Dollarama Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor hostile work environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON28 February 2018
everyone talk bad about each other behind there backs, management picks favourites and act as if the rules dont apply to them, take smoke breaks whenever they want, talk down to you and show you nothing but complete and utter disrespect, highly recommend not working there,
Cons
rude co workers, hipocritical and lazy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kept me busy during the summer
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON27 February 2018
this was just a temporary summer job before i moved away from Ontario to Calgary. the staff were kind i made some good friends right away and i learnt a lot about working in retail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable work environment
Key Holder / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS27 February 2018
I didn't have a bad time working at Dollarama, in fact I would actually consider going back to work for them. the only bad thing is when you have upper management get too close to each other, it just allows people to get away with things they shouldn't have.
Pros
Closeknit group of workers
Cons
On your feet all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy my customers, love my co-workers.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Saskatchewan27 February 2018
More communication in this work environment would be an asset. Many problems could be resolved if management took more time training employees. Many people don't always understand what is expected of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON27 February 2018
The job was easy, but really great!

Shifts were quick, management was amazing. spent most shifts on cash or stocking the product. Spent lots of time standing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive hard work
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 February 2018
A typical day at dollarama would consist of opening the store counting all cash registers so they balance as well as the petty cash and back safe.
Creating a to do list for all employees, receiving stock and merchandise putting it in there designated carts and have employees and myself put the stock out.
Answering any customer questions as well as answering the phones, putting products on hold for customers as they ask.
Making money orders and receiving them
Pros
Great team work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and very fun enviroment.
Assistant Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, ON24 February 2018
I loved working with my co-workers. We all felt like family. I miss my job. The hardest part of the job was all the overstock. i have learned a lot about team work and how to work with the flow of the merchandise.
Pros
Being able to laugh with your team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent staff and a overall good place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NS22 February 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job were the Customers and staff. You were busy from the time you started to the end of the day. t was hard work but enjoyable work. The only negative was the expectation that you work 50 to 70 hours per week. They paid for every hour but the hours were too long.
Pros
People
Cons
Work Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ordinary
Assistante-Gérante (Former Employee) –  Miramichi, NB22 February 2018
was an ordinary job but management was very good to give me a flexible schedule. all the employees are great and sympathetic. i do not regret working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2018
Amazing.
Lovely place
good people
peaceful
good job for part time
you get hired easily
get pay on time
you can choose to work
nice place to work in overall
Pros
good environment
Cons
you don't get a fixed schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 February 2018
A good way for freshers to improvise. better communication skills and good ethics of work. offers a great eye-contact skills. Improved management skills in yourself !
Pros
understanding manager
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good floor staff
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NS19 February 2018
Was an overall good job shifts were good for part time when going to school, some staff were very friendly, management could communicate with staff more often and be more reasonable with situations and for important time off request as well as how there tone is with the staff.
Pros
Always something to do
Cons
Needs work on comunication with staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much to say
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 February 2018
Not much to say. The staff and management were friendly enough. It was a pretty basic cashier / stocking job. Hours were good for a student. Only real issue I ever had was there seemed to be a lack of communication between management and floor staff and even management to management.
Pros
Good starting job, flexible for students
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Member of Management- Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON17 February 2018
Stressful Work environment, lots of heavy lifting and tiring work
Very little hours out side of christmas season, poorly timed black out periods, shift work, never steady schedules.
Pros
friendly staff, no uniform
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Head Cashier, Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON16 February 2018
Pretty good place to work. Everyone was really nice and eager to help out. A fast paced environment that makes the time fly by. Friendly coworkers and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace and always something to do
Key Holder-Team Lead (Current Employee) –  calgary Alberta12 February 2018
i learned a lot from Dollarama, though they needed to help train people a little better i overall enjoyed my time with dollarama.
The Management team made it a good work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 February 2018
Its my first job in Canada and it was good experience.
Helpful environment
I learned how to deal with customer's.
During Chirstmas time all dolorama's seems to very busy at that time how learn how to work under pressure.
Pros
Cooperative management
Cons
deal with some aggresive customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON10 February 2018
Fast paced work environment always something to do need customer service skills it's more than just a sales associate or a cashier its an aisle person a stock person,plus more. More job titles should be implemented.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really like dollarama
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON8 February 2018
Everyone works as a team and works well together. I really liked it there. sadly I was one a seasonal worker. The hardest part of the job is there is a lot of repetitive work nothing to change up your day it is the same every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 February 2018
Management is good in Dollarama . Everyone is so friendly and helpful . There is a teamwork too. The hard part in the job is stocking . Sometimes it is very hard to lift heavy boxes . Help is also provided to lift those boxes. But is also makes us too tired .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,584 reviews
5385
4486
3462
2143
1108

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture