Denny's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s an awesome place to learn
Hostess, Server (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB16 June 2018
There’s awesome coworkers and customers. They give you the opportunity to make awesome money and memories. The tips are great and the hours are fantastic.
Pros
50% off staff meals and 25% off off shift staff meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommende
Certified Trainer Server (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC4 June 2018
poor work environment. there is no employee benefits. Poor management. i would never recommend work for them. the kitchen is always dirty and would not ever eat at there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ughh
Calgary West - Server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 May 2018
management are petty and talk behind peoples back to others. tips were great.. terrible hours. when i had to change my availability to accommodate summer school they cut my hours to one shift every 3 weeks.
Pros
great tips
Cons
terrible managers, bad hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of good and lots of bad customers
Server (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON30 May 2018
the place i worked at specifically had lots of good customers during the day. Horrible customers at night. The management was lacking of pure hierarchy and unfairness.
Pros
tips
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 May 2018
A typical shift for a Dennys consists of patrol duties as well as being seated at the front desk to monitor CCTV and greet customers/tenants. When necessary, the guards will be required to documents any outstanding activity and/or events. Otherwise, the workplace culture is welcoming and generally efficient.
Pros
free
Cons
clean
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright job
Host (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC23 May 2018
It all depends on who you work with. Managers picked favorites, and some were favored and some weren't all depends. Mangers would get short with workers and customers
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work at
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 May 2018
Management was very harsh and not understanding.
Very disorganized and unclean work environment.
Not a team oriented environment. Too much drama in workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant
Hostess/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 May 2018
Training was rushed and unmanaged. Did not feel there was support once "training" was finished. Staff was very physical with each other came across rather unprofessional. Lacked Structure.
Pros
discounted food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Server (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB16 May 2018
Customers are a bit cheap in comparison to many other restaurants. Management does not communicate well/at all. High turnover rate. Training is essentially non-existent.
Pros
There is nothing good about working here
Cons
Literally everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Host (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 May 2018
This was a great summer job for me, learned a lot in a friendly environment. Just left the job because decided to go ahead in life and moved to Toronto for school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment, fun
Server (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON10 May 2018
I learned how to handle difficult situation with customers and resolve any issues. Ensure customer satisfaction during their dining experience.
Management for me is ok, sometimes they are lenient to employees.
Pros
Free food sometimes
Cons
Long hours when it gets busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Hostess and Server (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 May 2018
It's easy to do tasks during the day, sometimes is busy but manageable and the pay is worth it. Managers help out when it is busy, and coworkers jump in when possible to help as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON6 May 2018
This place is so positive with lots of people around to help at anytime:) it’s a very clean and spaced out environment and it has such awesome staff!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible boss slow winter
Server (Former Employee) –  Revelstoke1 May 2018
Little money to be made in the slow season unless you’re a morning server which is reserved for a select few that have been there forever. The manager is unfair and not pleasant to work with. If you stand up for yourself when you’re being treated poorly you’ll end up with cut shifts and being bossed around and treated even more poorly. This Dennys has an ever going struggle retaining staff... wonder why!
Honestly never resented a job more in my life and I’ve done a few.
Also get a fairly bad clientele at times that don’t tip. Never worked in a place where this happens so frequently.
Pros
Couple of nice staff.
Cons
The long term staff aren’t nice the management isn’t nice and the money is usually not great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Server, shift leader (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC24 April 2018
Really friendly environment. Good environment to learn things. management is trying their bests to manage their workers in efficient. good culture in a workplace.
Pros
Christmas party
Cons
a little though work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management, inconsiderate with schedules
HOST (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON21 April 2018
In short, the twenty-percent meal discount was not enough to redeem the restaurant and its disrespectful, unprofessional fashion. Intolerable at best.
Pros
meal discounts, lovely co-workers
Cons
managers will degrade you, non-flexible schedules, dead on weekdays, not a money-making business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Great managers
Waitress and Certified Trainer (Current Employee) –  Okotoks, AB19 April 2018
I enjoy being employed with Denny's . Great company to work for and great people as well. Very accommodating and they are very family orientated. I am currently in school and there are not enough hours for me to be able to support myself.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not reccommed
Server (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC11 April 2018
This was the worst jobs I've worked at so far. The management is horrible and they don't care for their employees at all. They schedule you days that are not in your availability and make it up to you to find someone to cover your shift. Way too much stress with this job for such little pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast-paced
Hostess/ Waitress (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC7 April 2018
I worked here for a couple years, the staff was great and the management was understanding and lenient to my needs and requested times off. I learned alot working here.
Pros
fun enviornment
Cons
the grumpy customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC1 April 2018
working here was ok it was my first real job so cant complain. Managemnet was ok. I only worked 5-6 hours a week.
People were okay.
Cant really complain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,229 reviews
51.5K
41.5K
31.4K
2515
1398

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture