Denny's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food resturant
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 August 2018
-Management taught less than servers did
-flexible with hours
-24 hours so can work at any time
-can be very busy or very slow depending on hours of the day
Pros
chill atmosphere
Cons
lots of work for low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's was a great place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Jackson TN22 August 2018
Denny's is a very well managed place to work. The management is more than helpful and glad to work with the employee's when trying to balance home and work.
Pros
Great Managment
Cons
Pay can be seasonal for wait staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cook
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON13 August 2018
poor place to work and very dirty and organized, Staff was rude and also Managers. Would not recommend anyone to work here also had friends and family complain they way they treat there staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB9 August 2018
A typical day at work was coming in and assisting the main dishwasher as he put dishes through. I learned what my limitations where. The hardest part of the job was lifting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work management is good
Certified Trainer, Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC6 August 2018
Learned lot of things ,long hours , weekends are preety busy and weekdays are busy doing paperwork .Hardest part of job is doing weekly inventory which includes atanding in freezer for 1 hour
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice staff and mangement
dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NY26 July 2018
i got hired the same day i got interviewed. it feelt so good that someone is giving a first timer a job the same day as an interview. i just can't belive i got it the same day and i think for all the people still looking for jobs in niagara falls you guys and girls are the reason we have so much courage to get up off the couch and look for our potenial first job. i basiclly am happy im working with such a nice crowd of people because i just like getting along with people so ya thats my review peace.
Pros
nice staff and free lunch
Cons
none for now
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dennys
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON24 July 2018
Loved working here, could have more hours though. It was fun and interesting. I learned a lot and got relevant experience. I loved my team and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place
Server (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC21 July 2018
Management is inconsistent and very unloyal to long term employees, and almost all the employees are sleeping with managers and managers turn a blind eye to stealing that is happening right in front of their faces.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard!
Cook (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 July 2018
A typical day was could be very stressful. Busy moments would happen whenever, and there was never enough staff to run a shift. Management's expectations were really high. Good work would go unrewarded with pay raises. Booking off time was a constant problem and trading shifts was nearly impossible. working 6 days a week but only getting 5-7 hr shifts was not ideal. Cook's tips could be taken away if mistakes were made. Which would make you nervous.

What i enjoyed was the great server's and cooks who made it fun. also a free meal a shift.
Pros
free meal a day
Cons
hard to balance free time, no raises, management, scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Skills
Senior Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 June 2018
Worked with Manager's and Rank and File staff Hand to Hand. Specialize in Building Team to Improve Productivity and Profit Margin for the Company.
Create a Friendly and professional work environment.
Launched One to One Training and Group Training , help them to exceed the expectation of customer, Selling Skills. Communication Skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty, and negative environment
Host (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC25 June 2018
The manager was horrible towards me. Very minimal training. Everyone genuinely hated working there. It's a dirty environment. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone as a first job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s an awesome place to learn
Hostess, Server (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB16 June 2018
There’s awesome coworkers and customers. They give you the opportunity to make awesome money and memories. The tips are great and the hours are fantastic.
Pros
50% off staff meals and 25% off off shift staff meals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Hostess, waitressing services (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON10 June 2018
Fun job to began. I was a hostess and I learned about customer service skills, being welcoming, kind and making sure each guests experience was to the highest of extent.
Pros
Experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommende
Certified Trainer Server (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC4 June 2018
poor work environment. there is no employee benefits. Poor management. i would never recommend work for them. the kitchen is always dirty and would not ever eat at there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ughh
Calgary West - Server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 May 2018
management are petty and talk behind peoples back to others. tips were great.. terrible hours. when i had to change my availability to accommodate summer school they cut my hours to one shift every 3 weeks.
Pros
great tips
Cons
terrible managers, bad hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of good and lots of bad customers
Server (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON30 May 2018
the place i worked at specifically had lots of good customers during the day. Horrible customers at night. The management was lacking of pure hierarchy and unfairness.
Pros
tips
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 May 2018
A typical shift for a Dennys consists of patrol duties as well as being seated at the front desk to monitor CCTV and greet customers/tenants. When necessary, the guards will be required to documents any outstanding activity and/or events. Otherwise, the workplace culture is welcoming and generally efficient.
Pros
free
Cons
clean
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright job
Host (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC23 May 2018
It all depends on who you work with. Managers picked favorites, and some were favored and some weren't all depends. Mangers would get short with workers and customers
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work at
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 May 2018
Management was very harsh and not understanding.
Very disorganized and unclean work environment.
Not a team oriented environment. Too much drama in workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant
Hostess/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 May 2018
Training was rushed and unmanaged. Did not feel there was support once "training" was finished. Staff was very physical with each other came across rather unprofessional. Lacked Structure.
Pros
discounted food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,564 reviews
51.6K
41.5K
31.5K
2551
1435

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture