Donato Salon and Spa Employee Reviews in Mississauga, ON

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was just a co-op student
Mississauga - Hairstylist Assistant Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 February 2019
i did not get paid so i cannot comment on salary and job security. I was a hairstylist assisstant, the staff for the most part was very friendly but they occasionally have their drama like any other work place. i wish i had gotten a job offer there
Pros
Amazing work environment
Cons
Occasionally long hours and working holidays, constantly on your feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude People
Makeup Artist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 September 2018
staff was rude. customers complained a lot about how they would be treated or about how overpriced it is to get your hair done there. but no one ever really cared.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to work with people who understand the background of beauty
MAKEUP ARTIST/ RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 March 2018
Working with inspirational artist that make you want to create different work. Ive learned how to be able to interact with many different cultures. The hardest part of the job would be when the work place is not as busy, and the most enjoyable part is your co workers become family.
Pros
friendly work place
Cons
different hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ontario14 January 2018
If you enjoy working with hair all day and are good at small talk you will love it. The contract is pretty strict though and turned me away from the job.
Pros
Long hours
Cons
Strict Contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Make-up Artist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 October 2017
learned a lot. great employees; so friendly and very talented. had fun working here. love sharing my knowledge to clients and helping them out. did not even feel like I was at "work"
Pros
great people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being in the call center/CSR ok experience for young people
Call Center Agent (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 July 2017
A good place to have a part time job. Lots of young people. No room to grow, poor pay, no benefits. Staff are not treated very well, they are just looking to make as much and save enough money as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Makeup Artist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 May 2017
Donatos was a very nice experience. management and employees were all easy to contacted when needed. overall a every fun and uplifting environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 July 2016
Worked in a close environment, was able to build relationships with other employees. Management was always available and supportive with any task that required upper management support. Was able to learn about budgeting, scheduling and delegating. The client base is very friendly, was able to build relationships with clients as well.
Pros
Flexible Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really good experience, learnt a lot in a short period of time
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 April 2013
Always had productive days, everyone was really nice.
I wish it was fulltime like expected, hoped for a better salary and a lot more hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad, Rude, and Snobby.
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 December 2012
Working at Donato was somewhat enjoyable, the receptionists, stylists and colour techs, and the spa personnel were all a blast to see and talk to everyday; that is until you see a manager. a couple were alright when face to face, however when you turn your back to them BEWARE. I was let go because and I quote " you were too happy..." unfortunately I didn't exactly perfect the sour face they all had.
The Salon manager was famous for her foul expression and snobby attitude. In Seven months I saw her smile twice. once when she was getting a make-over. and the other was by some sort of miracle.

The owner is even worse. He only liked you if you sucked up to him, if not.. you were black listed. at first he seemed genuinely nice, until you actually get hired. He is rude, cheap, snobby, (which seems to be a running trend among management) and he has his assistants hold the hair up for him while he's working instead of using a CLIP.

I did however get certified in 3 classes, 2 of which they paid for, and the last I had to pay for because I was terminated. ($500) on top of losing the job.

*** Do NOT SIGN the Contract!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 year contract, if you quit you get sued. and if you get terminated you have to pay for everything that they said they would pay for.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working on a Sunday, solely because the sour managers and the owner would never show up there on a Sunday.
Pros
education
Cons
vicious management, treated as a number. lack of integrity
Was this review helpful?Yes 27NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will work hard for your money, but in the end, it doesn't make a difference.
call centre (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 March 2012
There is no reward for hard, dedicated work, no benefits, no raises and no forgiveness. A very high drama, smile in your face, stab you in yuour back environment.
Pros
free services
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport

See more Donato Salon and Spa reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Donato Salon and Spa. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 16 reviews
55
43
33
23
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.2Culture

Donato Salon and Spa Reviews by Location