DSW Canada Employee Reviews

Showing all 8 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for Everyone
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 January 2019
If you have back problems this might not be for you, you’ll be on your feet with no breaks your entire shift. The only people who get breaks are the managers or staff working a full 8hr shift. The managers are pushy and rude, if you don’t push every single ‘shoe lover’ to sign up, you get talked down to and scolded. All that matters is sales and conversion rates, not the customers. Maybe it’s for you, but it’s definitely not for me.
Pros
30% discount
Cons
No breaks, pushy managers, nobody will ever cover your shift, sales and conversions are more important than customer experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work Overall
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC23 July 2018
When I worked here, management was available almost all the time to see and they recognize associates over the headsets for doing great things and update us on where we were on the sales goal for the day, basically encouraging us to do better if sales goal has not yet been met. As a student, like many others we are stuck with the minimum wage and will not receive any raises until the minimum wage rises.
Pros
Management is encouraging
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured and simple workplace.
Part-Time Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 July 2018
Training is taken seriously and skills (customer care, merchandising, cashiering, store operations) are taught early. Most days are spent on the sales floor dealing with customers. Employees are open and welcoming. Customer service can be the hardest part of the job but also the most rewarding for an individual that likes meeting new people each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON27 January 2018
Helped open a new location a year ago, and it was one of the worst work experiences i've ever had!
Management was a mess, and we NEVER received health and safety in the few months i worked there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of great product
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON1 June 2017
at the beginning the employee discount was really good.
That changed along with many policies and procedures that didn't have the employee best interest.
overall not what I expected for a large corporation.
Pros
the associates
Cons
discount, payrol, Gm, sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON21 February 2017
Lots of hours, nice environment, and co-workers
I did lots of setting up, interpersonal work
Fit and style customers- favorite element was working with the customers
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
little/no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work part time
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON30 October 2016
Pros:
- management team and coworkers are likeable and friendly
- fun environment to work in
- flexible schedule, good work-life balance
- employees get a 30% discount on everything including clearance
- we call customers "shoelovers"

Cons:
- duties can get really repetitive and boring (mostly making sure shoes are in the right place and that customers are ok)
- we have to shove the shoe lovers rewards program down customers' throats sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DSW Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 8 reviews
51
42
32
22
11

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.9Culture