Direct Energy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 May 2017
Money was good. Worked from home, supervisor was nice, system is nice, calls are incoming, flexible schedule, good supervisor help, cool computer system.
Pros
Flexible Schedules
Cons
Being at home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very open and friendly work culture
Manager, Operational Risks (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2017
Had the best two years of my career with Direct Energy with their simple and friendly values which were highly reflective in their work culture. Direct Energy has been a progressive company with high growth track with employees-friendly environment.
Pros
Friendly, open, great salary and benefits
Cons
Reduced focus and growrth in Canada
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Customer service/Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 April 2017
I learned a lot about customer service and how to deal with people over the phone. I learned how to create customer profiles and learned how to speak on new or existing products for the customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun And Exciting environment
Customer Care Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 March 2017
Answering incoming and outgoing calls
Created accounts, established gas prices for customers, directed customers to alternate departments
managed to promptly responded to all incoming inquiries/requests for information

Management was very Helpful
Pros
incentives for sales
Cons
having product knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company wo work for
Financial Advisor (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON3 March 2017
great company to work for a lot of opportunities to grow and expand. it was a great environment every bod y is friendly good management hey are willing to help you grow if you apply yourself and retain more information.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job to find a job
Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 March 2017
This is not a job for the thin skinned sales rep type. Pressure was always on to hit sales targets, and customers were very difficult to deal with because they would look and treat you almost like thief trying to get their money.
Pros
End of the day
Cons
Unruly clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not too bad
Independent Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 March 2017
It was ok, for those who want to do this kind of work.
although for me I didn't benefit much from it except some knowledge and some understanding, about gas and electricity.
Pros
for those who are interested in this kind of environment of commission based, the staff was nice.
Cons
It was tiring, door to door.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious work environment
Summer Student Helper / Staging Clerk assistant (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON7 February 2017
Did jobs like ,Duct cleanings ,install helper ,staging clerk ,warehouse clean up etc. This was only temporary placement for the summer I was a student at the time .
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
8 hour days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work in
Technician (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON10 January 2017
This company was a great place to work. There equipment and work vehicle was up-to-date. The holidays and benefits were topnotch. The environment in the company was friendly and the training was ongoing. It was the best company that I worked for. Management was friendly and helpful but the company CEO's mismanaged the growth of the company therefore they had to close the department I worked in because of the losses every year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job.
Manager HSE for all of Canada operations (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 November 2016
People are fun to work with.
Hardest part of my job was trying to play catch-up on paperwork.
Learnt a lot about management systems.
Meeting people form different areas of the business.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Work piled up when you return
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Technical support (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 October 2016
it was a bad experience wife was pregnant and i got laid off one month before the baby was born which was a bummer but life moves on and i got a better job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
install (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 September 2016
Was able to climb the latter as long as i showed hard work and dedication. Managed to finish my jobs fast and get off work earlier.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 September 2016
It was a great place to work at. I found it a great pleasure and dealing with different type of people was rewarding. If would be my pleasure to work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto25 August 2016
Fantastic company, nice to work, excellent environment, nice learning opportunities, the hardest part of this job is that it is on commison basis, most enjoyable part of this job is door to door sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long
Helper/Installer. (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON3 August 2016
The job wasn't that good with pay, and or hours. The amount of work you got wasn't a lot and it was too demanding, they worked you like dogs and expected too much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Accounts Receivable/Billing Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 July 2016
Direct Energy, it's an excellent company.

Unfortunately my department was moved to the US, and I got lay off.

Have a great experience all these years and learn a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent workplace, needs major process improvement
Financial Systems Analyst - Full-Time (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON4 June 2016
good basic office work, they can improve their processes significantly. Got some decent experience. no flexibility in working. people were nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No guidance
Purchasing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 April 2016
Seemed like a good place to work. Decent employees. Very low morale. Managers have poor attitudes, and give no direction
Pros
good hours
Cons
low morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had to pursued Ontario's residence to vote for the Liberals
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 March 2016
I call home owners from across Ontario and told why they should vote for the Liberals party. I work from 8 hours a 7 days a week.
Pros
I spoke with some really nice people.
Cons
I spoke with some really mean people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment was good.
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto2 March 2016
The office environment was good. Only draw-back was that the Operations manager was never there. Was hired on contract and contract was never renewed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Direct Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 537 reviews
5161
4134
3134
265
143

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture