DHL logo
DHL
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

DHL Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.5Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 416 reviews matching the searchSee all 20,034 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Competitive environnement

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Strict environnementLong hoursgood teamatesalways be proactive & on timelunch hours are okgreat benefitssalary okFamily is not their priority

Pros

good teamates

Cons

stressful
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Wouldn’t be my first or second choice

The wage is decent, and the benefits are amazing (that makes up for the wage)… but the toxic work environment and not having ANY support from HR isn’t worth my sanity. If you have a formal complaint about management they won’t file it and ‘push’ you out of the company

Pros

Benefits

Cons

Not worth the mental stress
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

2 August 2021
Hello,Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not nearly as good as we want it to be. Unfortunately, we are not able to discuss the details of your employment and how/why things went south, but please note that we do have internal protocols in place to prevent such things. For example, reaching out to your local Compliance Office is always a good thing.We wish you all the best in your future endeavors,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

I would not have recommend working at this company 1981 - 1991.

Not a very employee family-oriented company. Held back from advancement that was available. Two of the Management were Narcissists, MF/A., and were also the Social Committee giving wrong dates, etc. Paid $10/hr. for 10 years/2 weeks holiday; no bonuses, raises, increases, incentives; they bought for themselves. Corporate culture/workplace turned hellish/gossip. No communication. Had to leave.

Pros

OK job

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

It wasn't a pleasant experience

Human resources are correct, very helpful group of kind nice people, they try to do what they can to keep the harmony at work and some bosses are good listeners and also helpful. Although, there are people who aren't really working and they dedicate their time to create gossips and problems around, some supervisors and team leaders are rude and they favour coworkers to get it easy while others receive just difficult tasks. I guess security isn't very important because you have to use what you can to pack heavy items and forget about asking for the correct tools, you'll not get them. In general if you are a dedicated hard working person, perhaps it isn't the place for you.

Pros

Helpful HR department, bosses try to approach workers directly

Cons

Not very good environnement, unfairness, lack of control by the supervisors
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

2 August 2021
Hello, We are sorry to hear that you found the experience of working for DHL not to be a pleasant one. It is our top-priority to continuously improve the working environment based on our (former) employees’ feedback, so that we can ensure that everyone likes coming to work and can have a good work-life balance. Here at DHL we value merit and performance and are therefore very sorry to hear of instances where nepotism or favoritism was in play. This is not how our company operates nor what we want in our employees. One of the best ways of addressing any kind of negative work behavior is to raise it in the department/team. Of course, one can always approach their local HR department, supervisors or senior management, depending on how far the issue needs to be escalated and what is needed to resolve it.  We hope that this experience will not color your potential future considerations of DHL as an employer, because we always appreciate having open colleagues, such as yourself, in our team. All the best to you and your loved ones,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Symbol of Miss-management

I worked here as maintenance supervisor. There were green hand graduates from university who were assigned as managers there and they were ruining the whole company profits and work culture there. The most useless managers and decision makers I had ever seen in my life and the most important thing their very lack of work relevant knowledge. The whole management does not believe in safety practical only safety show off. It is a real shame having such poor quality management system for such well-known Earopian company like DHL. DHL must do external audit the both Coleraine and G. Bolton facilities. No decision maker there take care about DHL profit at all.

Pros

Symbol of miss-management

Cons

Poor management, bad work culture, no professional ethics, poor safety practices
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

13 July 2021
Hello, Thank you very much for your valuable insights. As a Maintenance Supervisor your knowledge and experience must have been very important on site. Although we continuously aim to improve upon our managerial structure, there will always be some differences between branches. That being said, it should never prove to be against our company culture, the values we stand for or the health and safety of our employees. We are very grateful that you have pointed us into the right direction and we will follow up on your suggestions. Thank you very much for all your hard work! We wish you all the best in your future endeavors,Your Employer Branding Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Hard work. HR dishonest

Work is physically demanding. Even though your performance audits may be excellent, even one person in management doesn’t like you then your gone, Union is a joke.

Pros

Some great coworkers

Cons

Very physical, liars in HR
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

7 July 2021
Hello, Thanks for reaching out to us on Indeed and leaving a review – we very much appreciate it!It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have a good impression of DHL during the duration of your employment with our Brantford branch. First, you are definitely correct that depending on the employee position, work can be physically demanding – especially in our warehouse operations. We are currently developing new tools and strategies for our employees in operations to cut down on the physical aspect significantly. Unfortunately, we cannot address your problem with HR as you have not given enough information about it besides them being “dishonest”. We encourage all employees, both current and former, to come forward with constructive criticism and improvement suggestions, as this is the best way we can deal and immediately improve upon existing issues. Stay healthy and stay safe! All the best,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Excellent place to work.Management is very supportive

Best place to grow and develop.only long hours of working but rest everything is good.lots to learn and make more changes.company has full potential to do that.

Pros

Inventory Manager Saleem

Cons

long hours
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work

Development plans and close networking makes for a career building workplace. Delivering great customer service without compromising on respect. Give us a Family work life balance !
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

4 June 2021
Dear colleague, Wow! Thank you so much for this amazing 5-star review! Thank you especially for pointing out the great development opportunities and career building paths that we offer to all our employees! We know that the past year and a half have been challenging work-wise, but we have been continuously trying to improve the work-life balance of each and every one of our employees in the world. It’s a tough road, but we are certain we will get there. Please continue radiating your positivity in the work place – it brightens our day! We wish you and all our colleagues in Brantford all the best,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Employees are commodities

Employees are not treated as human beings but as commodities. No perks offered to people working with contracts. Don’t hope for long term employment if it’s a retail site - 90% of the employees are fired each year after new year. HR did not address employees concerns ; the management was indescribably bad. Never near excellency.

Pros

A few social activities once in 3 months
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

26 May 2021
Hello, Thanks for leaving us your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your negative impression of working in our Toronto branch. Although all our branches should be aligned with our global policies and guidelines, individual differences can occur. That being said, not a single branch should treat their employees the way you have described the treatment in Toronto and we are very sorry for that. DHL does not only aim for excellence when serving our customers, but also in how we interact with our employees. This is the only way we can collectively progress into a brighter future, while also becoming an Employer of Choice for a lot of people.  We wish you all the best for your future projects,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good place for new grads only. People with experience, please look else where as pay is low.

DHL is great to gain skills and experience, one of the best place to work. However ever since new management came, there is more micro management, alot of new rules, new management focus more on quantity then quality of work. New management brought there own people and let go of other managment, which made alot of people leave the company, turnover rate is HIGH, pay is low compare to different company, i was loving everything about DHL until new management came and made me look elsewhere. Good place for new grads only. People with experience, please look else where
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

31 May 2021
Hello, Thank you for your well balanced review – we appreciate it! First and foremost, please note that we are continuously aiming to improve our management organization. One of the important factors we take into consideration is definitely employee feedback. It is for this reason that we are sorry to hear of your negative experience with the new management in our Mississauga DHL branch. Second, we are grateful for your recommendation as we are trying to be an Employer of Choice, across all our sectors and experience levels. We offer competitive salaries and bonuses, while at the same time encouraging trainings and continuous development of all our employees, regardless of position or level. This way, our employees get the opportunity to grow into new and vastly different roles, if they so choose. Hope we managed to shed some light onto your concerns. We wish you all the best in your endeavors,Your Employer Branding Team

Jobs at DHL

See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Terrible place to work

Management doesn’t care about your health, and they extort your money from you. The pay is nice, but they will take money that you don’t need to have taken off. If you’re not entitled to your benefits they shouldn’t be taking money for them. Which they did to me. Will not go back to another DHL facility.

Pros

Above minimum wage

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 April 2021
Hello,Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear about your negative experience regarding management and compensation. We are on a continuous mission to improve our managerial organization and we are always offering fair remuneration and good benefits to all our employees. If issues were (re)occuring with your supervisiors, a good course of action was to reach out to your local HR department. We value the feedback our Warehouse Workers provide, so thank you for voicing it.We wish you all the best in your future projects,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Over Time obligatoire (10 heures semaine )

J'ai bien aimé ce travail mais les conditions de travail et ne pas avoir les avantages sociaux après 9 mois ça laisse à désirer
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

21 April 2021
Hello,We appreciate your feedback. It is unfortunate to hear that you have been left with unfulfilled needs in the social benefits area, which should have been clearly communicated to you by your superior or the local HR department. Indeed, sometimes over time is part of the job - usually in the extremely busy months of the holiday season - but that's not usually the case. We have been the Employer of Choice and won awards for Best Place to Work in multiple regions.We are very glad that you liked the job, and we hope to see you back with us in the future.Best wishes to Sain-Jean-sur-Richelieu,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good place to work with

Pay is gr8 considering the job we are doing.NO work pressure.Fast-paced environment. Management is ok.Sups are gr8. At times may require some heavy lifting.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

25 May 2021
Dear colleague,Thank you for a great review and for providing us with some details about your current position of Customer Service Representative in Ottawa. We hope that you will stay with us for many more years to come, and continue to enjoy it!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Discriminatory

Sweat shop. But surrounded by lazy entitled incompetent people. Top to bottomMost of my peers are illiterate the senior management are lazy and looking for Severance. Disorganized atmosphere at best !

Cons

Long hours favouritism
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

26 May 2021
Dear colleague, Thank you for letting us know how you feel about working for DHL. We are sorry to hear that your experience as a Business Development Manager in Toronto has not been as great as we would want it to be.First and foremost, there are oscillations in business operations and workload. We are very grateful to all our employees who have pulled us and continue pulling us through these difficult COVID-19 times, where all industries have been experiencing disruptions. You being in a managerial, and therefore leadership, role are supposed to be a role model for success and positive change in the company. If you see bad policies or behavior, you need to step up and voice the issue. Our shared duty is to continuously improve, drive innovation and strive for excellence. Each and every employee should have that mindset, regardless of position or years in the company. Also, please note that here at DHL we do not play favorites. Favoritism and nepotism have no place in our company. We judge our coworkers solely based on performance and merit. If you have doubts about this, you can raise your concerns with your local HR department or Compliance Office. They will be more than happy to investigate any violations of our policies and get to the bottom of the issues. We hope that you and your team on site will manage to overcome all obstacles, and that you will be able to give us a 5 star rating afterwards.  All the best to you in Toronto, stay safe and healthy,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fun place to work

Associates believe in the mission, vision and values of the company. They understand how their job contributes to the mission, and they see how leadership exemplifies it every day. Great leaders are good at explaining how to get there and how to execute. The vision is sold throughout the organization. Talented employees see a goal they can work toward. Team members work in a culture that supports one another and doesn’t point fingers or place blame. The environment is safe, where they can ask for help and learn from mistakes with leadership & supervisor support. When conflicts do arise, employees want the issue addressed fairly and without favoritism.

Pros

Always over time !

Cons

Some time/skill abuse in the name of seniority.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

25 May 2021
Dear colleague, Wow! Thank you so much for such great feedback and for holding DHL in such high regard! Indeed, we are an international company with global protocols, standards and policies in place, so that every single one of our employees is partaking in our excellence. The DHL culture is visible throughout the world and we are glad to see you showcasing it here!Only a happy employee is a good employee, and this is an important factor that we foster through open communication, competitive salary and benefits, a good work-life balance and a pleasant work environment. Again thank you for giving the public such a detailed snippet of what it looks and feels like to work at DHL!Our warm greetings to Hamilton,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Productive, rewarding and fun place to work

Stressful, exciting, lots of travel, competitive in nature and paid well. Good management structure and very clear job descriptions. Lots of travel through out the world

Pros

Great expense accounts

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

27 January 2021
Hello, We are very thankful for your 4 star rating! It is great to know that you consider DHL's work conditions and benefits to be a positive part of your experience as an employee. In our Strategy 2025, we also talk about our "common DNA", i.e. what holds the Group together at its core. All divisions pursue the same goal, namely: "Connecting people, improving lives", and strive to be first choice as a provider, employer and investment. Beyond that, we are united by the same values. First and foremost, this is a management style characterized by the two core values of respect and results. Added to this is responsibility for our environment and the societies in which we live and work.We wish you much success, but above all satisfaction in your next professional steps.Best regards,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Enjoy working in DHL

There are multi cultural employees who always help each other. We always enjoy our work we do not have any stress to complete the task as we know that we can finish the job because we believe on ourselves.

Pros

Supervisor treat you very well.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

22 January 2021
Hello,Thank you for your excellent review! We aim to be a Great Place to Work and to be an Employer of Choice and it seems we reached this goal during your time with us. Thanks for highlighting this. In times like the current ones this are really positive statements for future colleagues that are searching perhaps for a new job.Your words touch our Deutsche Post DHL heart. You exactly point out what we want to achieve. Team work, making a difference all together "as one". We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your work and wish you all the best for the future, especially in these special times, and above all good health.Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

too much pressure and makes you stressful.

constant pressure and stress at this company. they want you to work like a robot and even consider you as a one. nothing new to learn, no creativity or learning but just work like a machine.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

22 January 2021
Hello, We appreciate that you are taking the time to share this review with us. We regret that you don't consider your experience as positive.Respecting Human Rights is a core value of Deutsche Post DHL Group. We are committed to respecting all internationally recognised human rights as relevant to our operations. We also reject all forms of forced and compulsory labour. We do not tolerate any forms of forced labour including bonded labour, indentured labour, military labor, modern forms of slavery and any form of human trafficking. We thank you for your contribution. Stay safe!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Nice environment to work

Only distance matters. Else working there is nice.They should provide more incentive to keep workers.Very competitive work.Need to provide a gym and a resting place for employees.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

20 January 2021
Hello, We are very pleased to receive your nice comment and your suggestions like the provision of a gym or a resting place. This makes a lot of sense. We put great emphasis on the fact that our employees feel comfortable in their working environment.Our company is doing the best possible to continuously improve, therefore we need the constructive feedback and input of our employees. We wish you all the best for your future professional career and personal life. Stay safe!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not good place to work

Worked the for 17yrs then was layed off the company does not care about the employees they only care making money there is a lot of turn around

Pros

None

Cons

Bad management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

18 January 2021
Hello,We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience as Import Coordinator at DHL. It is very unfortunate that you had to finish your time with us. You may contact the corresponding HR team to clarify the reasons for the termination and clarify any doubts you may have.We are very thankful for the effort and commitment during all these years and hope that you have taken advantage of the benefits and experiences you collected.Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Like being in a zoo

The employees are great to work with. Beware of management, watch you like a hawk. Over achieving at work doesn’t get appreciated instead you get written up for time theft as a final warning prior to dismissal without any warning what so ever. Got to love the irony!!!

Pros

Thought of a little freedom

Cons

No freedom
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

29 December 2020
Dear colleague,Thank you for your rating and for the time to share your honest feedback regarding your experience in your job as a MHE Operator. After all, the points you highlight - over achieving but not being rewarded and having no freedom - can only be properly evaluated on site and any problems that arise should be solved in a constructive cooperation in close communication with superiors and with HR departments. We are fully aware how difficult it can be - especially when the pressure of work is high, conflicts arise or unpleasant decisions have to be made. This requires a high degree of openness and willingness to approach each other, but only with the joint effort of all stakeholders this can be solved. Only doing this we will become better as a company. We value your efforts during your time with us. We wish you for your future good luck and all the best!Your Employer Branding Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7

Based on 20,034 reviews
5
6.7K
4
5.8K
3
4.1K
2
1.5K
1
1.9K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job security/advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee reviews