DOT FURNITURE Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Despite of growing to 23 stores still feels like a family business.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON31 March 2019
I have been working for D.O.T. for 12 years now and I still love it!
We all work closely together on a very friendly family like atmosphere.
I really do believe its a fun place to work!
Pros
Staff discount - leaders on patio furniture... lots of new stuff every year
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company I have ever worked for, or could imagine working for
Sales (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON12 October 2018
The Manager at the Pickering store is the least friendly (to both customers and staff) and least qualified to Manage I have ever witnessed. I worked 7 days a week, 76 hours a week for the equivalent of $38,000 annually. Beyond pathetic. The job requires heavy lifting and getting yelled at by the Manager several times per hour. And listening to the Manager yell at customers (who does that?)
Pros
None, Im not exagerating
Cons
Google cons for workplace and just list all of them here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patio Furniture is more than meets the eye
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON12 July 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the finishing results after rearranging and reorganizing the show room when new pieces came in.
The most tiresome part was unpackaging, building and moving heavy furniture since most of the time we did not have warehouse assistance and were constantly expected to move furniture ourselves. Was not a great experience for my back!
Pros
Seeing new trends each season
Cons
The hours and work really conflicted with my school
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at keeping you busy
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 March 2018
I like working here because I like to stay busy at all times, I found that management did a good job training me and I have all the tools I need to perform the job well and succeed. They encourage lots of self motivation and reward staff that take initiative.
Pros
Good workplace environment
Cons
Lots of physical labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't get lied too it's not worth working here
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON4 March 2018
Don't get me wrong If you have no other choice go ahead but you will not like it there.

-Bad organization
- Horrible management
-pay = meh
-slow when it comes to making business
- kind of a dead end place to work to be honest
Pros
Decent experience
Cons
Everything else once you realize it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 February 2018
Probably the worst company I have ever worked for. If it was between this and panhandling, you should probably choose panhandling, avoid at all costs.
Pros
None.
Cons
Horrible management, Ceo, and work culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look forward to coming in to work everyday.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON29 January 2018
Great place to work!!! All employees work together!!! Head office is always available to us. It is a place of employment that is never dull and always learning new things!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feels like having another family
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 January 2018
I love working for DOT, as a manager I try and make all of my staff feel like they are part of our family. Even my bosses make me feel like an important part of the DOT culture. I've been working for DOT 8 years now and the company has given me ample support and growth opportunities. Anyone looking to start or grow their career in sales or retail I would recommend working with DOT.
Pros
Lots of opportunities for everyone
Cons
Working weekends and evenings
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse worker
Warehouse worker/Delivery person (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON25 January 2018
General labourer. Helped assemble tables, chairs, etc. The most enjoyable part of the job was driving around to houses and putting together furniture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work - small company but going places
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2018
3 yrs I saw major and positive changes in the company. New product new ideas continually growing. Open to suggestions . You do have to work hard and sometimes long hours but product is nice and affordable. Good commission structure . Not alot of head office personal makes it hard to get answers sometimes but everyone really does care .
Pros
customers really like product / everyone is really nice
Cons
long hours old computer systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dull, unhealthy work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  North York, ON22 January 2018
the manager was very rude, unwelcoming and discriminatory, shifts were not fairly given out. complaints were often discarded without any action being done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive, fast pace work environment with great co-workers.
Senior Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 October 2017
I have been with DOT for 5 seasons. In that time I have had the opportunity to grow and develop a career. It is never a dull moment during patio season. You get to help customers make their outdoor living space something truly special.
Pros
Reasonable work hours, Good people, every day is something new
Cons
Seasonal business, many jobs are part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
home delivery (Former Employee) –  worked 3 years10 June 2017
most mickey mouse company out there , cheaply made expensive product from china, low pay , dangerous work environment many many safety infringments. A sexist , racist and discriminating work environment, substance abusing on the job managers ( home delivery dept. mgr and warehouse mgr)

this is absolutely a dead end job with some of the scum of the earth co-workers with a turn over rate so high it will make your head spin.



BEWARE stay away
Pros
none
Cons
everything you can imagine
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun summer job
Sales Associate, Seasonal (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 May 2017
D.O.T. Furniture was a fun summer job, that's when the store has more traffic. Long days but good co-workers made the day go buy. Have to be good with handling customer service and keeping calm with stressed customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There's better
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON26 January 2017
Certain stores have terrible managers.

Head office isn't much help.

Possible to make some good friends that make the days bareable.

Do not recommend though.
Pros
Possible to make good friends
Cons
Weak discount, no company support usually.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
DATA ENTRY CLERK (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 January 2017
It's a great place to work. Excellent people, great environment. Work flow is decent. I don't have any complaints about working here. All year round busy.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love london manager
Furniture sales associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON11 January 2017
overall a great company..wish there was more commision on the sales you get as its only 1% and some days you only make 200-300$ in sales. but in the spring its great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away if you can
xxx (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 June 2016
want to work 24/7 and have no money ( except only few ) ...go and work there . Company is run as a very small business . Nobody can do anything with out owner approval...
Pros
not much
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading Management Poor Pay for amount of work
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON12 May 2016
Management lied about income and forced me back to work with a broken foot avoiding workmans comp. Took the pay for any assistants to help operate the store off of my Salary. Highly Do no recommend this company
Pros
Nice furniture but overpriced
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and Friendly work envionment
SALES ASSOCAITE (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 February 2016
I really enjoyed working here and became friends with my co-workers. A typical day consisted of talking to people that came to visit the store and talking with my co-workers. Management is very understanding and friendly
Pros
Friends
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DOT FURNITURE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 24 reviews
58
42
34
23
17

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture