Direct Energy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great incentives
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  missisauga, On24 November 2013
Walking door to door everyday is hard. I learned how to be confident on dealing with people, My co-workers are fun to work with, Hardest part of the job is walking for 8 hours rain or shine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Direct Energy
Operations Centre and Payroll Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON7 November 2013
I worked for 10 years with the same company and even though they closed our office I feel I big loss...My co-workers where my family outside of my home. I still have contact with a lot of them. My manager was a strong supporter with new task and made sure we had the training needed and was very approachable. The most enjoyable part of my job were the people, from all departments.
Pros
team rewards and community care activities during work hours.
Cons
Office closing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  toronto ont4 November 2013
going door to door sale gas and hydro plans
the hardest part is getting people to sign up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy
Financial Analyst, Internal Controls - Contract (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2013
Constant termoil & change, Management infighting, ineffective structure
Pros
None
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Direct Marketer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2013
help people
have fun
solve problems
save money
going door to door to help people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing and poorly managed
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary13 August 2013
Senior management were non responsive to concerns of employees not receiving their pay, employee surveys, and concerns. Wages were good and benefits very good. Poor morale and attitude among workers.
Pros
Benefits and wages
Cons
Poor morale and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and culture
Product Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 June 2013
Flexible work hours and mostly great management. Unfortunately a lot of change has been occurring recently leading to poor business decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large residential HVAC coorporation.
Calgary District / Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary7 May 2013
A good corporate office in Calgary. The people in the Alberta business really have a desire to acheive in this market, however there are challenges that may be beyond their abilities, and I do wish them all the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect balance with life and work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Work from home11 April 2013
Everyday, we get to interact with many people and each day is a learning experience. Great support team that made cleared of all the stress at work
Pros
work from home
Cons
laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Billing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2013
My co-workers made it a very fun place to work. I started in HVAC and moved to billing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outdoor
outdoor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 March 2013
i work to much hours i like fun i learn team work how to be with they friend at work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable working environment.
Processing Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario14 March 2013
Must be be able to process all the deals that need immediate attention. Can handle any task even though not related to my work.Knowledgeable of the things at hand and must be able to help co-workers or share anything that will help to facilitate the flow of transaction.

The hardest part of the job is that when something had to be done and the needed information were not there.

The most enjoyable part of the job is to prove yourself that you can do it, if given the chance.
Pros
free lunch and snack if there is any corporate meeting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work and with excellent people and balancing work and personal life
Sr. Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  North York28 February 2013
Administration of payroll full cycle for about 900+ employees using Ceridian HPL
System administrator for Time Solution
submission of sales tax returns
Very friendly environment
Understanding higher management
Opportunities of learning system by in-house training team
Subsidized gym membership and parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Collector, Customer service (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 February 2013
no benefits.,
you have to work 12 hours sometimes without asking
not always available to help
they expect u to work hard and dont get paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working remotely from home
Workload Planner (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 February 2013
I thought I would enjoy working remotely from home, but I relly missed the work environment.
Pros
flexibilty
Cons
no room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are nice
Residential Hvac installer (Current Employee) –  calgary ab9 February 2013
receiving service calls, booking service appointments, selling home furnace insurance.the hardest part of my job, trying to sell insurance to customers. i have learned what its like to be on the other side of the phone in an office environment rather in the field.
Pros
because of the hours i work. i dont have to deal with traffic
Cons
because of the hours i work i spend less time with family, no room for advancment and hate of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, if you want to work all the time and ignore your family.
Energy Management Consultant (resi HVAC Sales) (Former Employee) –  Ottawa22 January 2013
Very demanding, greedy company. Even record sales figures were not good enough. Lying, conniving management, that would back stab to save their own skin. The only thing that matters to DE is the bottom line. Honesty, employee relations/ value, even customer satisfaction is secondary.
Pros
occasional free lunch, some decent co-workers
Cons
long hours, misguided management, lack of respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
SharePoint Administrator Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2013
The individuals is what makes the culture in Direct Energy. Hence there great individuals to work with in an excellent environment.
Pros
close to the 401
Cons
very tight schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Team Member made the day go by fast
Customer service/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 December 2012
Experience working with people of different ages and backgrounds
worked in a fun team environment got along with staff the hardest part is working with customers who did not like change and it took alot to convince, other than that it was enjoyable at the end of day knowing my team and myself met the daily expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking and telephone skills
Outbound customer service (Former Employee) –  toronto,on29 November 2012
callling customers to lock in 5yr rate plan for hydro
commisions with incentives
Pros
breaks and lunchtime
Cons
not good management, more training needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Direct Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 527 reviews
5158
4130
3131
265
143

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture