Discount Car and Truck Rental Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed, customers where never satified due to inaccuate sales information
Sales and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 March 2018
Due to the lack of management, we never had enough vehicles to rent out to meet the number of reservations that where made on a daily basis. To add to this, the location was not located at the airport, which they advertise that they do, so when customers would land and the airport and find out they had to take a 30 minute shuttle ride, they where already extremely disgruntled. This made good customer service nearly impossible.
Pros
nothing
Cons
having upset customers get mad at you all day every day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Discount
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  GTA, ON1 March 2018
They never have enough inventory or they take on 130% of reservations over inventory. They promise you a promotion but never deliver. You do managerial tasks but are not compensated for them appropriately.
They give you a paid lunch on Fridays but deduct the 1 hour lunch time anyways and you are expected to be on call during this break time plus the meals are always less in cost the hourly pay you are making.
They pay all the new people the same wage as employees who have been there over a year.
Pros
None
Cons
Over worked, under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work/Life Balance for not great pay but generally an ok company to work for.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Halifax Regional Municipality, NS21 February 2018
I worked for this company for less than a year and left simply because of the horrible work/life balance and brutal pay, and I found something that pays more with a better balance. The people all the way up to and including the Managers were pretty great to deal with. Great for someone who is young and wants to work their way up through the company. I watched people get promoted fairly frequently which was great to see. You need to be very flexible and willing to work weekends.
Pros
Great people to work with, lots of growth potential
Cons
horribly long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 February 2018
This was a fun place to work and i did learn a lot while I worked there but the pay was not that good and also they did not have to much room for advancement.
Pros
Everyone works as a family
Cons
The hourly pay was not good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environement de travail stimulant
COORDONNATRICE ACHAT VEHICULE-ANALYSTE DE DONNEES (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 October 2017
Discount offre un environnement de travail stimulant riche en échange culturelles.
Discount favorise la conciliation entre vie professionnelle et familiale.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A competitive car and truck rental in north america
Car and truck Rental Agent (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC6 July 2017
Discount was my board to the automotive industry, by renting cars and trucks i had developed lots of the sales and marketing skills that conducted me to the car business.
Pros
A well structured team
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly relaxed place to work.
Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON7 June 2017
Discount is a relaxed friendly work place. But the salary is minimum and the Benefit Plan is also minimal. The hours are long and weekend end work is required weekly. As regular hours.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Minimum Wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst company in North America
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2017
I worked for Discount about a year. Most of time i worked over 55 hours a week in Toronto, from 7,30 am til 6.30-7 pm daily + weekends. no breaks. washing cars with hose outdoors in frigid cold, poor equipment in dress pants, tie or suite (since my position was customer agent not car washer). Management is uneducated and doesn't follow basic procedures. Rude and hostile work environment.
Hardest part of the job was working 11-12 hours shifts, and being managed by incompetent managers. Also being forced to wash cars with outdated equipment in awful weather conditions.
Pros
pay on time
Cons
long hours, no breaks, poor salary, hostile bullying environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you do not want a life work here
Sales and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 May 2017
Longggggg hours, and not very good pay. Wasnt worth it at all but the management was pretty cool. Every friday they bought us lunch which was also really nice
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Service Attendance Car rental (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 May 2017
Great opportunity to get a career as a customer service representative and sales. Worst part of the job is the long hour but the management and worker are amazing and is a fun work environment.
Pros
Free lunchs, good experience
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Discount Car and Truck Rental?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours low pay
Manager in Training (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2017
This is a culture where many (though not all) people in management positions and upwards are there because they stayed the longest, not because of their skills and leadership.

Hours are long, over 60/week at times, and the pay is exceptionally poor, especially for Manager in Training positions who are expected to work long hours and do not make overtime. Some employees actually turn down this promotion because they know they will be expected to work above and beyond their 40hrs/week and want to make sure they at least get paid for it.
Pros
Driving nice cars
Cons
No control over the length of your day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company I Have Worked For
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON5 November 2016
Here is the 100% honest truth of what you can expect if you choose working at Discount Car & Truck Rentals as a Customer Service Specialist:

- NO on-the-job training
- Being left alone as early as your first day at work to handle whole branch alone
- Working 100 hours in a two week period and bringing home a pay cheque of less than $1000.
- Absolutely no raises
- Working 12 hour shifts with no breaks
- Performing managerial duties for a mere $12.02/hour
- Having to deal with not having any available cars because the Operations Manager likes to overbook too much and leaves the Customer Service Specialists to deal with the backlash from customers who have reserved a vehicle
- No professionalism by management
- Poorly skilled management
- NO weekends off
- Absolutely NO Work/Life Balance

This is the complete and honest truth about working for Discount. Head Office does not keep in touch with branches to see what's actually going on. They don't realize that the reason their customer service scores are decreasing are because of the poorly run branches and the fact that employees don't care about the company due to the horrible way their treated and paid. This causes everyone to slack off and not follow rules. Nothing has changed after years of the madness and although they say they're fixing problems they never do.
Pros
Busy days makes the time fly
Cons
Long Hours, Low Pay, Poor Management, No Raises, Etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, ON16 October 2016
I really enjoyed this job. Everyone I worked with was very nice, and knowledgeable. The work was very consistent, but it still seemed different on some days. You could always learn something new.
Pros
Benefits, Free lunches, Full time hours
Cons
Less time off, Lower pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of career path
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON28 September 2016
Management needs to be better trained and focused on people growth rather then what then can get out of them.

Co workers have a good attitude and always great to work with.
Pros
interesting days, no two are the same
Cons
long hours, Lack of career growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
driving (Former Employee) –  Calgary Alberta16 August 2016
Worked as a driver there for about a month. What a joke . All a every heard from customers and staff was complaints. Just a little note was fired and they then sent me a email telling me a quit. Didn't even have the balls to tell me in person. Never ever work for them.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 August 2016
training is poor at least in western Canada you will be blamed for mistakes you make even when trained wrong
the company never has enough vehicles and management blames staff for this
often spend more time looking for cars then anything
pay is lousy and benefits are not good either
many branches the working conditions are poor you clean cars outside all year round
management seems not to care about your complaints and getting necessities is often difficult
don't expect the bonuses you are promised they are very poor and the system is so skewed you will not get them often anyway
everyone at my branch is job hunting
Pros
it pays
Cons
worst 9 months of my life at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company to work for
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 June 2016
Employed in april for the customer care and reservation specialist. LSCC job title.

worked there for 2 months being bullied and harassed by a co- worker. one year senior and a female called "Yuvonne".

she bossed around without authority and practically doesn't know how to train employees and take care of their development.

3 new employees were hired with me, one who cried while training and was harassed but did not quit.

second, she was human resource employee sister so wasn't messed with.

third was me who faced the bossing around and treated like a loser.

I went to the hr and the manager and told them the problem, but the solution they provided was ridiculous. the solution was no communication between the female co worker and me.

no apology or nothing from anybody, i finally quit and they were absolutely fine with it.

They make you work and expect you to learn everything in 2 days and make no mistakes. if u make mistakes she will again and again compare you with people who they fired in the past.

i hated it every minute. and honestly, anyone sensible enough would quit.
Pros
fancy name
Cons
do not work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productif et agréable
Reservation and Follow-Up Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 April 2016
c est une compagnie qui concilie travail-famille.
on apprend a travailler en équipe
Pros
bonne compagnie
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 February 2016
I liked working for Discount car & Truck rental because I had the opportunity to explore the different makes and models of vehicles that would be delivered to our store location, as well as vehicles that needed to get picked up and brought to our store location to be rented out to Discount car & Truck renters.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant change in scenary, lots of networking
Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ON13 January 2016
A company that only wants you to grow, everyone helps everyone. Always doing something different. Educate on different makes, models of cars, trucks which lead to helping people make decisions on new vehicles. Had an array of responsibilities from administration, communication, and accounting. Teamwork skills are strongly used having to work with other locations mostly over the phone or via email.
Pros
Perks, employee apprecation is huge
Cons
Long hours, poor consistenty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Discount Car and Truck Rental. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 54 reviews
56
415
39
210
114

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.6Culture