DoubleTree by Hilton Employee Reviews

Found 50 reviews matching the search See all 3,254 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Current employee (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON28 January 2019
Honest. Open. And an over all family.

They accomodate everything they can. It is a family environment so you feel comfortable.

Strong management. Great owners.
Pros
Accomodating
Cons
No holidays off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is very Excellent Place to work
Any job (Former Employee) –  Any where at Canada24 January 2019
This is very good important place for work i am really interested to do my job here in this good company Double Tree by Hilton i hope i will get my any job in this company very soon i always hope to come to Canada and do my hardworking job soon
Pros
Free lunches also
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
trouble
General Manager - Certified (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC28 December 2018
constant turnover in management. keep looking this is not the place to be if you want to advance in any company. They do not follow brand standards do not do it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 November 2018
good place to work with excellent colleagues. Busy place and enjoyable environment. work life balance was good and time off was given. Free lunches in staff café were good
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work!
Breakfast Server (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS5 September 2018
I didn't want to leave here but because of better work else where and my significant other I decided to move to Calgary instead but I would recommend this place for sure! Felt very appreciated as an employee here!
Pros
Co-workers, tips
Cons
Some snobby guests but the work place environment makes up for this!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn over rate is extremely high
Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 August 2018
- unreasonable work expectations are placed on employees, constantly being given other employees work to do after some one quits and no one is ever hired to replace them
- expectation is to work a 10+ hour day but only paid for 8
- shamed for leaving on unpaid lunch breaks
- office conditions are horrible, leaks from ceilings daily
Pros
free lunches, good employee travel program
Cons
working conditions, management, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very awful place to work
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON9 August 2018
Very hard work with minimal hours and pay. Management rush you all day long to finish your rooms. You have to get there a hour early before your shift is starting to stuck your buggie and they dont let you punch-in in the time clock. Angry manager all the time lots of yelling and mistreating. Very awful company.
Pros
Nothing at all
Cons
Everything : pay, hours, no tips
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
house person
House Person (Current Employee) –  London, ON7 August 2018
stripped rooms took garbage out checked pool ares loaded towels in to the pool area and gym and used dish washer to clean glasses, check bathrooms, clean elevators, mopped floors
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
contact my hotel
Concierge reception (Current Employee) –  100 queens ca te southkensington3 August 2018
nice gentil speak with the guest enjoy with as in hotel a lot .many guest dar very happy jucăușe i help night with bagagge and i boeing tee coffee and pilow dove i bucking for all bus tour tickets to theatre and winchwster castel .i speak italian romanian japan language and french level medium
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place to work with as a night audit
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 June 2018
People at night audit are treat you bad doesnt have moral composition to work with, they yell at you throw things at you, i
you might think they are your real friends instead they are your enemies stab you behind your back
they laid me off saying that i was not meeting their standard,
is stead taking off for family emergency after i came back from my own dad who was bleeding out at the hospital next day they told me to come early and they canned me.
this are the worst people to work with at the front desk wit
got canned after 9 months gave it my all still nothing of they will deny everything blame people life little people trying to serve in toronto
Pros
work day of my life it was like night mare
Cons
hilton doesnt meet my standard to work their
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Family
Manager on Duty / Senior Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 May 2018
My Family, I will miss seeing them every day. It's a hard job but a fair one. I'm only adding filler since this job site is forcing me to say more about something than I feel I need to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful facility that sells itself
SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK1 May 2018
Enjoyable place to work. Team atmosphere. Not much room to advance a career. GM was fantastic to work with, encouraged a family like work environment.
Pros
Free lunch, parking and dry cleaning
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware of housekeeping staff and management
Housekeeping/ Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON13 March 2018
Supervisors steal tips , not accountable for errors . Manager is a joke and she plays favourites with senior staff. Beware new comers won’t last long.
Pros
Benefits upper management
Cons
All housekeeping staff and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hotel
Host at the Stages (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 January 2018
Great hotel to make a great career . lots of opportunity to make your way in the hotel industry . plus it belongs to the Hilton family.
Good management .
Pros
Good on training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lobby Person (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON3 November 2017
it was good and nice working condition. It help me learn more about hotel industry. The coworkers are also helping. Management is also good and helping me
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-op job
Room Attendant (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON22 October 2017
Need to work very very very hard, everyday after work felt so tired.They wanna cut your hours as much as they can, not enough hours to be a full time job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment
Building Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 October 2017
Love the friendly environment, employees.
Fun to work in maintenance department.
Learned and experienced HVAC, plumbing, masonry, painting and Pool operating.
Enjoyable part is every Thursday maintenance dept and housekeeping dept tea break, where we discuss the room preventive maintenance.
Pros
free lunch and dinner
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved the employee break room
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK6 September 2017
I learned how to clean the hotel rooms to the hotel standards, I cleaned hallways, carpets, bathrooms, changed beds, washed tables, I was expected to clean 18 rooms in an 8 hour day, sometimes I was able to clean more rooms if I had lots of stays that day. the hardest part of the job was keeping track of time, ex, 30 mins to a check out room: I would end up cleaning the same room for 35 mins. 15 mins for a stay room I would finish early but the room was still cleaned to very high standards asked by my boss. I loved working there so much
!!
Pros
Discounted lunch, which was still very good food
Cons
they treated me like a was a super robot who could clean extra fast, i was still training and learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wild Sage Restaurant Server- Satisfactory
SERVER AND BARTENDER (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK25 July 2017
Overall a fun place to work. You meet a ton of awesome people, with Good pay and great benefits. You learn to work with many cultural background and to effectively communicate . Restaurant management could use some more training to create an efficient and supportive team environment. Hardest part of the job is being pulled in a million directions, as this position requires you to run room service and food to Escape Manor, while serving tables in the restaurant. Management having too high of expectations. Most enjoyable part is the cultural melting pot work environment among employees.
Pros
Cheap on-job meals, 50% off food, Union based
Cons
Starting low seniority, Union based
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hotel is Great as is Upper Management, immediate supervisor is not accountable for her errors and can't be trusted as she stole from me
Lobby Attendant / Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON24 April 2017
Hotel is Great as is Upper Management, immediate supervisor is not accountable for her errors and can't be trusted as she stole from me and I have the pictures to prove it.
Pros
Great place and awesome to work for as upper management and owners are great
Cons
Housekeeping manager needs to be avoided until replaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DoubleTree by Hilton. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,254 reviews
51.2K
4981
3670
2203
1197

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture