De Beers Employee Reviews

Found 65 reviews matching the search See all 205 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Camp Administrator/Camp Manager (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT19 March 2019
Worked two weeks on and two weeks off having to fly an hour each way. The environment was exciting and took my management experience to a new level. I would highly suggest trying it to anyone with a sense of adventure but make sure to dress warm! It was -50 some days!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good if you don't have a family
Protective Services Official (Current Employee) –  Remote30 April 2018
This position is 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off, 12 hour days. Two of my off-days are spent travelling to and from the mine-site. The benefits are awesome, and the two weeks off is nice, but it can be mentally frustrating at times being away from home in an isolated post for two weeks at a time if you have a family.
Pros
Free food, good benefits/wage
Cons
Long hours, isolated, poor access to the outside world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for with good benfits
Front Line Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 April 2018
Meet with cross shift an discuss previous shift. Get ready for crew line up. Have a safety talk with management and crew. give the crew their line up then go u/g and check on the crew and check work places for any changes from the previous shift. Working with and helping the workers whenever possible is appreciated. management was not as involved in the mining operation as I had been use to. Safety and procedures were pushed above production.keeping water under control and meeting targets.When the ore bins were full at the end of the shift.
Pros
A good meal at the end of the shift
Cons
Bad weather and stuck in camp for a couple of days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company with a small company feel
Contract Trainer/Assessor, (Former Employee) –  Gahcho Kue20 March 2018
Great Place workers safety and work life balance are paramount. Working in the arctic is a challenge but De Beers are very skilled at making everything feel as close to home as possible Don't hesitate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome crew to work with
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Northwest Territories17 March 2018
I had the best crew and supervisors to work with and they made the job fun and productive. The hardest part was having to deal with any emergency situations trying to to worry about friends underground, but they were professional and at the end of the day everything would be fine.
The management was not the best by any means, but we got the job done.
Pros
The people
Cons
The management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Maintenance Planner (Current Employee) –  Attawapiskat, ON1 March 2018
Over 10 years of experience as Mobile Equipment / Site Service / Dewatering Maintenance & Parts Planner and also one year as Purchasing Clerk with DeBeers
Acquired excellent communication, organizational, negotiation, problem solving, interpersonal and customer service skills.
Pros
Great CoWorkers Great Team
Cons
Closing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Underground Miner- Scoop Operator (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT26 February 2018
Productive work environment! Gained a lot of experience working with this company. Too bad the mine closed though. Great people and good staff!! That's all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good salary with an ideal work schedule
Underground Miner (Former Employee) –  Snap Lake, NT20 February 2018
This was a fly in job but the mine shut down. It was a good place to work with good coworkers and management. The salary and benefits were great with a good schedule of 14:14
Pros
Salary benefits schedule
Cons
Security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Attawapiskat, ON Victor Mine4 January 2018
I enjoyed working for this company very much. Accommodations, food, everything was excellent. This is where I learned the importance of safety issues related to equipment and the mining industry. Management was very helpful in all areas. The hardest part may have been the -45 climate. The most enjoyable part would have been operating various pieces of equipment as well as co workers.
Pros
flights, accommodations, equipment, management, safety
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/Life at the Management Level
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Timmins, ON2 January 2018
No work/Life at the Management Level. Not a very organized company. Upper Management at the corporate office does not provide guidance. Rotational schedule is not bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
MINER (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT22 August 2017
worked underground mining, on a three week on three week off basis, all expenses paid by the company,this was a fly in position, salary and benefits were great,management was good
Pros
great benefits and salary
Cons
alot of flying
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work with
Protective Service Officer Trainee (Former Employee) –  Victor mine5 August 2017
Working alongside people who love their job made my experience better considering the long hours and being away from home. The people at work made it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people
Underground Miner (Former Employee) –  Snap Lake, NT11 April 2017
:) Good people to work with. I like how the company showed that safety is a priority among its employees.
Learned a lot while employed with this company.
Pros
Fly in Fly out rotations
Cons
Isolated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcution
Corporate Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 February 2017
Good management; I've learnt Management skill. My work was based on Financial analyst. I report to the Manager.
The work place was diversified. Work-life balance
Pros
Chritsmas Party
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Underground Miner, Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT17 January 2017
It was a good place to work, conditions underground were poor but the camp was good, good people to work with.
I would go back if it wasn't closed, my co-workers were good to work with not one day passed where i wasn't laughing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience learn at this worksite
Construction Electrician (Former Employee) –  Attawapiskat, ON8 January 2017
work there as a contrution electrician reading blueprint and installing as require many challenge .management was very resourceful when needed more clafication the hardest part of the job was the wheather very challenging people co-worke was very nice to work with
Pros
very good paid
Cons
long hour camp job away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Underground Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Northwest Territories5 January 2017
Worked with a great group of people. Was not surprised when the company decided to shut the mine down, with all of the water issues they have had since day one. Sad to see it go and for over 700 people to lose their jobs, it was devastating for a lot of people.
Pros
fly in fly out
Cons
Water underground
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work Crew
Site Services Operator (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT23 September 2016
2 weeks in and 2 weeks out 12 hr shifts days/nights.
Camp Job away from home and as the summers are awesome to work in the winters can be deadly. Weather changes and the steadiness/pace of work changes at last moment.
Co-workers are great to get along with, you have your ups and downs no matter where you're at. Management is par but they help you every way they can....
Enjoyable part of the job were the guys/women you worked with, when the days drew in, it's the tight core crew members that kept me going.
Pros
Free Lunches, own room space, great crew
Cons
delayed flights, winters
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Snap Lake, NT6 September 2016
working for this company was the best years of my life. I love 2x2 and I met so many wonderful people and learned so many things. I love the mining industry and would like to get back in.
Pros
great people
Cons
i really have none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Workplace
Supply Chain Purchasing Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 August 2016
Fantastic Work Place. Good Culture. Good Management. Co-operative coworkers. Healthy work environment.
Transparent & Open Communication. Work Life Balance.Training and development.
Pros
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at De Beers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 205 reviews
596
475
327
27
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture