DHL
Happiness score is 64 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

DHL Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Canada466 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 466 reviews matching the searchSee all 22,485 reviews
exelcanadawarehousesupervisorpackageexpressshiftsafety

An excellent well run organization

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
An excellent well-run organization with growth opportunities. Management listens to ideas. Willing to improve operations and employee well-being for the better.
Was this review helpful?

Environnement de travail médiocre

Je ne recommande aucunement cette compagnie il ne s'intéresse pas à leur employé ambiance vraiment médiocre les employés ne sont pas reconnue pour leur bon travail
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

6 October 2022
Hello,Thank you first and foremost for your dedication during the time you work as an Order Picker for DHL.As a global and diverse company, we encourage a collaborative and supportive work environment that enables all workers to accomplish their goals. A positive working environment has a calm atmosphere that leads to greater productivity. When you're able to work with minimal distractions, you're more likely to stay on task and accomplish more of your daily responsibilities. It also means you're able to work in a stress-free setting that promotes your cognitive performance and physical well-being.If this is not your case, we really regret it, and we can assure you that we will continue to take measures to promote it in the best possible way.All the best in your future endeavors,Your DHL Team

Insights into DHL

Based on 172 survey responses
What people like
  • Feeling of personal appreciation
  • Clear sense of purpose
  • Ability to meet personal goals
Areas for improvement
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Sense of belonging
  • Fair pay for job

Not a good place to work at

Work environment was very strange, would barely get any help from senior agents. I would not recommend anyone to work there as a customer service advisor.
Was this review helpful?

Good place to work

You will get culture and experiencing. A really nice place to work. Only a little higher pay will make the best job ever. Leaders are great aswell.

Pros

Culture, Brand value, Experience

Cons

Work pressure
Was this review helpful?

Horrible

DHL is a horrible company to work for. You aren’t treated fairly. Especially on your race. Management team were so rude and didn’t care about their employees.

Pros

Nothing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

8 September 2022
Hello,Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It's a pity that your rating isn't positive.Our goal is that you feel respected and valued with us and that we are an employer of choice for you, in good times and in difficult times, which was not the case at your site in Bolton. The way you have been treated influences how you manage your emotions. Management must be encouraged to reduce feelings of dehumanization within the organization. That is a concern to us and something we will investigate.We recommend that in the future you discuss with your HR colleagues the topics that you believe can be optimized to contribute to a better working environment and your well-being.Topics must be discussed before optimization can begin.We wish you much success and satisfaction in your next job. But most of all, thank you for all your efforts and patience. Your DHL Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Workers

5 stars because of the people that I work with! Most are very respectful & understanding! The only part that is a downside would be someone of the truckers that come in very grumpy from long work days or trying to pressure you into breaking the rules.. so they can pick things up….
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

5 August 2022
Dear colleague,5-STARS Wow. Thank you for the compliment!We were very impressed by your fantastic review of your site in Brantford, Ontario. We are pleased that you perceive us as a top employer and that you feel comfortable with us..You have given us a top rating, which of course makes us very happy because as a top employer we attach great importance to all aspects and hope that we can offer our employees all of this.A big thank you to you for your commitment to DHL.Warm greetings to East Midlands Airport.#TogetherWeAreGREAT!Best wishesYour DHL Team

Fun place to work

fun place to workeveryone get's very close/easier if you make friendssalary/compensation is a little lowjob is very doable and KPI's are easy to meet.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

25 July 2022
Dear colleague, Your comment as a lead qualifier at our Toronto location makes us very happy! Your words reassure me that we're on the right track. We are delighted that you regard us as a top employer and that you feel at ease with us.You have given us top ratings in all areas, which makes us very happy because, as a top employer, we value all of these aspects and hope to provide them to our employees.We want to have fun while improving ourselves a little bit every day.A big thank you to you for your commitment to DHL.#TogetherWeAreGREAT!Your DHL Team

fun place to work

remote a learning culture with a focus on coaching and development where you will have the opportunity to evolve in your career path. Our employees are our top source of talent for leadership opportunities.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

21 July 2022
Hello, You make us proud with a 5-star rating! Thank you for the compliment.Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics during your time with us.It is fantastic to hear that you are so passionate about your work and that management is conducive to career growth within the same or another field. DHL tries to make its best employees even better—and the least of them better than they ever thought they could be. If you feel you are not supported to learn things beyond your current field of work, contact your supervisor and have an open chat about it. Developing a plan for employee advancement, from scheduled raises to increases in responsibility levels and training for new skills, can help you advance within the positions even without full-scale promotions but within the scope of our possibilities.We hope your DHL experience can be replicated for many other future colleagues so they will be motivated and happy to be a part of our global family!Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us, all the best for your future projects.A warm greeting to MonasteryYour DHL Team 

Pretty good place to work.

No complaints, relaxed nature and strong sense of community. Lots if smiles and friendly faces. Management is fairly adept at engaging with staff and welcoming all questions and concerns. Very fair pay for working conditions.

Pros

Free lunches occasionally

Cons

None really.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 June 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for your positive review and the insights you share with us and others on Indeed. Without you and all the other colleagues, we would not be the company we are today. A positive working environment provides several benefits for both employees and employers. Knowing your employees’ skills and behavioral styles is essential for maximizing efficiency, and every manager knows that communication is the key to a productive workforce.We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with the management style at our site in Calgary. We are also happy to hear that you are happy with our working conditions. These are the demands, environment, and terms of a job that influence the satisfaction of our employees.You are all setting an extraordinary example of commitment, professionalism, and solidarity.#TogetherWeAreGREAT!Best wishesYour DHL Team 

Engaging and friendly work environment

Very progressive and engaging work environment. Tons of opportunities to grow within the company.Easy going and friendly environment. Focus on individual development.

Pros

Inclusive team environment

Cons

Pay rate
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

16 June 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for your positive review and the insights you share with us and others on Indeed. Without you and all the other colleagues, we would not be the company we are today. A positive working environment provides several benefits for both employees and employers. Knowing your employees’ skills and behavioral styles is essential for maximizing efficiency, and every manager knows that communication is the key to a productive workforce.Each employee should receive a remuneration that is tailored to his or her work. We are sorry that you felt your remuneration was unfair. We would be happy to talk to you again personally and learn more about your situation. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. You are all setting an extraordinary example of commitment, professionalism, and solidarity.Your DHL Team

Management does favoritism

If you are liked by management even if you are not productive, you will get benefits. Management is not professional. In the last few months the quality work environment has dropped dramatically. They do give free lunches regularly which is a nice bonus.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

13 June 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback.We take every case extremely seriously. Organizational politics is a sensitive issue and needs to be more often discussed. Thank you for noting this.A positive working environment has a calm atmosphere that leads to greater productivity. When you're able to work with minimal distractions, you're more likely to stay on task and accomplish more of your daily responsibilities. It also means you're able to work in a stress-free setting that promotes your cognitive performance and physical well-being. It is therefore all the less pleasing that you have had to experience the opposite with us. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Your DHL Team

Average warehouse environment

There seems to two types of groups; the Day Shift and the Afternoon shiftManagement works mostly with the Day Shift, make policy and procedures during the Day Shift. Then it is implemented for both shifts. No feedback is provided to and from the Afternoon shift. Management most of the time go home at 4:00 pm, but inform the afternoon staff they will be around for some of the shift

Pros

Pay is good; especially the Overtime

Cons

Favoritism from management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

30 May 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. At DHL, we strive to provide our employees with the best conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued by us. Effective communication is how employees and management interact to reach organizational goals. Its purpose is to improve organizational practices and reduce errors. It is the act of giving, receiving, and sharing information -- in other words, talking or writing, and listening or reading.We regret that you felt that the management did not have an open ear for employees. We are always looking to improve our management organization in terms of employee feedback and we invite you to make suggestions for improvement. An open and transparent discussion is important to us.Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/suggestions for improvement with them. Stay safe, and let us know how we can help if you need support. Your DHL Team

Decent workplace

Decent job with long hours and an alright pay. If you’re looking to gain some material handling experience then this is a neat place to work at. Really inconvenient location if you’re not driving cause it hidden

Pros

Nice pay

Cons

Long hours, Hidden location
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 May 2022
Hello,Thank you for the review that you shared with us. As a rule, we offer reasonable and competitive compensation packages in all markets in which we operate. We always aim to offer our employees attractive compensation packages within our possibilities.It is part of our corporate philosophy to offer our employees individual opportunities for advancement within the company. We greatly appreciate that you have taken advantage of these opportunities.Good work planning is part of a well-functioning working day and helps to reduce stress. That also has a positive effect on private life. We are pleased that we succeeded in achieving this balance with you. Best wishes for your future and hopefully you will have a similarly good experience with your new employer.Your DHL Team

A lot of work that wasn't managed in the best way

The wage isn't a lot with 17 an hour being not enough to pay for bills, rent, etc. The work is hard, but if it was managed correctly it wouldn't feel as heavy.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

12 May 2022
Hello,We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience as a former material handler of DHL with us and strive to improve our management organization. That is why your input is so valuable to us.It is important to us that the superiors in our teams always have an open ear for their employees to clarify possible problems in an individual, personal discussion.Each employee should receive remuneration that is tailored to his or her work. We are sorry that you felt your remuneration was unfair. We wish you the very best for your future and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment.Your DHL Team

Good company

flexible arrangement in most of the activitieschill job culturefriendly colleaguefair paidfree pantryhas special events for employee in big festivals
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

21 April 2022
Hello,We are deeply thankful for this 4-star rating! Your feedback helps us continue on the right track regarding the positive aspects that you highlight. In particular, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the work with DHL. Thank you for your ongoing efforts and dedication to us during your time with us.Take care and stay safe. Warm greetings!Your DHL Team

Stressful

Very stressful environment to work in. Not enough training and care more about metrics than their own customers. Management needs to do more to address the bigger problems rather than being on us about sales.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 May 2022
Hello,We are glad to have you on board. We appreciate you taking the time to share this review with us.Your satisfaction, as well as the satisfaction of our customers, is our priority. The fact that you felt the training was inadequate is a concern and something we will look into. The issue of workload is certainly, especially in the current situation, an issue that has a high priority. We always strive to improve the working conditions for our employees within the scope of our possibilities and to enable a good work-life balance. Good work planning is part of a well-functioning working day and ensures that stress is reduced. For this reason, we do everything we can to optimize the working environment and work-life balance of our colleagues. Of course, this doesn't always happen with the same speed everywhere, but we're working on getting a little better every day. We wish you the very best for your future and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment.Your DHL Team

Room to grow in the company but very difficult to receive assistance as a new employee

They over hire people to work in the company and only provide 1 or 2 trainers which leaves you little to no room for assistance. If you're a customer service rep they train you for 2 days and expect you to Start assisting angry customers with little to no knowledge. There is a lot of theory to the training which you don't remember in 2 days to provide assistance to customers who are very stressed regarding their packages etc

Pros

Room for growth
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

20 May 2022
Hello,Thank you so much for your rating and for taking the time to provide honest feedback about your experience as a customer service representative.Our priority is your satisfaction, as well as the satisfaction of our customers.We regret that you were dissatisfied with your time with us and that the work was stressful.The fact that you felt the training was inadequate is cause for concern, and we will investigate. Dealing with angry customers on your own after two days is not how it should be.Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during your time with us, and best wishes for your future endeavors.Your DHL Team

Fun workplace

We always work in safe & secure, everyone is good, provide us training. No stress o worm its a fun work place.I love my jobs & company these are owesome
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

2 June 2022
Dear colleague,Your comment makes us feel extremly happy! Your words confirm that we are on the right track. Having fun and becoming every day a little better is exactly what we want to achieve.A desirable work-life balance leads the individual towards feeling less apprehensive about their ability to manage work and non-work commitments.Thank you very much for your nice feedback. A warm greeting to BramptonYour DHL Team 

Stressful and fast-paced but with good opportunities

Lots of overtime available, relatively easy to advance if you stick it out. Work can be stressful and sometimes very busy. Work has little variation and can be repetitive. Hard workers are appreciated but not always noticed. Co-workers are mostly friendly and helpful. Certain people seem to make it their mission to be as rude as possible to lower-level employees and are shielded by management.

Pros

Safety shoe / work clothes allowance, regular free lunches, decent benefits, no shortage of work, lots of overtime, willing to train

Cons

Stressful, busy, can be dangerous, HR often ignores employees reaching out until you raise a stink, Poor communication between management and employees.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

3 June 2022
Dear colleague,As a rule, we offer reasonable and competitive compensation packages in all markets in which we operate. We always aim to offer our employees attractive compensation packages within our possibilities.It's great to hear that there is a good atmosphere at work that lends itself well to collaborative working, which is what it's all about.What is indeed a challenge is the fact that activities like that of a case picker are not different every day and there is a lot to do especially in times like these. However, we are continuously working on optimizing this to relieve our employees as much as possible. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them.Despite everything you have experienced, now, more than ever, is the time to support and take care of each other. We are here for you. Your DHL Team

Zero Training, Unrealistic Expectations, Toxic Work Environment

Upper management doesn’t provide training to any supervisors. The expectation is that you learn on the fly, which is hilarious because the expectations are so unrealistic from the beginning. Certain areas have more qualified employees than others which causes errors in the sorting process and puts unnecessary pressure and responsibility on the supervisors/team leaders. Management doesn’t seem to want to address the problem. Supervisors on multiple shifts contribute to a toxic workplace environment by negatively commenting on coworkers, and PM/AM Shift Managers fail to address the issue or respond to employees when they raise the issue. The company operates in an “escalation” system where issues are sent to direct reports of employees to ensure “discipline” is handed out. Facility Manager expects supervisors to attend meetings during the day regardless of their shift, which contributes to burnout of employees. DHL as a corporation responds to these reviews in a positive manner in order to save face, which I’m sure you will see below. For a company that is so big on mottos they sure didn’t get it “right the first time”. Always have a backup plan ready to go when working as a salaried employee for DHL, they will terminate you at any time without cause at their discretion.

Pros

Benefits

Cons

Too many to list, read the review
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

25 March 2022
Hello, Thanks very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. In DHL we strive to provide our employees the best conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued with us. We comply with all applicable local laws regarding working hours such as overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. Whenever these or any other guidelines or policies are violated, we encourage our employees to reach out to their senior leaders or local HR teams so this can be investigated. We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Best wishes,Your DHL Team 

Hectic

Always go go go with no end in siteManagement wasn’t very caring towards the staff Some staff can be clicky, rude and gossip too muchSome vulgar staff

Pros

Benefits
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

1 March 2022
Hello,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our Brantford site was far from satisfactory. Indeed, being a Driver is a physically demanding position and very important to our business operations. It is hence crucial that our employees there get all the support and appreciation they need, especially from their management. We always try to do better, to continuously improve every part of our organization, including the managerial structure. For this reason we rely on our employees to come forward with constructive criticism and improvement feedback. Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort while working with us - we sincerely appreciate it.We wish you and your loved ones all the best,Your DHL Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 22,485 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee reviews