Dollarama Employee Reviews

Found 1,941 reviews matching the search See all 1,973 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is Good
stock Clerk in stores (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC22 May 2019
I just qiut from Dollarama because I had there Almost 3years
I qiut because they don't give me more hours just 5 hours a week
So I have family need to Life to money things

So my right is 25 hours a week because I have experience from 2016
Cons
25 hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier/Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 May 2019
Dollarama was an inviting and very engaging place to work, though everything was very professional and up to par, I never felt overwhelmed while working there, and had a lot of happiness having worked there!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate/Merchandiser/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Comox Valley, BC21 May 2019
I had a blast working with Dollarama for a couple years. Truly was sad to leave that place due to a big move from home. 10/10 would work for them again. I miss my team already!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and respectful workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON18 May 2019
Hours were different every week but work on average 4 days week.
Job consisted of working at the cash register and stocking. Majority of the time the store was dead, so plenty of stocking. employees and management were very friendly, i enjoyed my time working there.
Pros
Easy work, good hours
Cons
un-motivating
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productif et agreable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 May 2019
Jai beaucoup aimé travailler la bas jetais surprise par mes coworkers très sympa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 May 2019
u get to meet new people

how to handle tough situations

how to greet your customers

time management

fast work

hardest part is sometimes u got to count money and also clean at the same time
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience is really good
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  300 tecumseh rd east windsor ON16 May 2019
I learned a lots of things while working in dollarama. I learned how to deal with the customers and how to handle the work in great pressure. I always be a main cashier and our store is really busy all the time. So at that time i learned how to handle the situation. It was the brilliant experience i have in my life.
Pros
peaceful environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, fast paced and growing company
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 May 2019
I started with this company after leaving an 10+ term at Loblaws. I enjoy my job and my team has been built to compliment each other. We are close and even spend time with each other outside of work which I find is rare in the retail world.
Pros
Paid hourly even as a store manager
Cons
Pressure for productivity can be immense depending on store situation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the BEST
Cashier/Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Wasaga Beach, ON15 May 2019
While working at the Dollarama in Wasaga Beach ON, I found my experience to be one of the top.
“Its not the place you work at, but the people you work with” really is the case with this place. I loved everyone I worked with, and they because a tight-knitted family to me.
Personally, the position sucked, as I was only a cashier, but the management, and coworkers around me made every day worth it, and I loved coming in.
I would recommend this location to anyone in the area who is looking for a good place to work.
Pros
Family-like coworkers, flexible scheduling
Cons
Some positioning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and great place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON14 May 2019
i will work there again, you have a great treatment by managers and good salary, you can work as a team and develop different skiils of communication and solve-problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Milieu brouillant
distributeur de palette (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 May 2019
pas de sécurité sociale
conditions de travail difficiles
pas de politiques d'avancement
Pros
Aucune
Cons
mauvaise politique administrative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Planned layoffs with store opening
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Grand Forks, BC14 May 2019
The most enjoyable part of the job was serving the customers. The manager was good. The regional manager hired too many employees in order to get the store up and running and then laid off the majority of us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise agréable
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC14 May 2019
Une entreprise bien. Manque un peu J'aurais aimé qu'il y ai de la meilleur sécurité.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Cheap
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are just a number
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador13 May 2019
When working for this company you are just a number. They do not care about the employees at all. The higher up management is the worse and treat you like dirt. They except you to get the work done of 5 people yourself. Do not recommend this company to anyone
Pros
Fellow emplyoees
Cons
Long hours don’t get paid for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow and easy working enviornment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lasalle, QC11 May 2019
Dollarama offers a slowpaced working enviornment with kind staff and personnel. Management is tight and to the book which is good. The job does not entail much but does require patience.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Days go by slowly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expectations change
Shift Leader/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, ON11 May 2019
Was a great environment at the start, last year expectations changed and more workload with unrealistic timeline with less employees per shift to do the job.
Pros
People are great
Cons
short shift less hours more days of work so you cant work another job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent for gaining experience as a student
Team Leader/ Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON8 May 2019
Dollarama is not a bad company to work for, so long as your coworkers are nice. Its an easy enough job, but not boringly easy. The pay is of course not great but most retail stores or restaurants are the same.
The most annoying and worst part about the job are the customers. Having to act as if "the customer is always right" is very hard when many of the customers are rude and believe that they are worth more than anyone else.
Overall, I enjoyed my time as an employee of Dollarama and it wasn't bad.
Pros
Caring and hardworking staff
Cons
Gets very busy and stressful during seasonal times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON8 May 2019
Great place to work. Friendly employee . Great in management. Should be alert Everytime . Hours are the only cons. Be on time and should do the work sincerely.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical retail job
Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON7 May 2019
A typical retail job with unpredictable hours, and no guarantee of a steady schedule. May be asked to come work on days off. Typical duties include cleaning the store, stocking the shelves, and processing transactions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Troisième clé (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 May 2019
Vary a lot from store to store, but the manager was very friendly and open minded. It can be very relaxing in winter, but in summer a lot of the time the stores are understaffed. A lot of clients can have bad attitudes, but most coworkers are fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,973 reviews
5475
4603
3545
2184
1166

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture