Denny's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic place to be with crazy hours
Server (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC13 February 2018
Denny's was full of confusing hours, constant people calling in sick and unorganized in general. The management cycled though quickly as did the employees but they did make sure most people were properly trained.
Pros
50% off during lunch
Cons
long or crazy hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place i have ever worked
Server (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON9 February 2018
The owner to start is nuts. He is a bully and he breaks every law. They make up their own labour laws there and personally attack you if you try and stand up for your rights. The work environment is very stressful mostly because they dont have enough staff and equipment and somehow that becomes the employees problem. Management is bitter and lazy and will not help you but will take tips and even the owner has his hand in the tip pool. The other employees are immature ans cause alot of drama. Cockroaches ans bugs running all over you.
Stay away from this place
Pros
I dont think there are any
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT was good
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 January 2018
Good workplace and good coworkers. they provide excellent service, and their pay has a good amount to put in your pocket. the food was delicious, and cooks get free food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place to work
Line cook (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 January 2018
good place to work help full staff and management schedule are comfortable and flexible work pressure manageable break times reasonable management has a good vision about the staff
Pros
free food
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably Pass
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB17 January 2018
Prepare yourself to be generally understaffed and really stressed out when you're working. Management doesn't try to hide the fact that they play favorites, but don't get in their bad books.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job, Good People
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON16 January 2018
I enjoyed working at this place, being one of my first jobs it was a very stressful environment and took a while to learn, this job taught me basic life skills in order to prepare me for the future.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Long hours, no breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and family friendly atmosphere
Server (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC12 January 2018
A typical day at work started with taking temperatures of all food and sauces and restocking any missing items. Then we would go about our day taking orders and delivering meals. We would end off the shift by doing our side work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON11 January 2018
Most of the girls there are so fun to work with. Over the years though it got stressful. Owners favour their own race. Poor management. Long hours....
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, no breaks, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Washing dishes and cutlery and maintaining kitchen station cleanliness
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 January 2018
I like the dishwasher job I really enjoyed it the job I made some new friends and I keep the area clean and help some of my employer service the customers food
Pros
Pleasant personality
Cons
16 to 20
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Manager/Server (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK10 January 2018
not a bad place open 24 hours so sometimes hours are quite all over the place, managment was ok depending on who it was, enjoyed my time there but glad to be done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Denny's?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unproductive
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON2 January 2018
I was hired as a server and was told I would be trained as a server, but I remained a host. They began hiring servers - so I resigned due to lack of honesty. The environment wasn't a very pleasant one and I never felt valued as an employee.
Pros
nice guests
Cons
rude coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun loving place of work
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC27 December 2017
North land property is the same
Great place to work with team work and family culture among staff
Good place to lean
Work place culture is very good
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun workplace
Senior General Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 December 2017
Denny's is a great place to work, Learn lot during my 12 years of work in this company. Great to work in family and friends like atmosphere. Hardest part is there are no such promotion or opportunity in Edmonton market.
Pros
Rrsp, Medical benefits and many more
Cons
Long Hours, Family time lapse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Hostess/Server (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 December 2017
Great place and great staff just not enough hours, love the costumers and staff. Typical day at work is 3-7 hours a few times a week. Lately they've cut all hours
Pros
Great food
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend working at denny's
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 December 2017
no room for advancement

not treating everyone fair

you will work like a slave with no tangible or intangible appreciation

for sure will work at x'mas and new year

no communications with management
Pros
none
Cons
too much to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers play favorites
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC1 December 2017
poor management due to favoritism on managers' parts. They only promote people they personally like even if they don't yet have the skills over someone who is more experienced but not a favorite. Just terrible. If you are looking to serve and have to start off as a host/hostess, don't get your hopes up that you'll ever be promoted.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Unfair management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Server (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 November 2017
Denny's is definitely a fast pace restaurant, but if you help out your co-workers, they help you, and it becomes close knit especially night shifts. The managers were great, super helpful and understanding. I didn't intact with the owners to much, they were super busy, so they did really have time for the employees I feel. the tips were good, I don't have any serious complaints.
Pros
tips, 50% off food (when i worked there), friendly, flexible, fast pace
Cons
disorganized at times, very fast pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable atmosphere
Server (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ON13 November 2017
i loved the fast pace so i wasnt trying to fins something to do all the time. friendly staff and an all around enjoyable environment to work in, i always had repeat customers that i started to have daily conversations with. I like having good realtionships with the customers it seems to make the job alot more home like,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Night Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2017
This is a great company to work for they provide you with all the training and support that you need to be successful at your job. I would recommend it to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay.
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB30 October 2017
Dennys was okay. Overall good place. Very very fast paced. The co workers were alot of fun to work with., There was always something to do. We were never bored.
Pros
One free meal of anything you want.
Cons
Hardly any breaks. Too much to do in so little time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,105 reviews
51.5K
41.4K
31.3K
2500
1381

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture