Dollarama Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun easy job
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON1 February 2018
its a more low key job, a lot of people i worked with were retired. the only time it got hectic was around Christmas. its like that with any job tho. the learning curve was virtually non existent. friendly co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2018
I only worked here for a short amount of time and didnt really get to experince much. However , This was my first taste of the work life and it got me started it should me how fun work can be and how serious you gotta be
Pros
cheap things
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  London, ON30 January 2018
good place to work, nice people.
management is great, got along great with everyone I worked with.
hours could be better.
proper lunch and breaks.
great place!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful management and team members
Associate (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 January 2018
-The managers and team members and easy to work with.
-They have very flexible hours.
-Lots of lifting of boxes.
-Steady pace, always something to do, even on slow days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's really nice to work with them
Cashier/Clerk (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 January 2018
It's very nice to work at dollarama especially if you have a nice boss.I do not suggest working there if you want full-time and a stable schedule. If you are a student and need to work on evenings and part-time then it's the right job for you. The tasks are really easy and you can learn a lot quickly.
Pros
Tasks are really easy, Nice boss and coworkers, They take your disponibilities seriously when you are a student
Cons
There is no such thing as full time, the number of hours/week depends on the season, before Christmas you can have 30 hours and after you can't get more than 12-15 hours/week, No employee benefits)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly teammates, management & Customers make this job great.
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL11 January 2018
Fun workplace, Management are easy to talk to, very flexible with working different hours/days, has a great diversity of different cultures, being able to grow in Management fairly quickly, having team meetings to know the sale goals engages us all, something most places don't do, and I found this very useful and productive.
Pros
Management, flexible hours, associates are friendly and work as a TEAM, making a way to management positions, OT when you can get it.
Cons
The rate of pay isn't enough for you to have as a career, don't get 40 hours a week. Sometimes management gets pushed around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a minimum wage job
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 January 2018
The work is routine but varied ranging from serving on cash, merchandising, cleaning and more.

However, a high stress environment coupled with poor management made my experience at Dollarama poor. I wish management and head office actually observed the problems that occurred and actually proposed sensible solutions rather than getting frustrated if they don't obtain the results they wanted. The coworkers made work more tolerable though.

But it's a minimum wage job and there's not much else to expect.
Pros
Coworkers can be good
Cons
High stress, poor management, few benefits, very demanding job
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place to work
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 December 2017
I would not reccomend working at dollarama to anyone. The pay is not good the hours are bad and management don't do anything to help their staff. bottom line it is all about profit.
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really a Friendly and protective Environment
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 December 2017
The people i work with here are really supportive and makes the work environment so productive i really love working here but unfortunately they are full of full time workers and they do not need part time workers so i am looking for part time
Pros
Good pay and friendly environment
Cons
1 and half hour to travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working conditions
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC16 December 2017
It is a hard place to work at, it takes a lot of strength in order to lift all the boxes on the pallets. Very hot inside answer get a 45 min break . Hard but pays well
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Heavy work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the Best Place to Work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB10 December 2017
This job is both physically, mentally and emotionally draining. The days are busy and the work load is way too much. Head office does not allocate enough hours to staff the store properly and they send way too much stock to the store. Also we are very much treated like we are just an employee number and not human. We also get sent to help other stores in the district way too much and don't receive extra compensation or recognition. There are days where the job is fine but most days are filled with stress and negativity.
Pros
Job security, Benefits, Paid Vacation Days
Cons
Stressful, Overworked, Unexpected long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting hours employee have no value
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Woodbine mall29 November 2017
Dollar Rama make allot of money in cash and there is no way to cut employee hours and save money, I would also request Govt to investigate this matter and help us to get our hours back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I took Pride in the work I do for Dollarama and the Customers
STORE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Kitimat, BC23 November 2017
Responsible for cleaning
Responsible for organizing merchandise
Responsible for Customer Care
Cashier
Enjoyed working with Customers
Enjoyed the satisfaction of the work I did
Pros
Satisfying Customers
Cons
Low Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High demand
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 November 2017
As a former manager working there from the bottom up it’s very hard to move up a lot of a** kissing to do there’s so many flaws working for this company there pay sucks there benefits suck there raises suck they push you like a labor worker and bark at you like a dog when somethings not done right and unless your the same colour as anther manager the others don’t help you out at all if needed they make u go to other store fix there mess up they cut hours all the time there’s no balance between work life and home life.thumbs down to this company
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Cashier/ Stock (Former Employee) –  Hanover, ON13 November 2017
its a fun work environment to be in, the people are amazing and understanding they give you the hours you need, if you need days off or need more days there really understandable
Pros
awesome co-workers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winchester, ON6 November 2017
Overhired for opening and then canned many people using poor excuses like you have someone the wrong change once. Multitasking required but work is expected to be completed anyways. Management gives varying information and talks behind each other backs. Low pay and now benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Canada31 October 2017
very fast, very busy, lots of new people coming in and out
very fun environment. friendly co-workers
good pay
good breaks
many breaks
various of different tasks to do
Pros
long breaks
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasnt a bad place to work
Cashier/Stock (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB22 October 2017
Decent people easy but repetitive work. Low paying not truly worth all the hassle and drama caused from other co-workers. Learned a bit but not enough to really apply in the real world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a really fun work place
Cashier/Stock (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC18 October 2017
I enjoy working at dollarama but I can’t work the days they want me to work and when I asked about it I was told there was nothing that could be done and I have seen them change other peoples shifts around so I’m not sure this is my first job and I don’t know about all that
Pros
Discount at Burger King 10%
Cons
Not enough hours, not flexible to my school
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups an Downs of Dollarama
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC14 October 2017
Not bad. I wish transportation was one of the benefits. I got along with some of the staff, and knew how to work the cash registers and debit machines. I also got along with the customers. The typical day would start off slow as I was the only one at the tills most of the time. When it came to cleanup, we all worked as a team. Most of the time, management worked well. The hardest part of the job was being polite to the rudest customers and co-workers. The most enjoyable was meeting the most pleasant co-workers and customers.
Pros
Got along with most of the customers.
Cons
When my shift ended past the bus schedule, I had to take the cab.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,497 reviews
5358
4462
3440
2133
1104

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture