Dollarama Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work, bad pay
Key Holder/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC20 June 2018
bad place to work, never get a thank you for hard work you put in, management wont let you have water on the floor, and they say you can only use the bathroom on a 15 or half hour break.
Pros
money
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON18 June 2018
Amazing staff. Enjoyed working there. Amazing hours.. cooperative staff. Friendly customers. Always had jobs to do. Pay was amazing. Enjoyed the job thoroughly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
힘든직업
지점장 (Former Employee) –  Alberta18 June 2018
목표량에 달성하기 위해서는 8시간근무를 12시간처럼 사용해야함
하루에 배달되는 물량이 많아서 더욱더 재고확인에 개선이 필요하다
Pros
옛날 7-8년 보다 시스템이 나아졌다. 계속 발전하는 모습
Cons
일이 너무 많아서
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier at Dollarama
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK17 June 2018
Dollarama was a fast paced working environment with amazing staff that I call my friends. I learned how to work well with others and how to manage my time better to stop slacking and being more productive on the job. the hardest part was closing because we always had customers running in and out last second.
Pros
excellent staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Light work with friendly co-workers
cashier + cleaning and facing aisles (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 June 2018
there isn't any heavy lifting to do and the hours range from 5-7 a day. the co-workers are friendly and help when needed. good management takes care of workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Aldergrove, BC13 June 2018
great staff members
learned how to multitask
busy work place
fast paced
fun place to work
have staff dinners
really busy around christmas
learn how to work in a fast paced environment
Pros
good amount of hours
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Customer Service Assistant / Assistant Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Erin Mills Town Centre12 June 2018
A typical day at work is like doing the same thing that you are doing but the only difference is how you can handle all the things that you can encounter on that day. Everyday different kinds of people are coming to buy or visit the store. The most enjoyable part of the job is if you serve the customer and they are returning the favour with just a simple thank you is worthy enough for me. And working with the persons who knows what to do it makes job easier. That's the biggest factor for me to accomplished or should i say can make the work faster and easier. At the end of the day by the guidance of the management and co workers I can say that I survived a day with the help I needed because of their support and guidance.
Cons
messy aile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Customer Service / Cashier (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, ON11 June 2018
Not friendly, impatient, mistreatment of workers, not good listeners, mistreatment of young people, unorganized, bad training, didn't allow new trainers to get use to job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 June 2018
You have to be fast and quick. You finish on time then you go home early. Be ready to lift heavy boxes from a container. The people you work with eventually become your family.
Pros
Go home early
Cons
Heavy boxes and long container
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollarama
Cashier/Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 June 2018
Was a great experience. Great staff and management. Incentive prizes, room for advancement. Overall great experience would love to work there again and highly recommend it.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Changes from headoffice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollarama
STOCK CLERK (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK7 June 2018
Friendly and out going people love to help customers and help employees catch up when they are struggling love the manager very nice and respectful i would recommend this as a start
Pros
paid lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
1) Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON7 June 2018
Cool work culture.
Have been working here for 8 months now.
Management is good.
Given work Hours are very less so that's an issue
Would recommend them to give more hours to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Dollarama had a great work environment
Cashier / Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dunnville, ON6 June 2018
At this particular location there was a large age range which was great and essential for how all the staff got along. There was always something to do so you will never be bored.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Experience with Management
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 June 2018
I've heard many people enjoy their experience working for this company, I'm sure it was just bad management that led me to absolutely hate this job. No chance you're moving up and if you are a measly 50 cent pay raise and loss of weekend time is what you have in store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK6 June 2018
Good place to work with. Cares for employees. more facilities can be provided at the work place to make it interesting. Senior management is good and helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avis
CAISSIÈRE, COMMIS DE PLANCHER (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC6 June 2018
Cet emploi fut ma première expérience de travail. Celle-ci fut grandement enrichissante.
Pros
emploi agréable
Cons
pas de syndicat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Canada5 June 2018
OK for a beginner looking for experience. terrible management. pay is alright but in the job is straight forward. eventually they look at you as replaceable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Staff Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 June 2018
There is a great atmosphere and the management is quite flexible with shifts and cares about employees. It is easy to make friends with the people you work with in the store. Downside is that they don't have many hours to give away on a full staff. Part-time people get on average one to two shifts a week and full-time people get around 25.
Pros
Other employees
Cons
Few shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 June 2018
Job was to unload boxes of merchandise and stock them onto shelves. Can get tedious and repetitive and there will be customers that make messes and you'll have to clean up. Otherwise it was a decent job, no real complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and supportive workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Sudbury, ON4 June 2018
I have worked at dollarama for less than a year and have already been promoted multiple times. Management is great and the district manager is very encouraging, supportive, and professional. Best place I’ve worked at yet!
Pros
Busy, lots to do, fast paced, supportive
Cons
None I can think of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollarama. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,655 reviews
5398
4513
3482
2148
1114

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture