Courtyard by Marriott Employee Reviews

Found 43 reviews matching the search See all 1,537 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 April 2019
Management was horrible . Promised more hours never got them. Staffing was a huge issue . General manager never cared about staff. Very high turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, great staff
Bistro Server (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON9 March 2019
Do not i repeat do not work at this place, they give you little respect and treat you terribly. No sense of organization and over dramatic management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Bartender, Waiting Staff & Set-up Crew (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, BM25 February 2019
very productive days, lots of hours including overtime. always fun to go to work and great people made a great team. many guests tipped well too at the bar and at weddings in the banquet halls
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upside down world
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON22 February 2019
Job is neither fun nor rewarding. The pay is not great dont get lured by what they say in the interview. Management is the problem all the staff left and who ever takes the job is, short lived. Everyone calls sick you have the pleasure of covering all shifts. It's a 3 person job. In the end you would of made the same money working at the local Tim's and would of been able to balance family life. If you have no life or ambition this job is for you. They will hire anyone because no one wants this roll. 2 weeks and you will be back on indeed.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Too busy to even use the bathroom
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Laundry Attendant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 February 2019
Great company.Friendly family atmosphere, very different to anywhere else I've worked. Lots of opportunities to learn new skills and make the role your own, the free lunch is a bonus. Given autonomy as a manager which is good
Trusted but given space to grow and develop
Great people who are always helpful and love to collaborate
Flexible working which helps if you don’t live close to the office
Good lunches
Salary is paid as per market rate which is very fair and also refreshing
Have some great products which have huge potential
The CEO is a great guy and cares about what we …
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, Horrible management
Night Auditor and Front Desk Agent (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 February 2019
It's fun to work at a hotel! Decent pay, you don't smell like grease or coffee at the end of your shift, and you get benefits if you're full time. It isn't an enjoyable workplace when the management is lenient to other employees and the rest are constantly in check. The job is fairly easy once you get the hang of it all. Personally, the most difficult part of the job is when guests complain about things that are not under your control. It's also difficult to do your job when half of the things you do require working equipment, but none of them is in good condition. Constantly adjusting your time card so they don't pay your overtime. The most enjoyable part of the job is when most of your work is done and the rest of your shift is just waiting for the next person to replace you.

Have the right people working with you so your shifts are fun. Find a job with great management where you don't feel like holding your breath everytime they pass by.
Pros
meeting different guests of all backgrounds, working with multi-cultural employees
Cons
lack of recognition, rules only apply to people they don't like, too strict
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unstuctured
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON31 January 2019
It was a job that paid bills. Helped me live in Niagara. We got a free turkey at Thanksgiving. Provided clean sheets, worked with a headset at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworker Bullying
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON21 January 2019
Constant bullying and harassment from senior housekeepers. High school drama and rumour spreading on a daily basis..Management let it continue without taking appropriate action. Turnover rate was ridiculous...work environment was toxic. Union protects lazy ppl. I have never worked with that many whiners ever. The job itself was great but the workplace bs soured it for me. i only worked full time for 5 months the rest of the time we were laid off except for the lazy senior housekeepers that got all the hours but complained about working so much
Pros
Free lunch, work by yourself
Cons
Laid off more than you work, toxic work environment, drama, questionable management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned many skills and eco-friendly environment.
SERVER (Current Employee) –  Prince George, BC8 December 2018
i learned so many things that will help me in my upcoming future and hoping for better tomorrow. it was amazing as having my first job over there because i got a chance and interact to many people who belong to other culture.
Pros
good salary scales
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hostile work environment
Bistro Cook (Former Employee) –  St. Jacobs, ON27 November 2018
The job itself was alright, culture was terrible. There was a lot of drama between co-workers in every department, with people actively trying to get others fired/make them look bad. Many of the staff members were overworked and given no appreciation for working well into overtime hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile Enviroment
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 August 2018
No leadership in any department. There is no positive enforcement that I was witness to in my time at the hotel. Constant swearing by the Management in the upper roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
F&B Manager (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON19 May 2018
Have difficulty keeping staff, pay is very low. Not easy being in Managerial positions. Good property, lot os the opening team has left.. New team in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
V. Good Place to Work
Server (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 May 2018
-I had the pleasure to work with very friendly and professional Staff
-They took the time to train you well to Marriott Standards
-Organized, no issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company benefit
Bistro Server (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON5 May 2018
good starting point to gain experience
i gained so much knowledge about kitchen
i was able to learned how supervise and managed people
must have flexible hours
Pros
hotel discount
Cons
no permanent schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of people resources
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 March 2018
The culture of the organization was what caused me to eventually leave. There was no Human Resources on site, or with the management company above property.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
People resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Night Audit Manager (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON27 January 2018
Good Place to work. Good opportunity. Work Culture - friendly environment. Management is good. Every day new learning experience. Working night shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Housekeeping Supervisor/Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 January 2018
Fun to work, management always helpful, management always communicated with employees. Co-workers are always fun to work with able to learn a lot from each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
une journée, de travail typique
Busgirl / serveuse (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 January 2018
Je travail le matin au service petit déjeuner qui débute à 6h30 jusqu'a 11h30 . Je suis entourée d'une équipe dynamique.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great team spirit
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 December 2017
This is a small hotel where the management is really great. Everyone is involved in the strategy of this hotel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers, management so so
GUEST SERVICE AGENT (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON5 December 2017
great place to work to gain more knowledge about the industry. Gained a lot of useful experience here. Management could be better and there is sometimes workplace drama. Overall good place to gain knowledge if you are passionate about hospitality. Hours are not evenly spread out.
Pros
free meals, coworks, hours, no benefits are part time
Cons
long hours, uniforms, workplace style policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Courtyard by Marriott. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,537 reviews
5623
4420
3304
292
198

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture