Dollarama Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome ish?
Team Leader/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB13 May 2018
The people I've met as staff are freaking one in a million. Just awesome. The managers range from god awfull to the best. I worked for 6 years under this one man. He made work not just fun but made you want to push yourself and be the very best. We lost him to a back injury and the person who replaced him... well the whole staff quit within a month.

The pension plan is pretty good if you last 2 years. The benefits are pretty good too.... only took 8 years to get them. Unless you get full time right off the bat.
Pros
Staff are hilarious and fun to hangout with evem after work
Cons
Shifts continuously change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-driven work
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC9 May 2018
mostly autonomous work with a bit of direction, fairly typical minimum wage job. Various positions to be filled and was fairly flexible with them, from acting as a cashier, stocking shelves, customer service, and working in the back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mediocre place to work
Associate (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON7 May 2018
- customers can be rude and complain about pricing
- lots of theft
- a lot of multi tasking involved
- no discount for employees, or incentives or benefits for part time work
- the "no returns" policy makes customers angry
- easy job overall, but tends to be understaffed
- some management is also rude depending on the location, but if the coworkers are good, its a fun job merchandising.
- customers change their mind constantly, so be prepared to put away carts FULL of merchandise every night.
Pros
easy job, merchandising can be fun
Cons
customers are consistently rude and aggressive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work, lots of hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Carleton Place, ON7 May 2018
Good place to work on retail workplace experience, shortest shift was 6 hours pay cheque was always good, and management works with you in tough situations.
Pros
Working with nice people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not to bad
Key Holder/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bathurst, NB30 April 2018
its a simple job, lots of place for advancement, but where i worked, employes always called in sick, and they always called me to come in on my days off, but besides that it was a good job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Forklift operator (Current Employee) –  Montreal, quebec25 April 2018
I came to québec only over one year ago and they hired me as soon as I got here. Its a muticulturel environment. You have to perform and work fast. There is a lot of come and go as the people dont stay at that job for long. Its a good first job if you just got in the country. Not enough hours, they often send you home.
Pros
meetings every morning
Cons
short breaks, no healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Employee Turn-Around, With Lots of Customer Interaction
Stocking shelves, Cashier, Customer service (Former Employee) –  5309 Discovery Way Leduc Common, Leduc Alberta22 April 2018
Stocked shelves and worked the cashier tills. Really enjoyed the opportunity to work with and interact with customers throughout the shift, hours were fairly flexible.
Pros
Flexable Hours
Cons
Long hours, High employee turn-around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer service superviser (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON22 April 2018
Good place to work as long as JP is not your district manager. No benefits always something to do. Flexable work schedule. Season change over os awful.
Cons
Jp
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment suitable for work.
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 April 2018
I worked at Dollarama for 3 months and it was a good experience. The manager was very understanding and efficient and fun to work with. I also liked the working environment.
Pros
Flexible hours, very cooperative.
Cons
Far from my home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill atmosphere
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON9 April 2018
Working here was actually pretty good, i enjoyed my time with members, they were very reasonable because i was a student and never nagged me to do something. great fun easy place to work
Pros
flexibility
Cons
customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Manual Laborer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 March 2018
very basic; fairly easy. did not require a ton of preparation. Pretty standard for a temporary minimum wage job at a dollar store. Good opportunity for high school students. Location was not very convenient for me. interviewer was very nice and courteous however.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly workplace environment
Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2018
I've been working there for over a year now and it wasn't bad at all. I just am in need of more hours. i have nothing against the management nor the system. The employer at the location I'm currently working at is really respected and kind, but hard working.
Pros
gift cards
Cons
small lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it !
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC22 March 2018
Managers belittle you and it feels like high school.
They ask you to do something then say dont do it but it needs to be done. Managment does not know what they are doing and problems are never solved. They always find something to be mad about even if its not your fault . hours suck ! Pay sucks ! No benefits no nothing not worth the stress !
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
MANAGER for 3 years (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB21 March 2018
not so good management dm is not realistic in what he wants done in time lines. not anugh hours to run the store so you can't have the staff you need to do the job
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Assistant store manager (Former Employee) –  Kenora, ON21 March 2018
it is a fun place to work and there are opertunities to advance. however the expectations vs. the wage were very unrealistic. long hours and a rediculous amount of stock
Pros
fun
Cons
long hours / high expectations vs. wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working in different location to gain better understanding of the company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON21 March 2018
• Assists Store Manager in all aspects of retail store operation. Opens and closes the store, ensures rules and regulations are respected, trains and supervises staff, and is responsible for total store operations in the Store Manager’s absence.
• Executes the corporate merchandising plan. Efficiently processes stock from the receiving dock and maintains the planned merchandise placement.
• Selected to special projects “parachute” team to upgrade poorly performing stores/regions.
Pros
pention plan and benifits for all employees
Cons
Changing the seasons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Retail sales clerk (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC18 March 2018
Short hours, restocking shelf, unloading new shipment, all cultures, good staff. Fun place to work with and staff good, lots of lifting of products retail
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Pay to low
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 March 2018
Possibly one of the most busy jobs, its extremely fast pace and having a friendly and understanding manager really benefits you when you're having a extremely stressful day, expect to run around the store on sundays!
Pros
Lovely Management, Good Hours, Easy Jobs
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What do you expect from a dollar store
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 March 2018
I can honestly say that the work was overwhelming, the staff seemed to be hit or miss for attendance, the environment was consistently unsafe. Upper management would expect store management to stay however long it took until the job was completed. But wasn't very good with paying for extra hours or overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for student physically demanding job
Key Holder/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB3 March 2018
If you guys are looking forwork and life balance this is not for you. Very low salary. Not enough hours even if you are already a full time employee. Its feels like your a slave. You will clean up the mess of your coworker. After their shift they will just leave everything on the floor and they will ask you to clean up the aisle coz they are done with their shift. They always make you work weekends because they dont want to work weekends.
Pros
None
Cons
Physically demading, extremely low salary considering the work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,619 reviews
5392
4498
3474
2145
1110

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture