CSL Group Ltd. Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 52 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Winter Foreman/Construction Lead Hand (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 April 2019
CSL Group is a summer maintenance and construction with winter snow removals company. New devision in Ottawa and great work environment. Worked on interesting projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 April 2019
Was guaranteed a full time career but at last second became seasonal, The lack of communication and dedication of other parties made sure of it. Some managers, foremen, lead are a bit slow in action
Pros
Great team
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warning.
Porter (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON12 April 2019
very crooked management.

management team is self serving and very corrupt.

money is wasted and efficiency is next to none working with this company.
Pros
the water
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON17 September 2018
Loved working here one of the best places to work i would recomend for sure i learnd alot about working here i learbd how to use many different machines and i learnd about alot of other palnts
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good starter job
Snow Removal (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON10 August 2018
This job was a good starter job, earned a good amount of cash and the people I worked with were good people. The hours were long I worked mostly night shifts and but was a good starter job
Pros
Good workers
Cons
Long hours, hard labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Do not work here!!
Lead Hand/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON9 June 2018
Worked here for almost 5 years, at first it was a pretty decent place to work, I dont know what happened but it became incredibly awful. I did not get a raise for almost 4 years yet they would tell me they need more out of me, even though I was pushing almost 140hrs bi-weekly and it was always the same thing over amd over again, winter push, summer push, spring push all they ever wanted was more and more from you yet couldnt even give me a .50 cent raise just for a thank you. I would never recommend this company to my worst enemy please dont accept a job here.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 May 2018
Terrible place to work completely unprofessional . Management is ther root of the problem here they will use u and demand you to work long hours them let you go I once it slowes down . I never received a 3 month review, was never trained on the equipment that I was asked to use to learned on my own or little training would refuse to let u leave even after working 13 hours or more and would ask that u come in again as soon as possible, they go not pay overtime or any holiday pay and will starve you for hours once ur role is done they literally will give u new schedules almost every week and will always blame u if. My problems should occur I honestly did nothing here but ask for s set schedule witch I was told I would get i never did please don’t waist your time here because it means nothing to them head of office has literally said this they only care about profits and will get rid of u if u do not fit In or walk in the office and gossip . To conclude stay away they will not be here long
Pros
The workers are mostly ok
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 31NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace environment
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 April 2018
A typical day at CSL Group Ltd consists of prepping crew and equipment for the overall work day and then working together in a team environment to complete the tasks at hand.
Cons
Winter work is not overly fullfilling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great BBQ's and Family events
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Ancaster9 March 2018
Right from the day I started we had BBQ's every month. In September I brought my family to the family day celebration. Bouncy castles and fireworks. Got a bonus at Christmas wasn't even expecting and $100 gift card.
Pros
Family culture
Cons
longer hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 14Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you will be replaced
Truck Driver/ Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON20 February 2018
over worked under paid they dont like you they will starve you for hours and just play it off as you quit no big deal to them so unless you fit in dont get comfortable
Was this review helpful?Yes 39NoReport
Official response from CSL Group Ltd.
23 April 2018

We are sorry you had a bad experience. Best of luck in the future!

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Lead Hand/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON10 February 2018
Managers harass you, treat you like garbage, do not care for you, does not care about you or your health. Overall horrible place to work, the managers are incompetent and do not know how to do their jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 2Report
Official response from CSL Group Ltd.
23 April 2018

We are sorry to hear that you felt harassed. CSL Group takes these claims very seriously. We are committed to a caring and harassment-free environment.

All the best in your future endeavors.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Crew Forman (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON6 July 2017
Good company to work for, they will reward hard work.
They have great benefits and incentive programs.
Long hours and hard work is a must to succeed in life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 14Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job in canada
Landscape / Laborer (Former Employee) –  74 Bentley Ave, Nepean9 January 2017
Excellent place to work, people are great, management is good, opportunity to grow. One of my best work experiences.

It was my first job experience in Canada and i truly enjoyed my almost 2 years of working with CSL group i recommend anyone out there that is new-comer to this country and have no experience whatsoever to enroll with this company if the opportunity is available.
Pros
Awesome worksites
Cons
hard to find time for non work related activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Service Oriented
Group Safety Director (Former Employee) –  Montreal QC16 October 2014
Great Benefilts, Great Salary, exceptional Work Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 15Report

See more CSL Group Ltd. reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CSL Group Ltd.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 52 reviews
516
423
37
21
15

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture