Dollarama Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Floor Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON13 April 2018
everyone i worked with was great there was always someone willing to come to help if was need, i would go back to working here if a position was to come open
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic Expectations
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 April 2018
Minimal hours given to get stuff done. Management team are simply glorified freight pushers. Hardly any positives are given to the store during a visit by the district and regional managers. A lot of working off the clock to make sure you don’t go over wages. No inventory system. End of season pack up for every holiday is a complete waste of time and resources. Worked with some really good people that made the day better. Seen some people work very hard with little to zero thanks or reward. Very little emphasis on workplace safety. Backroom conditions were sometimes unsafe due to all the freight and skids.
Pros
Worked with some hard workers
Cons
Low pay for long hours, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace for part time workers.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON11 April 2018
Great place to work for a part time worker. If you like organizing, stocking shelves or even working at a cashier this job is for you!
The one thing i didnt like ablout working here was that i felt like i had to wash my hands 100 times a day because of all the hands you are touching from grabbing the customers money to cash them out, and the pase was slow.
Pros
Good breaks/ friendly people
Cons
Slow pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with lots of tasks/assignments
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON11 April 2018
Dollarama is a fairly fast-paced work environment, and wiith a steady pace of customers coming in often, you must work quickly and diligently to make sure the customers are served with quality and in a timely manner. On very busy days, the merchandise in the store becomes very messy and unorganized and it is our job to tidy it and return it back to its original and clean state. This can be frustrating and difficult, especially when there is a shortage of staff because if everyone is up at the cash registers handling customers and no one is able to work on the floor, the store does not get cleaned up to management standards. The most enjoyable part of the job is developing bonds with and serving the regular customers who come in and make our jobs easier with their smiles and kind hearts.
Pros
Decent store hours (opening and closing at reasonable times)
Cons
Repetitive, difficult to advance, lots of employee favouritism from management at my location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB10 April 2018
Lots of work, there is always stock coming in, some days too much stock comes in. The company expects you to get things done but does not give you the needed staff hours to complete it on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworks Employees due to understaffing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC10 April 2018
Overworks Employees due to understaffing. HEAVILY encourages unpaid overtime, at times making it feel like your job was in danger if you didnt go above and beyond what was possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill atmosphere
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON9 April 2018
Working here was actually pretty good, i enjoyed my time with members, they were very reasonable because i was a student and never nagged me to do something. great fun easy place to work
Pros
flexibility
Cons
customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best team I ever worked with.
Troisième clé/ chef d'équipe (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC8 April 2018
Flexible hours, understanding of students part-time, fun to work for them, fun employees. At times you have night shift, if your a team leader, but it's easy to work with the employees.
Pros
Stress-free
Cons
Dealing with hard clients at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing Company with excellent products on reasonable Price
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 April 2018
An amazing Company with excellent products on reasonable Price.The working environment is really friendly and always ready to help customers. This job kept physically healthy too and I used to buy a lot from Dollarama too. It was a wonderful experience to work with such an amazing company under the management of wonderful people.
Pros
good environment
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 April 2018
Working here has been a great experience!
As a cashier the environment was very uplifting meeting lots of people on a day to day basis helps to improve your social skills, i have learned a lot of experience from Dollarama such as how to label and stock/ face shelves as well as inventory and returning items back at the end of the day.
The atmosphere of the job was very open minded, working in a Toronto you meet all different types of persons. keeping and open mind to peoples culture/believes and morals is very important in working with people every day.
As a company where all sales are final and they do not accept returns, the hardest part was having to tell people they would not be able to refund their items.
Overall i enjoyed working with Dollarama and would work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on what you want out of it
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON6 April 2018
I was a store manager for a little over two years so my perspective might be different. This job is what you make it. Yes the wage and hours aren't always the greatest but hey, that's retail. If you're looking for a job that will pay you super well right off the bat and give you all the hours you want then move along. There are some members of upper management who are unrealistic with their expectations which can make completing everything on time a challenge. The company is growing though and there will be lots of positive changes coming down the tubes. Right now as long as you don't mind fast paced hard work you will do well. You wear many different hats in a day so things are always changing (Ie: cashier, stocker, inventory manager etc). Though it's a tough job, it can really help you hone valuable skills and keep you in shaped. Overall it's a great experience and can be a fun job though the company as a whole has some kinks to work out.
Pros
Keeps you in shape, Lots of tasks to keep one busy
Cons
Some managers are inexperienced. New company so not very advanced in practices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Cashier/stock (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB4 April 2018
Overall it wasn't a bad job!! The hours were pretty good for a part time summer job, just the management and staff with scheduling were chaotic most of the times, but it was a fun and busy place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Cashier, stock shelves (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, AB4 April 2018
Was working during Christmas Season only, hours were good I enjoyed helping customers, I also liked that there was always something to do, cashier or stock shelves
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work environment
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON31 March 2018
enjoyable staff and management. typical day is dealing with upset customers and trying not to get frustrated. Dealing with thieves. learned how to handle stressful situations professionally
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Manual Laborer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 March 2018
very basic; fairly easy. did not require a ton of preparation. Pretty standard for a temporary minimum wage job at a dollar store. Good opportunity for high school students. Location was not very convenient for me. interviewer was very nice and courteous however.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth working for such a selfish company
Part-time Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 March 2018
Its a horrible place to work. Overworked for a minimum wage job. Very greedy, cheap company who refuses to hire enough staff therefore there is never enough people working on one shift. There also is a lack of air conditioner and ventilation in the Dollarama I work in and its always really hot and intolerable. Often feel sick and like passing out because of it. Not a job worth the stress and sickness. They dont care about the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and great
Sale associate, returns & cash handling (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON28 March 2018
Working here is really great , I got to meet awesome co -workers , unfortunately the manger is very greedy and cares only about her interest, and act like you don't have feelings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON28 March 2018
Customer service and Cashier duties. I would assist in stocking shelves with new products and helped with the general maintenance and inventory in the back room.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly workplace environment
Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2018
I've been working there for over a year now and it wasn't bad at all. I just am in need of more hours. i have nothing against the management nor the system. The employer at the location I'm currently working at is really respected and kind, but hard working.
Pros
gift cards
Cons
small lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it !
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC22 March 2018
Managers belittle you and it feels like high school.
They ask you to do something then say dont do it but it needs to be done. Managment does not know what they are doing and problems are never solved. They always find something to be mad about even if its not your fault . hours suck ! Pay sucks ! No benefits no nothing not worth the stress !
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,618 reviews
5391
4498
3474
2145
1110

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture