Dollarama Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 April 2018
Its a great place to work at, friendly environment. Nice staff. Always willing to teach and cooperate. Great way to earn some money in part time. Suggested.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Students and Part Timers
Cashier and Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON23 April 2018
A typical day at work involved assisting customers and working front line. I increased my social and communicative skills with customers and had a very friendly team of staff to assist me with anything that was needed. The hardest part of the job was dealing with troublesome customers and the most enjoyable was talking with my co-workers during breaks and on shift when things weren't too busy.
Pros
Small Work Community, Friendly Management
Cons
Lots of standing around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travail phisique
Commis caissière (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC22 April 2018
très difficile,lieu ou on n est pas toujours compris.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Employee Turn-Around, With Lots of Customer Interaction
Stocking shelves, Cashier, Customer service (Former Employee) –  5309 Discovery Way Leduc Common, Leduc Alberta22 April 2018
Stocked shelves and worked the cashier tills. Really enjoyed the opportunity to work with and interact with customers throughout the shift, hours were fairly flexible.
Pros
Flexable Hours
Cons
Long hours, High employee turn-around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer service superviser (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON22 April 2018
Good place to work as long as JP is not your district manager. No benefits always something to do. Flexable work schedule. Season change over os awful.
Cons
Jp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif et agréable
Troisième clé (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC19 April 2018
Pour commencer nos journées, nous devons établir un plan de match en évaluant les priorités du jour. J'ai appris comment bien distribuer les tâches, en analysant les membres de l'équipe en condition de qui peut accomplir quoi. Le plus difficile en soit, est d'accomplir la totalité des tâches dans le domaine de la production, car il y à souvent des erreurs à corriger en court de route, ce qui prend un temps à considérer dans la planification des tâches. Aussi, lorsque nous devons refaire un planogramme, ce qui devient compliqué dans cette tâche, c'est que nous n'avons pratiquement jamais tous les items affichés, sur le planogramme, en magasin pour l'installation. Le plus agréable dans ce travail était pour moi, le travail d'équipe, les défis de groupe, l'entraide et le respect.
Pros
Temps de pause respecté.
Cons
Pas suffisamment de liberté pour les caissières, ce qui entraîne beaucoup de responsabilité supplémentaire au troisième clé.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Commis (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC19 April 2018
People were friendly and the work atmosphere was good, the work had to be well done and was checked thoroughly. I learned how to be a good worker and to check twice if the work is fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Cashier (Seasonal/Christmas) (Former Employee) –  University of Windsor, ON19 April 2018
Not suitable for persons who have no multi-tasking skills, working with the public and are not able to take pace with line demand.

Physical disability is accommodated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Store manager (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE18 April 2018
They are a company that needs to get a better training program, and they need to get better stock control.They need better staff Training this would make a better company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Napanee, ON17 April 2018
Dollarama was a wonderful company to work for. The staff were always friendly and uplifting during stressful times, the customer interaction was overall good.
Pros
Staff
Cons
Hour flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast environment
Retail. (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 April 2018
a typical day at work is to count the product, then fill the isle, clean store and help costumers locate products. You can learn to deal with multiple tasks, solve problems fast, work fast while maintaining a clean environment, and stock work. Hardest part about the job to being able to keep your stock room free and spacious and finish your daily work at the same time.
Pros
you get a week off work every year and you get to choose the dates.
Cons
hours may very.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment suitable for work.
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 April 2018
I worked at Dollarama for 3 months and it was a good experience. The manager was very understanding and efficient and fun to work with. I also liked the working environment.
Pros
Flexible hours, very cooperative.
Cons
Far from my home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer service, helping (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON13 April 2018
Great "first" job for me. I worked with a good team and we ran a clean and efficient store front. I don't have anything else to add to this as faults within the job related to co-worker issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun
Floor Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON13 April 2018
everyone i worked with was great there was always someone willing to come to help if was need, i would go back to working here if a position was to come open
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travaille sans arret
Préparateur de commandes et monteur de palettes (Former Employee) –  Mont-royal, QC12 April 2018
Vous êtes confronté a un monde d’esclavage moderne
Pros
place tranquille
Cons
courtes poses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic Expectations
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 April 2018
Minimal hours given to get stuff done. Management team are simply glorified freight pushers. Hardly any positives are given to the store during a visit by the district and regional managers. A lot of working off the clock to make sure you don’t go over wages. No inventory system. End of season pack up for every holiday is a complete waste of time and resources. Worked with some really good people that made the day better. Seen some people work very hard with little to zero thanks or reward. Very little emphasis on workplace safety. Backroom conditions were sometimes unsafe due to all the freight and skids.
Pros
Worked with some hard workers
Cons
Low pay for long hours, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace for part time workers.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON11 April 2018
Great place to work for a part time worker. If you like organizing, stocking shelves or even working at a cashier this job is for you!
The one thing i didnt like ablout working here was that i felt like i had to wash my hands 100 times a day because of all the hands you are touching from grabbing the customers money to cash them out, and the pase was slow.
Pros
Good breaks/ friendly people
Cons
Slow pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with lots of tasks/assignments
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON11 April 2018
Dollarama is a fairly fast-paced work environment, and wiith a steady pace of customers coming in often, you must work quickly and diligently to make sure the customers are served with quality and in a timely manner. On very busy days, the merchandise in the store becomes very messy and unorganized and it is our job to tidy it and return it back to its original and clean state. This can be frustrating and difficult, especially when there is a shortage of staff because if everyone is up at the cash registers handling customers and no one is able to work on the floor, the store does not get cleaned up to management standards. The most enjoyable part of the job is developing bonds with and serving the regular customers who come in and make our jobs easier with their smiles and kind hearts.
Pros
Decent store hours (opening and closing at reasonable times)
Cons
Repetitive, difficult to advance, lots of employee favouritism from management at my location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB10 April 2018
Lots of work, there is always stock coming in, some days too much stock comes in. The company expects you to get things done but does not give you the needed staff hours to complete it on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworks Employees due to understaffing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC10 April 2018
Overworks Employees due to understaffing. HEAVILY encourages unpaid overtime, at times making it feel like your job was in danger if you didnt go above and beyond what was possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,584 reviews
5385
4486
3462
2143
1108

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture