Denny's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work at
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 May 2018
Management was very harsh and not understanding.
Very disorganized and unclean work environment.
Not a team oriented environment. Too much drama in workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant
Hostess/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 May 2018
Training was rushed and unmanaged. Did not feel there was support once "training" was finished. Staff was very physical with each other came across rather unprofessional. Lacked Structure.
Pros
discounted food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Great
Server (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB16 May 2018
Customers are a bit cheap in comparison to many other restaurants. Management does not communicate well/at all. High turnover rate. Training is essentially non-existent.
Pros
There is nothing good about working here
Cons
Literally everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Host (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 May 2018
This was a great summer job for me, learned a lot in a friendly environment. Just left the job because decided to go ahead in life and moved to Toronto for school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment, fun
Server (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON10 May 2018
I learned how to handle difficult situation with customers and resolve any issues. Ensure customer satisfaction during their dining experience.
Management for me is ok, sometimes they are lenient to employees.
Pros
Free food sometimes
Cons
Long hours when it gets busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON6 May 2018
This place is so positive with lots of people around to help at anytime:) it’s a very clean and spaced out environment and it has such awesome staff!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible boss slow winter
Server (Former Employee) –  Revelstoke1 May 2018
Little money to be made in the slow season unless you’re a morning server which is reserved for a select few that have been there forever. The manager is unfair and not pleasant to work with. If you stand up for yourself when you’re being treated poorly you’ll end up with cut shifts and being bossed around and treated even more poorly. This Dennys has an ever going struggle retaining staff... wonder why!
Honestly never resented a job more in my life and I’ve done a few.
Also get a fairly bad clientele at times that don’t tip. Never worked in a place where this happens so frequently.
Pros
Couple of nice staff.
Cons
The long term staff aren’t nice the management isn’t nice and the money is usually not great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Server, shift leader (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC24 April 2018
Really friendly environment. Good environment to learn things. management is trying their bests to manage their workers in efficient. good culture in a workplace.
Pros
Christmas party
Cons
a little though work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management, inconsiderate with schedules
HOST (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON21 April 2018
In short, the twenty-percent meal discount was not enough to redeem the restaurant and its disrespectful, unprofessional fashion. Intolerable at best.
Pros
meal discounts, lovely co-workers
Cons
managers will degrade you, non-flexible schedules, dead on weekdays, not a money-making business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Great managers
Waitress and Certified Trainer (Current Employee) –  Okotoks, AB19 April 2018
I enjoy being employed with Denny's . Great company to work for and great people as well. Very accommodating and they are very family orientated. I am currently in school and there are not enough hours for me to be able to support myself.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not reccommed
Server (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC11 April 2018
This was the worst jobs I've worked at so far. The management is horrible and they don't care for their employees at all. They schedule you days that are not in your availability and make it up to you to find someone to cover your shift. Way too much stress with this job for such little pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast-paced
Hostess/ Waitress (Former Employee) –  Terrace, BC7 April 2018
I worked here for a couple years, the staff was great and the management was understanding and lenient to my needs and requested times off. I learned alot working here.
Pros
fun enviornment
Cons
the grumpy customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC1 April 2018
working here was ok it was my first real job so cant complain. Managemnet was ok. I only worked 5-6 hours a week.
People were okay.
Cant really complain.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishwasher
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON28 March 2018
I mainly washed dishes, cutlery and pots and pans during the busy / rush times. can be fast paced but I enjoyed keeping busy in the role. I would also assist in cleaning and disinfecting machinery used in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Waitressing (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 March 2018
Fun place to work at. Very flexible hours and great management, the staff is great and have made a lot of friends. It is a great place to start off with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Hours
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 March 2018
Working at Denny's , Management was very poor with working with my availability hours. I was not able to work desired hours and worked very little. I did not enjoy working there.
Pros
25% of friends and family meals
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, open 24 hours..
Cashier/ Waitress (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC13 March 2018
Enjoyed my work as a waitress/ cashier. Sometimes time is so slow
when not too busy.
I like working with my peers because there is team work among us,
I ike meeting new people.
Pros
50 percent off from our meal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My First Workplace
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 March 2018
This is the first job where, I leaned to interact with people. I also learned team work, time management and different other ethics from this job. The hardest part of the job was working long hours and a lots of walking around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Hostess/Server (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC6 March 2018
It was a great experience to work in an environment like Denny's Canada restaurant. All the staff members always support each other. I have learned a lot from here.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB27 February 2018
During my time at Denny's I found the staff and management to be great people. Although the wages were a little low that's to be expected of the position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,108 reviews
51.5K
41.4K
31.3K
2500
1382

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture