Days Inn Employee Reviews

Found 103 reviews matching the search See all 1,110 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive working place with good people
Housekeeping / Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, NL16 February 2019
Able to work in all stations that required the job to be done I also helped with other jobs on the side. I have learnt that sometimes it is hard to work with people that have a lot of anger issues and I was able to maintain my comments and temper in the situation. The managers where sometimes hard to work with on the fact that hours would be changed with out my knowledge but other then that it was good working with them.. I dont think there was anything that i found hard. I liked the job because understood what needed to be done the first time being taught I also got to work with some really good people.
Pros
Good working conditions
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enjoyable, would not recommend.
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON15 February 2019
Although I only worked here for a few shifts, I didn’t not enjoy it at all. They hired me knowing I had a second job, said they would work around it, but then would ask me to change multiple shifts at my other job to accommodate them. Training was terrible, they had another employee train me and she just had me make key cards and sweep floors, (stuff she didn’t want to do), and explained nothing; checking in and out guests, how to accept payments, handiling paperwork, etc. She basically just had me do stuff that she didn’t want to do, didnt actually teach me to do anything.
Manager was ok, not professional at all, didn’t train me just expected me to know what to do after only working there for like 3 shifts with what might as well have been no training what so ever. She Was rude and made me feel stupid if I didn’t exactly know what was I was doing. She was ALWAYS talking on the phone, when I asked for help, having only worked there for a couple shifts, I was shushed mutiple times, both in front of customers and alone, she would put her hand in my face and imply for me to shut up, I don’t how she didn’t expect to be interrupted when she was on the phone 97% of the time, talking about non work related things, I don’t really know what she expected me to do when I had no training and she was right beside me blabbing in about outside related matters. When I didn’t understand how to do somethig because of the lack of training I had she would be demeaning and make me feel stupid. She also Didn’t give my sin number back until a few weeks later even when I would ask for it, I also
  more... never got paid for the hours I worked. Overall I think the Days Inn brantford needs new management or to teach Sam how to be more professional and treat employees with respect, get off the personal calls, and be a kinder person, make sure your employees are being trained properly. Overall one of the worst places I’ve ever worked just because of the manager and how rude she was.  less
Cons
No breaks, rude environment, didn’t get paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lied to and stolen from
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 February 2019
If you have any amount of self respect, don’t work here. The expectations that management sets on housekeepers are insanely unfair and crude. Felt extremely unsafe working here. Guests and co workers always on drugs. Have to go in rooms alone with people who make you very uncomfortable. Upper management will lie to your face about everything and anything they can to get you to work harder. The amount of mind games that management will try to play with you while they’re treating you like garbage and stealing tips from you is beyond unfair. Front desk steals tips and pizza parties that were originally gifted to housekeeping for our hard work. You will work your butt off and be completely unappreciated as long as you’re an employee at this circus. Front desk and management will bully you about your personal life. Front desk make messes in vacant rooms, check guests in, and blame it on housekeeping. Completely unprofessional workplace. If you love cleaning up blood and needles and vomit and condoms after meth heads and prostitues, this is the job for you. Stay far away.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place i have ever worked
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON4 February 2019
Was hired fulltime, never worked a 40 hour week the entire time I was a staff member. Called off 2-3 times a week with less the 1 hour notice
Work load increased and alloted cleaning times decreased.
Management are a joke and there is a major power struggle going on.
Currently under renovations and the renovations that have been done are shotty, tiles cracked, becareful your hot and cold water taps are not reversed, beds breaking, pool and/or hot tub always has issues....pool ceiling crumbling.
Housekeepers are worked liked dogs and shown little or no respect, no WHIMIS training, never shown where the MSDS sheets were located.
Expected to wash floors on your hand and knees like it's the 1950's.
Pros
None
Cons
Rate of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Front Desk Representative (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON17 December 2018
God opportunity to meet great people and gain some experience if not have any.
Good starting job to expand your horizon.
Days Inn Fallsview is a good company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
Offsale clerk an genral labory (Former Employee) –  Estevan, SK9 December 2018
i miss this job but i had got tired of liveing in a old hotel room cause estevan houseing is so expensive. would go back if i could the staff is friendly an there waz all ways more hours availbe if you wanted them.
Pros
lots of work
Cons
dealing with drunk people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shady Staff, Always Hiring & Firing
Housekeeping Attendant (Former Employee) –  Grande Cache, AB8 November 2018
The job itself wasnt too bad, the people given to work with on the other hand make the work environment unbearable.Good hotel manager, less than great supervisors
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
unfair schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming atmosphere
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK4 November 2018
I loved how it was a second home to me. The management was amazing along with all the staff. It felt like a family in a huge home. Would recommend anyone to work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbelievable
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Renfrew, ON29 October 2018
The conditions for working were awful as well as the people who worked their were very rude, when the manager was told about this they said it was not their issue
Pros
none
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience in housekeeping
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON21 August 2018
My typical day starts with cleaning and arranging rooms. It is a good experience for building cleaning skills but you have to keep up with the time.Overall, it gives you a lot of insights but you have to be quick and good as much as you can
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work wherr ive accomplished the best skills for great cleaning in the Hotel Industry
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS17 August 2018
In 1999 I started to work at Future Inn located in DART it was challenging meeting new people an the work wasn't a risk for me cause I've always enjoyed cleaning when I hit my early teens.In 2006 Future in became Days inn sol to Koreans I then became a employee for thst company this was a lil more challenging but I worked hard an remained there until it was closed down in 2015 so I believe in a good candidate for a cleaning position in this busuness
Pros
Lunch discounts an free bbq but we all worked as a fsmily
Cons
Sometimes long hrs no laundry dhortage of workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff and guests
HouseKeeping (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON16 August 2018
The staff are friendly and amazing to work with, was defiantly a great overall experience. We had game days the housekeepers would play and could win small prizes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK14 August 2018
Most housekeepers don't get paid enjf for all the work they do.
Most people don't relaize what the housekeeper has to go through and how much they clean up.
But this is a job that will always keep you busy and you never know what you will get the day is usually always filled with excitement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my job as laundry attndant, unhappy at the end, changing hours
Laundry attendant (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON30 July 2018
Loading and unloading washers and dryers. Manual folding of all products, supply the shelves with fresh linen. Cleaning machines at end shift, clean laundry room, restock chemicals when required. Report status of machines, ie : need of repair, cleaning. Worked mostly afternoon shift during summer season, only staff in laundry. Work well with a team situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with good staff
BARMAID (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QC27 June 2018
I had the chance to be barmaid before their bar had close. I met very funny people and had lot of fun. I've met some staff people that became my friend. They are giving very cheap training and the management is soso. Some staff people are gossiping a lot. Supervisor is very nice, she is very open to reconcile studies and work and is flexible on schedules. Several requested holidays have been authorized.
Pros
free beverages
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC23 June 2018
really enjoyed the job, like the fact that i was responsible for all the guests through out the night, enjoyed the fact i worked alone with no supervision
Pros
interesting people
Cons
dealing with undesirable guests
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC14 June 2018
Worked there always felt on edge cause of the gossipy assistant manager decides she doesn’t like you your gone. Very clicky certainly don’t know how to value employees
Pros
None
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for them ❤️
Janitorial Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC5 June 2018
It’s a great place to work, lovely people and guest are always great as well. I wouldn’t want to leave this place of work if it wasn’t for me having to go back to college
Pros
Free breakfast and all around good people
Cons
Nothing really
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Manager (Current Employee) –  High Level, AB24 May 2018
- Good owner
-Learning more
- Good to work this kind of place
-Management is wonderful
-Nothing to hard for this job
-The most enjoyble part for this job is dealing with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, but no work - life balance in management
FRONT OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB10 May 2018
This is a good place to work, however there is bad work-life balance. Schedules are hectic and management is not supportive. The culture is good, but upper management is very unsupportive.
Pros
Best Western Incentives
Cons
bad schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Days Inn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,110 reviews
5313
4269
3246
2120
1162

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture