Courtyard by Marriott Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 1,750 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
banquet porter (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 July 2019
understanding staff and mangement made it an interesting work exeprince
Pros
nice mangers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 February 2019
Great company.Friendly family atmosphere, very different to anywhere else I've worked. Lots of opportunities to learn new skills and make the role your own, the free lunch is a bonus. Given autonomy as a manager which is good
Trusted but given space to grow and develop
Great people who are always helpful and love to collaborate
Flexible working which helps if you don’t live close to the office
Good lunches
Salary is paid as per market rate which is very fair and also refreshing
Have some great products which have huge potential
The CEO is a great guy and cares about what we …
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, Horrible management
Night Auditor and Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 February 2019
It's fun to work at a hotel! Decent pay, you don't smell like grease or coffee at the end of your shift, and you get benefits if you're full time. It isn't an enjoyable workplace when the management is lenient to other employees and the rest are constantly in check. The job is fairly easy once you get the hang of it all. Personally, the most difficult part of the job is when guests complain about things that are not under your control. It's also difficult to do your job when half of the things you do require working equipment, but none of them is in good condition. Constantly adjusting your time card so they don't pay your overtime. The most enjoyable part of the job is when most of your work is done and the rest of your shift is just waiting for the next person to replace you.

Have the right people working with you so your shifts are fun. Find a job with great management where you don't feel like holding your breath everytime they pass by.
Pros
meeting different guests of all backgrounds, working with multi-cultural employees
Cons
lack of recognition, rules only apply to people they don't like, too strict
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unstuctured
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON31 January 2019
It was a job that paid bills. Helped me live in Niagara. We got a free turkey at Thanksgiving. Provided clean sheets, worked with a headset at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned many skills and eco-friendly environment.
SERVER (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC8 December 2018
i learned so many things that will help me in my upcoming future and hoping for better tomorrow. it was amazing as having my first job over there because i got a chance and interact to many people who belong to other culture.
Pros
good salary scales
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company benefit
Bistro Server (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON5 May 2018
good starting point to gain experience
i gained so much knowledge about kitchen
i was able to learned how supervise and managed people
must have flexible hours
Pros
hotel discount
Cons
no permanent schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers, management so so
GUEST SERVICE AGENT (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON5 December 2017
great place to work to gain more knowledge about the industry. Gained a lot of useful experience here. Management could be better and there is sometimes workplace drama. Overall good place to gain knowledge if you are passionate about hospitality. Hours are not evenly spread out.
Pros
free meals, coworks, hours, no benefits are part time
Cons
long hours, uniforms, workplace style policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Service Expert (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 July 2016
Its one the places to work. Important benefits. Nice clientele. Co-workers mostly Indian. Management miss communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor staff selections, lack of sources to do right job, Unprofessional and less (NO) experience Management
Food and Beverage Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2016
Long hours, with lots of expectations, expect everything needs to be done perfect without proper staff and equipment and sources.
Or its just me that i find it this way. But the worst place ever i have worked since last 10 years.
Pros
Advancement/ Grow within company
Cons
Long Hours / no breaks for supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent customer service experience
Houseman/night cleaner (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON15 January 2016
Not a bad place to work lots to do to make time pass during a shift union has decent benefits management and co workers are a great team pay cold be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi Cultural workplace
Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta24 December 2013
its fun and challenging to work here because you will meet different people from different countries and you will understand individual differences.
Pros
overtime pay
Cons
long hours of standing, time pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 August 2013
Very poor management team. Everybody on its own. Under staff and where not provided with the right tools to work with.
Pros
Free hotel nights
Cons
Poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Courtyard by Marriott reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Courtyard by Marriott. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,750 reviews
5696
4479
3329
2110
1136

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture