Dollar Tree Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace
safety manager (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB16 April 2018
the people in the workplace were awesome to work with but I didn't enjoy the slow pace of the job found myself bored. Other than that would recommend to anyone wanting an easy job/ work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benefits
Assistant Manager, key holder, open (Current Employee) –  Ponoka, AB10 April 2018
Good atmosphere to work in. The other staff are very nice and helpful when needed. I enjoy working here but I would like a change of environment where I can grow more with the company.
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sm and dm
Hard worker (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB7 April 2018
My experience working there was not very good, the store manager and district manager were never satisfied, I would like to see them work as hard as I worked, also, quit being so racist!!
Pros
Cashier's
Cons
Store manager and district manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place , great co-workers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON4 April 2018
Fun place , great co-workers
great customers
great hours
great prices
clean
All in all a great atmosphere and a fun place to work and make
new friends..
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry-level position
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON30 March 2018
This company rarely hires more than part-time employees, so it's not a permanent solution. Nice for student summers. Short short days, rarely more than 20 hours a week, minimum wage.
Pros
Easy, simple work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON29 March 2018
Working with the staff is a great experience and as well as some of the people I've met from head office. It was a great experience to be able to be promoted within the company twice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very freindly management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, AB25 March 2018
The job was ok physically, but when it came down to training for assistant manager, things seemed to take a downfall with disrespectful people and non knowledgable . Just a very poor place to work..dollar tree is awesome.. but the boss and head bosses were realy horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i wont work here ever again
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 March 2018
you have to be in 2 places at once. i was always going home frustrated and upset i the co workers are really nice but i wasnt getting the hours i needed i was only getting 4 hours a week
Pros
you get paid
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a pretty cool job
Dollar Tree Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 February 2018
Customers are fairly kind, and the work load isn't something horrible. The workers try their hardest and are very caring. The work environment is supportive and kind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice starting point.
Part-time Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC22 February 2018
While doing morning shifts as a Key-Holder, the alarm is disabled, tills are turned on then the cashier and I head to the back to count the tills as well as the safe. Once we head upfront, we check the balloons for any orders and blow them up if there is some. A quick sweep and finishing any put-away's away that were left from the previous night. Once the doors are open, stocking being until the cashier is ready for a break, afterwards it continues.
Closing shifts I will arrive, check the safe, cash the other Key-Holder out then bring my till to the front.I will then give the cashier a break then go and stock, clean, do cardboard and garbage (if it is full). Put away's are finished and once the store closes we cash out, head to the back and I get the deposit ready then take it to the bank before heading home.
Pros
A good starting job
Cons
Not something you would like to stay in long term
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & work to work
Cashier/Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2018
Its been a great experience to work at Dollar Tree with good career opportunities.
Having started as as a cashier and now being an Asst. Store manager, is another stepping stone in my career
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good first job starting place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Port Perry, ON17 February 2018
At dollar tree I was a cashier, I would cash people out clean up around the front, put things back in the right aisles, wipe down the cash registers, filled up balloons, sweeping the whole store when closing.
Pros
It was close to where I lived
Cons
Didn’t get along with the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no hours
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON16 February 2018
The atmosphere is good customers are good. store is clean....Don't need as many people as we have, which makes it hard for people that have bills to pay to get the hours needed...
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun little place for people who just want 2 shifts a week...not me
Cashier (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON14 February 2018
cashier mostly i learned alot and how to deal with customers, they dont give out many shifts so the salary and pay day is very low looking for a new job
Pros
organized
Cons
not many shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar tree
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON12 February 2018
• Enduring high level of customers satisfaction
• Assessing customers’ needs and providing information on product features
• Welcoming customers to the store and answering their questions
• Meet company goals and standards of sales and operations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON11 February 2018
Management was terrible. They tend to talk to you like youre stupid. Not impressed with my position there. Made you come in if you called in sick. Dont answer the phone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a fantastic work environment
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON10 February 2018
Loved the people I worked with. The management team at the store that I worked at are fantastic. The work environment was always good. It was always fun yet productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing price point.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB6 February 2018
Dollar tree has an amazing ideal. Has a great product line and the company has some of the most amazing people working for them. They truly focus on offering great products and a single price point and strive to offer a fun and full shopping environment. With the rise of min wage, and other over head costs the challenges to make that always happen can sometimes be stressful.
Some of the best customers.
Pros
Great new products always coming in, great staff to wrk with
Cons
Shoplifters, cut in hours, work load at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 February 2018
Lots of customer interaction. Helping people find what they need.

New products to dislay according to seasons and celebrations. Learnt a lot and met good people .
Learnt how to stock shelves quickly.

Also learnt to divide go backs and quickly place them in their correct spots.
Pros
All things 1.25$
Cons
No advancement in job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun and relaxed place to work
Provide customer service (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC3 February 2018
I liked it there, just a couple of the other workers didnt do their jobs very well and i had to clean up after them. Lots of smoke breaks as well, so that sucked considering i am a non smoker
Pros
Relaxed environment
Cons
Management and communication between employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar Tree. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10,652 reviews
52.8K
42.7K
33K
21.2K
11K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.2Culture