DHL
Happiness score is 63 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

DHL Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.5Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 426 reviews matching the searchSee all 20,490 reviews

Greart

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Great team great atmosphere safeRoy COVID please great management team to work with and overall safety of all staff the great office environment Soms eMoly red take long breaks

Pros

Lunch

Cons

Nothing
Was this review helpful?

None

Very satisfied with the employer. Have worked at several locations and all are contestant in there processes. No concerns with continuing with this employer
Was this review helpful?

It is amazing working with DHL. Everyone is very polite and helpful. Incentives are given to working staff.

Great working with DHL. Love working there. Targets are achieved in energetic manner. Incentives are given. Hygiene environment Sanitation is done

Pros

Energetic environment, learn team work, enhancing my skills

Cons

Non-stop work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

18 November 2021
Hello,Thank you a lot for your excellent 5-star review! We are very happy to see that you have found DHL to be a company which provides a positive and learning-oriented environment. Our employees are our most valuable asset and their satisfaction and well-being is of the highest priority to us. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors,Your DHL Team

New Challenges Excellence Simply Delivered

With a large portfolio and scope of area there are numerous challenges the come up daily. My immediate supervisor encourages innovation. Financial approvals for implementing innovation unfortunately falls on short sighted managers who live by a quarter to quarter P&L culture. Ultimately the company does what its logo says: Excellence Simply Delivered. This is because the rank and file workers are dedicated and committed to customer satisfaction.

Pros

Work from home, fair treatment for everyone, market competitive compensation

Cons

Slow to approve improvements
Was this review helpful?

Decent stepping stone position

Good start for recent grads at an entry level position. They try to make the work atmosphere fun and engaging. Many people leave fairly quickly when other opportunities arise. Pay is also nothing special.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Productive and fun place to work

The management was encouraging and helping to get settle in job. They help you grow in the company. They offer benefits and help in career advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 October 2021
Hello,We are delighted to read such an amazing 5 star review - thank you wholeheartedly! DHL prides itself with good working conditions, but more importantly we are proud of the satisfaction that our current and former employees express in all facets of working with us.Thank you very much for having been part of our big yellow family, and we hope to see you again in the near future!We send our best wishes to you in Etobicoke,Your DHL Team

I Started as a warehouse worker advanced to driver and then finally Supervisor.

I worked there from 2003 to 2007. It was the first job that I really enjoyed working at. I Started as a warehouse worker advanced to driver and then finally Supervisor.

Pros

Great place to work

Cons

Hard work but we got paid well.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 October 2021
Hello,Thanks a bunch for your review, but also for putting emphasis on how DHL prioritizes safety and development of its employees. We sincerely appreciate being recognized for these traits and this is why we also put a lot of effort in them.Being able to work in a safe environment with ample room to grow both on a personal and a professional level is our goal for every employee.Thank you for all the hard work you have done for us!We wish you all the best in your future endeavors,Your DHL Team

Nah

Not worth it. The managers pick favourites, long hours which eventually turn back breaking. Not worth your time. Try FedEx. Probably better there anyways

Pros

Coworkers

Cons

Long hours, back breaking, managers pick favourite
Was this review helpful?

toxic work enviroment, if you arent sucking up to management they hate you

supervisors are consistently pushing you to meet numbers that they like. they dont care how you are feeling, they dont care about mental health. numbers is what only what matters. They often compare you to other associates if they are doing better then you. and the funny part is that those associates that are doing better often have back problems after.

Pros

weekly pay

Cons

long hours, discriminative management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

16 August 2021
Hello,We are sorry to hear that your experience with us has not been as good as we would like it to be. DHL is a people-centric company, both in regards to its customers and its employees. Safety of our workers and their wellbeing, physical and mental, are very important to us. This is why we are continuously enhancing the work-life balance of every single employee in our company, on a global level. Although we try to keep our managerial structure aligned, there will always be some differences between branches/sites, and unfortunately yours was really out of line. To prevent these things from happening, we encourage employees to report any misconduct to their HR department or their Compliance Office. Our colleagues there have intricate knowledge and skills to help out in those situations immediately.Thank you for all your hard work and effort while being part of our Big Yellow Family.All the best to you and your loved ones in Kleinburg,Your Employer Branding Team

Just don't

Do yourself a favour avoid this place at all costs. Terrible management. No respect for employees. And stressful work environment with no care about safety and customer mental health.

Pros

Nothing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

11 August 2021
Hello,Thanks for reviewing us. We are sorry to hear that you have found the management of your facility in Vaughan unsatisfactory. Here at DHL we are always looking to improve our management organization in terms of employee feedback and we invite all of our employees to make suggestions for improvement.Respect and open communication are a given here at DHL. That is why we encourage all our employees to speak up and bring forth both constructive criticism and improvement suggestions. Last but not least, safety of both our employees and customers is a top priority for us. For that reason we follow industry leading standards and always strive to do better.We thank you for having worked with us and wish you all the best in the future,Your Employer Branding Team

Wouldn’t be my first or second choice

The wage is decent, and the benefits are amazing (that makes up for the wage)… but the toxic work environment and not having ANY support from HR isn’t worth my sanity. If you have a formal complaint about management they won’t file it and ‘push’ you out of the company

Pros

Benefits

Cons

Not worth the mental stress
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

2 August 2021
Hello,Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not nearly as good as we want it to be. Unfortunately, we are not able to discuss the details of your employment and how/why things went south, but please note that we do have internal protocols in place to prevent such things. For example, reaching out to your local Compliance Office is always a good thing.We wish you all the best in your future endeavors,Your Employer Branding Team

I would not have recommend working at this company 1981 - 1991.

Not a very employee family-oriented company. Held back from advancement that was available. Two of the Management were Narcissists, MF/A., and were also the Social Committee giving wrong dates, etc. Paid $10/hr. for 10 years/2 weeks holiday; no bonuses, raises, increases, incentives; they bought for themselves. Corporate culture/workplace turned hellish/gossip. No communication. Had to leave.

Pros

OK job

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Competitive environnement

Strict environnementLong hoursgood teamatesalways be proactive & on timelunch hours are okgreat benefitssalary okFamily is not their priority

Pros

good teamates

Cons

stressful
Was this review helpful?

It wasn't a pleasant experience

Human resources are correct, very helpful group of kind nice people, they try to do what they can to keep the harmony at work and some bosses are good listeners and also helpful. Although, there are people who aren't really working and they dedicate their time to create gossips and problems around, some supervisors and team leaders are rude and they favour coworkers to get it easy while others receive just difficult tasks. I guess security isn't very important because you have to use what you can to pack heavy items and forget about asking for the correct tools, you'll not get them. In general if you are a dedicated hard working person, perhaps it isn't the place for you.

Pros

Helpful HR department, bosses try to approach workers directly

Cons

Not very good environnement, unfairness, lack of control by the supervisors
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

2 August 2021
Hello, We are sorry to hear that you found the experience of working for DHL not to be a pleasant one. It is our top-priority to continuously improve the working environment based on our (former) employees’ feedback, so that we can ensure that everyone likes coming to work and can have a good work-life balance. Here at DHL we value merit and performance and are therefore very sorry to hear of instances where nepotism or favoritism was in play. This is not how our company operates nor what we want in our employees. One of the best ways of addressing any kind of negative work behavior is to raise it in the department/team. Of course, one can always approach their local HR department, supervisors or senior management, depending on how far the issue needs to be escalated and what is needed to resolve it.  We hope that this experience will not color your potential future considerations of DHL as an employer, because we always appreciate having open colleagues, such as yourself, in our team. All the best to you and your loved ones,Your Employer Branding Team

Symbol of Miss-management

I worked here as maintenance supervisor. There were green hand graduates from university who were assigned as managers there and they were ruining the whole company profits and work culture there. The most useless managers and decision makers I had ever seen in my life and the most important thing their very lack of work relevant knowledge. The whole management does not believe in safety practical only safety show off. It is a real shame having such poor quality management system for such well-known Earopian company like DHL. DHL must do external audit the both Coleraine and G. Bolton facilities. No decision maker there take care about DHL profit at all.

Pros

Symbol of miss-management

Cons

Poor management, bad work culture, no professional ethics, poor safety practices
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

13 July 2021
Hello, Thank you very much for your valuable insights. As a Maintenance Supervisor your knowledge and experience must have been very important on site. Although we continuously aim to improve upon our managerial structure, there will always be some differences between branches. That being said, it should never prove to be against our company culture, the values we stand for or the health and safety of our employees. We are very grateful that you have pointed us into the right direction and we will follow up on your suggestions. Thank you very much for all your hard work! We wish you all the best in your future endeavors,Your Employer Branding Team

Hard work. HR dishonest

Work is physically demanding. Even though your performance audits may be excellent, even one person in management doesn’t like you then your gone, Union is a joke.

Pros

Some great coworkers

Cons

Very physical, liars in HR
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

7 July 2021
Hello, Thanks for reaching out to us on Indeed and leaving a review – we very much appreciate it!It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have a good impression of DHL during the duration of your employment with our Brantford branch. First, you are definitely correct that depending on the employee position, work can be physically demanding – especially in our warehouse operations. We are currently developing new tools and strategies for our employees in operations to cut down on the physical aspect significantly. Unfortunately, we cannot address your problem with HR as you have not given enough information about it besides them being “dishonest”. We encourage all employees, both current and former, to come forward with constructive criticism and improvement suggestions, as this is the best way we can deal and immediately improve upon existing issues. Stay healthy and stay safe! All the best,Your Employer Branding Team

Excellent place to work.Management is very supportive

Best place to grow and develop.only long hours of working but rest everything is good.lots to learn and make more changes.company has full potential to do that.

Pros

Inventory Manager Saleem

Cons

long hours
Was this review helpful?

Great place to work

Development plans and close networking makes for a career building workplace. Delivering great customer service without compromising on respect. Give us a Family work life balance !
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

4 June 2021
Dear colleague, Wow! Thank you so much for this amazing 5-star review! Thank you especially for pointing out the great development opportunities and career building paths that we offer to all our employees! We know that the past year and a half have been challenging work-wise, but we have been continuously trying to improve the work-life balance of each and every one of our employees in the world. It’s a tough road, but we are certain we will get there. Please continue radiating your positivity in the work place – it brightens our day! We wish you and all our colleagues in Brantford all the best,Your Employer Branding Team

Employees are commodities

Employees are not treated as human beings but as commodities. No perks offered to people working with contracts. Don’t hope for long term employment if it’s a retail site - 90% of the employees are fired each year after new year. HR did not address employees concerns ; the management was indescribably bad. Never near excellency.

Pros

A few social activities once in 3 months
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

26 May 2021
Hello, Thanks for leaving us your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your negative impression of working in our Toronto branch. Although all our branches should be aligned with our global policies and guidelines, individual differences can occur. That being said, not a single branch should treat their employees the way you have described the treatment in Toronto and we are very sorry for that. DHL does not only aim for excellence when serving our customers, but also in how we interact with our employees. This is the only way we can collectively progress into a brighter future, while also becoming an Employer of Choice for a lot of people.  We wish you all the best for your future projects,Your Employer Branding Team

Good place for new grads only. People with experience, please look else where as pay is low.

DHL is great to gain skills and experience, one of the best place to work. However ever since new management came, there is more micro management, alot of new rules, new management focus more on quantity then quality of work. New management brought there own people and let go of other managment, which made alot of people leave the company, turnover rate is HIGH, pay is low compare to different company, i was loving everything about DHL until new management came and made me look elsewhere. Good place for new grads only. People with experience, please look else where
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

31 May 2021
Hello, Thank you for your well balanced review – we appreciate it! First and foremost, please note that we are continuously aiming to improve our management organization. One of the important factors we take into consideration is definitely employee feedback. It is for this reason that we are sorry to hear of your negative experience with the new management in our Mississauga DHL branch. Second, we are grateful for your recommendation as we are trying to be an Employer of Choice, across all our sectors and experience levels. We offer competitive salaries and bonuses, while at the same time encouraging trainings and continuous development of all our employees, regardless of position or level. This way, our employees get the opportunity to grow into new and vastly different roles, if they so choose. Hope we managed to shed some light onto your concerns. We wish you all the best in your endeavors,Your Employer Branding Team

Terrible place to work

Management doesn’t care about your health, and they extort your money from you. The pay is nice, but they will take money that you don’t need to have taken off. If you’re not entitled to your benefits they shouldn’t be taking money for them. Which they did to me. Will not go back to another DHL facility.

Pros

Above minimum wage

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 April 2021
Hello,Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear about your negative experience regarding management and compensation. We are on a continuous mission to improve our managerial organization and we are always offering fair remuneration and good benefits to all our employees. If issues were (re)occuring with your supervisiors, a good course of action was to reach out to your local HR department. We value the feedback our Warehouse Workers provide, so thank you for voicing it.We wish you all the best in your future projects,Your Employer Branding Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7

Based on 20,490 reviews
5
6.9K
4
5.9K
3
4.2K
2
1.5K
1
2K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job security/advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee reviews