to bus stop. During the half year, I lost my 3 bikes. That's very awful memory.
Pros
good culture and good environment
Cons
hours were not good enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun summer job, and learned a lot, and got to be outside
GROUNDSKEEPER (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 January 2019
I would arrive about 10-15 minutes before i started at 7:30 and as soon as everyone arrived, we discussed how our day would plan out and work together to finish our tasks in the most efficient ways. hardest part was learning to use the equipment, best part was working outside, getting a tan and enjoying the time there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Professor (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON24 November 2018
I am a part time professor there and love that I am able to create my own design of how I will deliver the curriculum aligned to the objectives set out by the college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Financial Aid Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON26 October 2018
Great people
Great atmosphere
Great connections
Nothing bad to say about working for Durham College
It has changed my life for the better and I am excited to see what is in store going forward!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning place
Help desk Tech Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 August 2018
Good experience learned about printer support and using Windows 8 Operating System and having recent in house experience in Desktop Suppport PC setup and file restoration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a student here
Beverage and Hotel operations, Marketing, Business (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON19 July 2018
I am just a student here, but I love Durham College especially the Whitby Campus. It is a very hands on place to learn, with knowlegeable professors who are active in the Hospitality industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp position
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON17 July 2018
Worked with the Durham College research department for a short time on research project - there was some issues with paperwork however the issue was solved quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place
Designer (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON10 June 2018
great workplace , productive and fun place, multiple culture, helpful and cooperating staff, multicultural environment, great working environment and great compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Study
Writing Tutor (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON10 May 2018
I worked there as a work-study student. The pay was above minimum because I was Peer Writing Tutor. Worked around your schedule, and I was given up to 12 hours per week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Full Stack Developer (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON4 May 2018
Great place to work. Anyone who works for Durham College can feel the TLC everywhere. Students are fun, the environment is up-to-date, and the staff are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great Team work
Electro Mechanical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON1 May 2018
great Environment good learning place meet great people, very professional excellent team best place to be,helpful in learning always willing to assist
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Math peer tutoring
MATH TUTOR (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON9 April 2018
Friendly staff and students, but still has a professional atmosphere. Encouraging and supportive co workers. Also so a great place to further your education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a student to make extra money
Programming Tutor (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON28 March 2018
The staff is very easy to work with and do the part of setting up students around your schedule so you don't have to deal with that headache. I unfortunately got stuck with a few students who just wanted me to do the work for them but the students who legitimately wanted to learn were really fun to work with/
Pros
Get paid for helping students with classes you have already passed
Cons
Some students use it as a way to have you do the work for them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great opportunity
Economics Instructor (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON26 March 2018
Great institution! Work as a contractor that allows me to have a life balance. I would prefer to have more courses to teach, but the management have an open door policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
few positions here
Teachers assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON23 March 2018
teachers assistant to 2 teachers in data labs
assisted in helping other students in lotus and word

lab monitor in the summer
to ensure the computer lab servers remained operational
Pros
work on my own
Cons
hours were mostly during spares and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work..
Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON8 March 2018
Good place to work. Good benefits IF you get full-time. Tends to replace full-time staff with contract staff if a full-time person leaves. Makes it impossible for Durham College alumni to become anything higher than a Manager with only a Durham College diploma, other wise you need a University Degree.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
too many contract staff, not enough full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
durham college
culture / activities assitstant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON23 January 2018
they really try hard to help the staff but are not always honest hard to be honest with everyone but sometimes it would be beneficial for everyone to be able to trust
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, fair education. ASC exceptional.
ISL Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Durham Region, ON24 December 2017
Durham College is a good place to get a fair education. Their Access and Support Centre at the Whitby Campus is beyond Satisfactory which is perfect. They service their students at their individual needs and not at the needs of the college as a whole.

Overall, Durham is good.
Pros
Amazing ASC Staff
Cons
Poor parking at Whitby Campus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Durham College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 87 reviews
545
427
312
22
11

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture