DHL
Happiness score is 63 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

DHL Pay & benefits reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Canada476 reviews

Ratings by category

Clear
3.5Work-life balance
3.5Pay & benefits

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 109 reviews matching the searchSee all 22,691 reviews
exelcanadawarehousesupervisorpackageexpressshiftsafety

Good job

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
It's a good job. It's alot of work and you need to be in good physical shape. Lots of things to do all the time. The salary is about the same as other places.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

15 November 2022
Hello,Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.Having a high team spirit has its fair share of benefits that helps an organization immensely. Just remember that consistency is the key to tackling issues that will unite everyone. It has been proven that work "shapes" the body and also increases or decreases physical performance. In addition, make sure you have a good work-life balance and avoid excessive stress. In order to keep fit during physically demanding work, you should generally train the muscle groups that are hardly or not very often used during working hours.We wish you the best in future personal and professional projects and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment. Best wishes to Québec!Your DHL Team

Loved working here!

Awesome job! Awesome pay! Awesome management. You will get lots of work even as a casual worker. Long hours and some difficult deliveries. They train thoroughly and with patience. Lots of support and help from all!

Pros

Friendly coworkers, supportive management

Cons

Long hrs, physically demanding
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

25 November 2022
Hello, Three times "Awesome" sounds like three times "Hurray" for DHL. We are so joyful to read your comments. Thank you for sharing your experience as a Courier in Brampton. We are aware that times can get tough sometimes and that peak period can be difficult. When all colleagues put their shoulders under the assignment and support each other, then the weight is evenly distributed and the task will be easier, As One!We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your excellent cooperation and wish you all the best for your future. Your DHL Team

Insights into DHL

Based on 189 survey responses
What people like
  • Feeling of personal appreciation
  • Clear sense of purpose
  • Ability to meet personal goals
Areas for improvement
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Sense of belonging
  • Fair pay for job

Fun and awesome place to work

Impressive work culture, work-life balance, flexibility in timing, supportive management, very helpful and hardworking people. Pay and benefits was average.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

22 November 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for the 5-star review! We are happy to see that you are satisfied with DHL as an employer in every possible way and we promise you that we will continue doing our best to keep it this way!All the best to you and your team,Your DHL Team

Zero support and zero appreciation

Double standards between day shift and night shift when it comes to Supervisors being held accountable. Expected to come in on days off or stay after shift to attend "events" and training. Management schedules mandatory meetings during "rest period" of night shift Supervisors. No support from direct Manager for daily operations (comes in late, no information given to Supervisors, no follow up on issues/concerns, does not resolve any issues with other departments, hides in office all shift).

Pros

Salary, lot's of events for frontline employees

Cons

No management support, extra hours expected outside of scheduled shift (with no pay), union runs the business instead of the company running the business
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

28 October 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to share these valuable comments about your experience as Operations Supervisor in Mount Hope. We regret that this has been your case.We aim to foster a leadership culture based on attributes, where employees at all levels can make a difference to promote a supportive and collaborative environment. Leaders are measured not only by the result of their teams but also by the satisfaction of their employees and in this regard, we encourage our colleagues to reach out to HR colleagues or senior leaders to raise attention over these critical issues.Thank you for recognizing our fair and strong compensation. This is the base for a fruitful employee-employer relation.Take good care and good luck in your next career steps.Your DHL Team

Fun place to work

fun place to workeveryone get's very close/easier if you make friendssalary/compensation is a little lowjob is very doable and KPI's are easy to meet.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

25 July 2022
Dear colleague, Your comment as a lead qualifier at our Toronto location makes us very happy! Your words reassure me that we're on the right track. We are delighted that you regard us as a top employer and that you feel at ease with us.You have given us top ratings in all areas, which makes us very happy because, as a top employer, we value all of these aspects and hope to provide them to our employees.We want to have fun while improving ourselves a little bit every day.A big thank you to you for your commitment to DHL.#TogetherWeAreGREAT!Your DHL Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Management does favoritism

If you are liked by management even if you are not productive, you will get benefits. Management is not professional. In the last few months the quality work environment has dropped dramatically. They do give free lunches regularly which is a nice bonus.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

13 June 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback.We take every case extremely seriously. Organizational politics is a sensitive issue and needs to be more often discussed. Thank you for noting this.A positive working environment has a calm atmosphere that leads to greater productivity. When you're able to work with minimal distractions, you're more likely to stay on task and accomplish more of your daily responsibilities. It also means you're able to work in a stress-free setting that promotes your cognitive performance and physical well-being. It is therefore all the less pleasing that you have had to experience the opposite with us. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Your DHL Team

Decent workplace

Decent job with long hours and an alright pay. If you’re looking to gain some material handling experience then this is a neat place to work at. Really inconvenient location if you’re not driving cause it hidden

Pros

Nice pay

Cons

Long hours, Hidden location
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 May 2022
Hello,Thank you for the review that you shared with us. As a rule, we offer reasonable and competitive compensation packages in all markets in which we operate. We always aim to offer our employees attractive compensation packages within our possibilities.It is part of our corporate philosophy to offer our employees individual opportunities for advancement within the company. We greatly appreciate that you have taken advantage of these opportunities.Good work planning is part of a well-functioning working day and helps to reduce stress. That also has a positive effect on private life. We are pleased that we succeeded in achieving this balance with you. Best wishes for your future and hopefully you will have a similarly good experience with your new employer.Your DHL Team

A lot of work that wasn't managed in the best way

The wage isn't a lot with 17 an hour being not enough to pay for bills, rent, etc. The work is hard, but if it was managed correctly it wouldn't feel as heavy.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

12 May 2022
Hello,We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience as a former material handler of DHL with us and strive to improve our management organization. That is why your input is so valuable to us.It is important to us that the superiors in our teams always have an open ear for their employees to clarify possible problems in an individual, personal discussion.Each employee should receive remuneration that is tailored to his or her work. We are sorry that you felt your remuneration was unfair. We wish you the very best for your future and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment.Your DHL Team

Good company

flexible arrangement in most of the activitieschill job culturefriendly colleaguefair paidfree pantryhas special events for employee in big festivals
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

21 April 2022
Hello,We are deeply thankful for this 4-star rating! Your feedback helps us continue on the right track regarding the positive aspects that you highlight. In particular, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the work with DHL. Thank you for your ongoing efforts and dedication to us during your time with us.Take care and stay safe. Warm greetings!Your DHL Team

Stressful and fast-paced but with good opportunities

Lots of overtime available, relatively easy to advance if you stick it out. Work can be stressful and sometimes very busy. Work has little variation and can be repetitive. Hard workers are appreciated but not always noticed. Co-workers are mostly friendly and helpful. Certain people seem to make it their mission to be as rude as possible to lower-level employees and are shielded by management.

Pros

Safety shoe / work clothes allowance, regular free lunches, decent benefits, no shortage of work, lots of overtime, willing to train

Cons

Stressful, busy, can be dangerous, HR often ignores employees reaching out until you raise a stink, Poor communication between management and employees.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

3 June 2022
Dear colleague,As a rule, we offer reasonable and competitive compensation packages in all markets in which we operate. We always aim to offer our employees attractive compensation packages within our possibilities.It's great to hear that there is a good atmosphere at work that lends itself well to collaborative working, which is what it's all about.What is indeed a challenge is the fact that activities like that of a case picker are not different every day and there is a lot to do especially in times like these. However, we are continuously working on optimizing this to relieve our employees as much as possible. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them.Despite everything you have experienced, now, more than ever, is the time to support and take care of each other. We are here for you. Your DHL Team

Zero Training, Unrealistic Expectations, Toxic Work Environment

Upper management doesn’t provide training to any supervisors. The expectation is that you learn on the fly, which is hilarious because the expectations are so unrealistic from the beginning. Certain areas have more qualified employees than others which causes errors in the sorting process and puts unnecessary pressure and responsibility on the supervisors/team leaders. Management doesn’t seem to want to address the problem. Supervisors on multiple shifts contribute to a toxic workplace environment by negatively commenting on coworkers, and PM/AM Shift Managers fail to address the issue or respond to employees when they raise the issue. The company operates in an “escalation” system where issues are sent to direct reports of employees to ensure “discipline” is handed out. Facility Manager expects supervisors to attend meetings during the day regardless of their shift, which contributes to burnout of employees. DHL as a corporation responds to these reviews in a positive manner in order to save face, which I’m sure you will see below. For a company that is so big on mottos they sure didn’t get it “right the first time”. Always have a backup plan ready to go when working as a salaried employee for DHL, they will terminate you at any time without cause at their discretion.

Pros

Benefits

Cons

Too many to list, read the review
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

25 March 2022
Hello, Thanks very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. In DHL we strive to provide our employees the best conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued with us. We comply with all applicable local laws regarding working hours such as overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. Whenever these or any other guidelines or policies are violated, we encourage our employees to reach out to their senior leaders or local HR teams so this can be investigated. We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Best wishes,Your DHL Team 

Hectic

Always go go go with no end in siteManagement wasn’t very caring towards the staff Some staff can be clicky, rude and gossip too muchSome vulgar staff

Pros

Benefits
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

1 March 2022
Hello,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our Brantford site was far from satisfactory. Indeed, being a Driver is a physically demanding position and very important to our business operations. It is hence crucial that our employees there get all the support and appreciation they need, especially from their management. We always try to do better, to continuously improve every part of our organization, including the managerial structure. For this reason we rely on our employees to come forward with constructive criticism and improvement feedback. Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort while working with us - we sincerely appreciate it.We wish you and your loved ones all the best,Your DHL Team

DHL is a fun place to work which offer opportunities to work in cross functions.

The customer support team at DHL is heavily overworked. You have to answer at an average of 80 calls per day with a target of average 240 second wrap up time. Pay is not great, employee churn is very high.

Cons

Below average pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 February 2022
Hello,We are happy to read that you have experienced your time working with us as fun, and this has given you opportunities to develop.Each employee should receive a remuneration that is tailored to his or her work. We always strive to provide our employees with a good work-life balance. Managers have to be aware of stress in the workplace and take steps to combat this before it gets out of control. We are sorry that we have not been able to achieve this in your case. Best wishes in all future professional challenges and personal projects, we hope your experience with us can be of use. Keep safe!Your DHL Team

Productive

It is a Good place to work ,there are very friendly staff also good amount of time for breaks, I will recommend anyone to work at this fun place and skills
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 February 2022
Hello, You make us smile!We are very happy to read that you have experienced your time working with us as a fun and creative time with the opportunity to work on different levels. We are exceptionally satisfied that your group is characterized by solid cohesion. A great working climate and colleagues who treat each other reasonably contribute to a harmonious working day. As a company, we would like to advance this in the best credible way.We are one of the world’s largest employers and our employees are our company’s biggest asset. We act as responsible employers based on our core values. This includes protecting human rights, offering reasonable working conditions within the local context, and engaging our diverse employees. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your excellent cooperation and wish you all the best for your future. And: Stay safe and stay healthy! Greetings Your DHL Team

Fast paced and serious.

Brutally monotonous work. Assembly-line sorts of things; but require extremely high attention to detail (at Lethbridge we are supplying parts for aircraft engines, so critical). 12 hour shifts of staring at small parts with tiny numbers on them. Excellent safety program, management is supportive and lots of time off (10 or 12 hour shifts).

Pros

10 and 12 hour shifts, so lots of time off. Wage is pretty good. $100 boot allowance every 2 years.

Cons

Mind-numbingly boring work, High production targets, Plenty of "helpful coaching" from supervisors, Three (3) year salary cap, No merit-based wage increases.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

2 February 2022
Dear colleague,We are happy to receive your 3-star review.It is a nice to read your positive review! We are always keen to offer our employees a wide range of opportunities for professional development. That also means hard work. It is great that you too have been able to take advantage of the opportunities available to you.We are pleased that you feel sufficiently valued in our company and we are always keen to offer our employees appropriate remuneration.Good work planning is part of a well-functioning working day and helps to reduce stress. That also has a positive effect on private life. We are pleased that we succeeded in achieving this balance with you. Your team spirit, passion, and dedication to living our purpose – Connecting people, improving lives – have helped put us where we are today: Strong to face the future together. Stay safe and stay healthy!Your DHL Team

Fun workplace

Great place to work…before they shut down. Paid breaks and management is amazing. Very understanding. Liked having paid breaks. Work Atmosphere is great everyone gets along for the most part

Pros

Free lunches on special days

Cons

HR is two-faced
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

26 January 2022
Hello, You make us glow with pride receiving your remarkable 4-star rating. We are delighted that you had such a memorable time with our big yellow family. Reading your review gives us the confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them, very well. Great to hear that you enjoy working with people, that is what we need. Take a look at our career portal, maybe there is a vacancy in your area. Who knows, you might become one of us again.https://careers.dhl.com/ Stay safe and let us know how we can help in case you need support. Greetings to Brantford Your DHL Team

Productive workplace, overpowering sexist management, decent pace work, cultural work environment, unfair and poor time management

-Easy warehouse work-Decent work life balance and pay -Necessary if you only require one job. -Not recommended for students. -Adjustable warehouse positions

Cons

Wait time and unnecessary long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

18 January 2022
Hello,Thanks a lot for sharing your feedback with us through this review. In DHL we strive to provide our employees the best conditions like for example; work life balance and normal work pace to feel valued with us. A realistic schedule that is adapted to the employees should always be part of the work planning. I'm sorry we couldn't do justice to this in your case. Our company is clearly against sexism. We take every case extremely seriously and very much regret that there has been no personal clarification with your superior in advance. Feel free to contact the human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions with them, even as a former employee.We wish you the best in future personal and professional projects and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment. Your DHL Team

Your experience will depend on the site you work on

Overall, a good successful company with advantages and disadvantages. There is a friendly working environment. The senior management should consider fair working environment and conditions for all

Pros

Progression and development opportunities

Cons

Favouritism, unbalanced site structure, employees in same position but have different salary and grade
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

19 January 2022
Hello Colleague,Thank you for your positive feedback! We are very pleased that you feel comfortable with us as employer and that you have given us an excellent rating in so many points! We would like to thank you for your commitment so far and wish you continued enjoyment and success!Greetings to Sturtevant Your DHL Team

Fast pace, rushed, uncaring management

A rushed environment working on a percentage table causing employees to rush to make their numbers. Don't expect your vacation pay in a timely manner if you quit, took almost a month to hear I was getting it. Still not in. Save your self the hassle and stress much better places to work for.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 December 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback helps us to improve continuously, which is why we particularly appreciate it. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your time at our company and that the work was stressful. Managers should be role models in their function for employees across the Group, we expect our managers not only to motivate employees but to show them how their work supports the company in the achievement of its objectives. The promotion of this management style serves as a central theme across all development measures. By signing our Code of Conduct, our managers also agree to live out the values contained in the Code and to guide their employees in doing the same. Each employee should receive their vacation pay on time. We would be happy to talk to you again personally and learn more about your situation. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. We wish you much success, and satisfaction in your next job. But most of all, thank you for all your efforts and your patience. Your DHL team

New Challenges Excellence Simply Delivered

With a large portfolio and scope of area there are numerous challenges the come up daily. My immediate supervisor encourages innovation. Financial approvals for implementing innovation unfortunately falls on short sighted managers who live by a quarter to quarter P&L culture. Ultimately the company does what its logo says: Excellence Simply Delivered. This is because the rank and file workers are dedicated and committed to customer satisfaction.

Pros

Work from home, fair treatment for everyone, market competitive compensation

Cons

Slow to approve improvements
Was this review helpful?

Productive and fun place to work

The management was encouraging and helping to get settle in job. They help you grow in the company. They offer benefits and help in career advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 October 2021
Hello,We are delighted to read such an amazing 5 star review - thank you wholeheartedly! DHL prides itself with good working conditions, but more importantly we are proud of the satisfaction that our current and former employees express in all facets of working with us.Thank you very much for having been part of our big yellow family, and we hope to see you again in the near future!We send our best wishes to you in Etobicoke,Your DHL Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 22,691 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee reviews
  • Pay & benefits